We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice views and wonderful service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, nice views and wonderful service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

For the money, The Sofitel is the place to stay. 1-2 blocks off Times Sq and surrounded by plenty of restaurants, theater district and walking distance to everything. We will stay at the Sofitel again for sure. A+ across the board for location, service, cleanliness and the room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jryanm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted you really appreciated our amazing location within walking distance to the main sightseeing.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,040
    1,672
    382
    125
    65
See reviews for
1,062
2,868
339
854
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We are frequent travelers, but have never stayed in another New York 5- star hotel. Compared to other international 5-star hotels the rooms are a little drab, but I recognize that Manhattan is a little space-challenged so the Sofitel does not deserve to have a bad review without having checked out its competition.

The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of Broadway, Time Square, and subway stops. The reception staff are as efficient and as pleasant as other Sofitels we have stayed at. The lobby has enough seating to make it comfortable and the sound proofing means that is a pleasant area to spend a few minutes.

Sofitel beds are always comfortable which is why we choose this chain. The NY rooms are quiet, without much invasive noise. They have very nice bathrooms with a separate shower and bath, which is greatly appreciated. However, the bedroom space is a little depressing - lots of browns and a very tired looking carpet. Combined with a view of water tanks outside our window, we did find it all a bit of a downer.

We may come back to the Sofitel in the future (no problem for a business trip), but for a leisure weekend I think we will try to find something a bit more cheerful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing this detailed review about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us and enjoy the comfort and calm of the rooms.
We are looking forward to another opportunity to show you the quality of service we are well-known for.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel...everything we had hoped for during our stay in Manhattan. It was an excellent location. The staff and service was impeccable. After a day of walking around the busy streets to see and do all we wanted, our hotel was an oasis of quiet luxury and calm.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecaldwell6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing this lovely comment regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted you really appreciated our very central location just steps away from the main sightseeing.
We are looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
329 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

the location of the sofitel is brilliant for business trips , just at the business center of NewYork..
But hotel is not american hotel is french hotel, if you are not able to talk in french dont go,
all the waiters, check in personells thinking that they are living in france,
if you are english speaker you will served as second quality visitor, either learn french or go another place around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siyami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.
We regret that you didn’t like our French atmosphere; it is part of our identity.
Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York, again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The only reason this rating is not a 5 is because I never give perfect marks, there's always some room for improvement. No mistake, this is a quality hotel with good French attention to detail. We stayed on the 3rd floor and expected a noisy room, not the case. No view of course, but we took this lower floor in order to get early access to the room. Beds are remarkably comfortable. The bathroom "pantry doors" are a bit awkward. The hotel is a few blocks off Times Square, close enough to be convenient but far enough to be away from the mahem. Easy walking distance to most of Midtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watermaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay and appreciated the calm of our rooms despite the great proximity of Times Square; and the comfort of our SoBed.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and had the most memorable experience. Everyone at the hotel treated us like guests in their home. The hotel lobby is warm and inviting with lots of room to sit and relax. They really take care in the little details like candles and stunning flower arrangements, It is truly elegant. Our room was lovely with a large bathroom with a bathtub and shower. The bed was very comfortable and every night when we returned the housekeeper had been there to turn down the bed and always had soft music playing for us on the Bose radio, what a lovely touch. Our view of the city was great on the 22nd floor. We were close to everything, Times square, Broadway shows etc. but far enough away that it was quiet with less crowds so I would say it is an outstanding location. As stunning as this hotel is, it really was the warm and inviting treatment we received from every employee we encountered. This would be the only hotel I would ever stay in if I returned to New York because of their exceeding my expectations and giving me a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bls112002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guests,
It was a great pleasure to read about your impressions. It is exactly that feeling we would like all our guests to experience. We are truly delighted you had a memorable experience celebrating your wedding anniversary.
We are looking forward to another opportunity to show you the quality of service we are offering.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I am fortunate enough to have a solid experience of 5***** hotels around the world and I must say this is the first time I was openly cheated. My family and i booked a $1000 a night junior suite which was not available at the time of check-in. Not an issue for these guys who gave us a normal room for the same price while marketing it to us as actually much better. Turned out that it was 10 stories lower so the guaranteed view had vanished. The 2 single beds for the kids were non-existent and they had to wheel in an extra bed which cramped the room and was not large enough for 2 so one of them had to sleep with us. They did throw in a late check-out and free breakfast for good measure but because it took us 90 minutes to get a table, order the food and get served, the late check out benefit was de facto offset. To her credit, when we asked to speak to the manager on duty at the time of check out, she immediately acknowledged the blunder and knocked 150 bucks off the bill. Still, the experience of our last holiday night in the USA was badly tarnished. The sad truth is that when you live on the other side of the world and you only book for one night, you are more likely to be on the receiving end of that sort of rip-off as you are highly unlikely to visit ever again and they'd rather cheat a one-off stay family than their regular corporate customers.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank WoburnExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience in our hotel, we really appreciate it.
To reach a great guest experience is a must for us and at every Sofitel around the world, and we work very hard for it, we believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced is the best tool we can have to improve and like this reach our promises.
We regret that we were not able to accommodate at the suite you booked, we failed on our promise and we apologize for all the inconvenience we have caused and I guarantee you that those will be addressed and effective actions will be taken to avoid them on the future, we really disappointed for the experience you had.
I will try to contact you via a private message in order to personally talk to you and regain your trust in our hotel and brand.
Once again tank you for the time spent in posting your comments and most of all for the chance you are giving us to be better in the future.
Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.
Sincerely.

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing