We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at the Sofitel New York!”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #71 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I are from England and we both turned 40 in May so we chose to come to NY for 5 nights to celebrate. We chose the Sofitel following a recommendation from a friend and also the good reviews we read on TA. We weren't disappointed. With it being a special occasion we opted for a junior suite. When booking I explained it was for a special occasion and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we had an amazing stay.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Benjamin at reception and he was extremely courteous and noted that it was a special occasion. Our room was located on the 27th floor and we had great views. The room was extremely clean and we were really glad we had the extra room with the suite. After unpacking we headed out for a few hours and when we came back to our room later that evening, we had received a handwritten card from Benjamin congratulating us on our celebration and it was accompanied with a delicious chocolate desert. It was a nice personal touch.

We didn't eat at the Gaby restaurant so I can't comment on the food but we had a few early evening cocktails at the bar one evening which we enjoyed. The lobby of the hotel is spacious, with fresh flowers and it had a nice relaxed vibe. All the staff were extremely polite and helpful and I can’t find a single criticism following our stay at the Sofitel.

What we really liked too was the location of the hotel. In between 5th and 6th avenue on 44th street, so just a few blocks away from Times Square. We were close enough to be in the heart of the action but it almost felt we were nestled away from all the madness!

My wife and I had an amazing time in NY and the experience of staying in the Sofitel made it feel really special. I would have no hesitation coming back and would highly recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: I contacted the hotel directly before I booked and I got a great deal on upgrading to the junior sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottysalsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful and very delighted review regarding your trip in New York to celebrate both your 40th Birthday.
We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay and that you really enjoyed your experience with us.
We are glad to read these very positive words about Benjamin and we are very happy you enjoyed the cake specially prepared for the occasion.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,490 - 2,496 of 6,713 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very good all around, would definitely stay again. Only thing is the restaurant, Gaby, is overpriced, average, and slow...skip it. Otherwise, the room was very nice and actually soundproof...the quietest hotel room I have stayed in while in New York and I have stayed in quite a few. The bathroom was excellent and spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank screwmyscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay.
We regret your experience in our restaurant Gaby Brasserie Française did not reflect the quality of service we stand for. Please accept our apologies. However we are delighted you appreciated the calm of the room which enable a good rest after a long day in the City.
We are looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel NY in May 2013. Great property, great location away from the noise of Times Square (but close enough to walk-3 blocks), great room, great staff, great room rate (for NY). Need I say more?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear you had a great stay and appreciated the great proximity with Times Square.
We are looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We are from England and chose this hotel from previous great Trip Advisor reviews. It certainly lived up to and beyond our expectations. Extremely comfortable, clean accommodation. Wonderful comfy bed. Impeccable service from all the staff - friendly, courteous and helpful. Good food and a restaurant with very pleasant ambience. Small, but very adequate, well-kept gym facility. Excellent location. First class.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank Priscilla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guests,
It was a great pleasure to read about your comments and impressions regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. It is exactly this feeling we would hope all our guests to experience. We are delighted you had a very pleasant experience in our restaurant Gaby Brasserie Française.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon during your future visit.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend and enjoyed our stay here. The room was well-appointed, spacious, and nicely furnished. The Lanvin toiletries were very nice, and I loved that slippers were provided. They offered a complimentary mini fridge and coffee on request. Mid-town location was excellent and they also extended our checkout which was very helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank liveeatdrinktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay and appreciated all the amenities displayed in the room such as the Lanvin toiletries and the slippers.
As you mentioned we can place in the room a fridge and coffee/tea maker upon request. We are glad you enjoyed this service.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I just got back from a trip to NYC with the girls in my family. This was their first time to New York so we stayed at the Sofitel because it's walking distance to just about everything a 1st time tourist wants to see - Time's Square, Broadway shows, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building, etc. Personally I like to stay as far from Time Square as I can, but I have to say that the minute I walked into the hotel, it was quiet, serene and beautiful. We had 3 rooms, one with 2 double beds, a 1 bedroom suite, and one with a king size bed. The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated. I give the housekeeping staff 5 stars. Anything we needed they were there within minutes. This truly is a 5 star hotel. (Oh, and the lobby smells fantastic...the scent is Figuier by L'Artisan Parfumeur....my sister asked the Concierge!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsKPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
It was a great pleasure to read about your impressions and we are delighted that your family and yourself had a great stay and appreciated the calm of the hotel, despite the great proximity of Times Square.
We are glad our Housekeeping Ambassadors helped to make your stay enjoyable and were very helpful. It will be our great pleasure to share your comment with them.
We are looking forward to your return during your future visit in the S=City.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Sofitel NY is a no surprise, clean, perfect service and elegant (while , yes, in a perfectly standard way) luxury business hotel. It's perfect for business and fine for a no thrill, safe feeling hotel for tourists. The gym is well equiped and 24h. The concierge was efficient while charmless. Sofitel is basically what you should expect from a hotel in its category.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Nick of Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear guest,
We are delighted that you chose the Sofitel New York for your business trip in Manhattan and we thank you for sharing your experience.
We are happy to hear you had a great stay and appreciated our well-equipped SoFit Gym and the 24h access.
We are looking forward to your return during your future business trip.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,824 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 471 in New York City
3,732 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#113 of 471 in New York City
4,517 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 471 in New York City
3,890 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 471 in New York City
3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $228 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing