We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel New York
Nearby Hotels
$236
$205
Hilton.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
$299
$228
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$400
$341
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$180
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Grand Hyatt New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$237
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York at Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$264
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$231
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$299
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$173
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (6,836)
Filter reviews
6,836 results
Traveler rating
4,405
1,796
423
139
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,405
1,796
423
139
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red flame dinergaby restaurantnew yorktimes squarechrysler buildingseparate showerroom serviceturn down servicebryant parkfifth avenuelate checkgrand central stationhigh floorbottle of champagnequiet streetrockefeller centerfantastic hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,672 - 2,677 of 6,836 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Sofitel for my mom's birthday. The hotel staff was great - sent a lovely dessert tray and hand-written birthday card to the room for mom! Beautiful room on the 22nd floor w/ a wonderful view. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the bathroom has everything you need (ladies, you don't need to bring a blow dryer!)! The Gaby Restaurant has wonderful food . Highly recommend this hotel; staff and location are the best! Thank you Sofitel staff for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: 22nd Floor #2218 two "single" beds, but the beds are more like full size beds. Very quiet and good view - turn-down service every nite, robes & slippers provided.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cebbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear guests,

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your last stay with us for your mother’s birthday. We would like to thank you for these very kind words of praise which will delight all our teams.
We are looking forward to your return for another memorable experience.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am a Platinum Accor Favourite Guest and rarely disappointed with Sofitel.
This one prove it!
Perfect position in NYC, walking distance to theatre, shops, plenty of good restaurant around, staff are just amazing, very welcoming, from reception, to concierge or housekeeper.
Room are spacious with everything you need, bed of course are fabulous and if you book at the right time, good value for what you get.
Only little disappointment the breakfast was ok but not the best for a Sofitel.Wouldn't rush back.
Definitely stay here again and recommended.

Room Tip: Room on higher level for a view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you recent experience at the Sofitel New York.
We are glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay and appreciated our very central location in the heart of Manhattan, within walking distance to the main sightseeing.
We regret that your experience in our restaurant for breakfast did not reflect the quality of service we strive for.
We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice people at desk,room clean, beautiful suite,great bathroom,near everything,can walk to many places ,location the best,quiet street.What else could you ask for in NY.We walked to the theaters,times square and the many restaurants in the area .This was our second trip to this hotel and would stay again.This is a great hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for sharing this lovely second experience at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay and really appreciated the comfort of our rooms.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having read all the other recent reviews of this hotel, we were hoping that all would be well. We were certainly not disappointed. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful; we had a really nice quiet suite with a very comfortable bed. The food in the restaurant was great throughout our stay and the location of the hotel could not have been better. Next time we're in New York we'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank vonSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share those very positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and that our Ambassadors made your stay more enjoyable.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with excellent service. My sister and I went for our birthdays to go to the theater, museums and to shop. We asked for rooms beside each other, that was no problem and also asked for rooms that were updated and that was no problem. (When a hotel has been around awhile, we always ask for updated rooms.) When we were checking in, the desk clerk asked the purpose of our visit, we told her and that evening when we returned, each of us had a small chocolate desert in our rooms. The location allowed us to walk to dinner and the theater which is really handy when hundreds of people are trying to flag cabs after the theater. Yes, you do have to take a bus or cab to the museums, but we preferred to be able to walk to and from dinner and the theater in the evening. The rooms themselves were very well appointed. The bed was truly comfortable with wonderful linens, down pillows and comforter.
The bathroom had a separate tub and shower, good lighting and quality soaps and lotions. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. The one thing no one knew until we told them: yes you can pay cash on the bus, but the drivers only take coins, not bills. So after being thrown off the bus and walking 20 blocks before finding a cab, we carried a lot of quarters with us! (You can buy tokens in the subway.)

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and one with a view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristinaT544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear guests,
We are delighted your sister and you came to the Sofitel New York to celebrate your birthday, and we are glad you really appreciated the cakes placed in your room.
We are looking forward to your return during your future visit in the City.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews