We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Sofitel NYC is the best!”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Hotel Sofitel NYC is the best!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Sofitel for my mom's birthday. The hotel staff was great - sent a lovely dessert tray and hand-written birthday card to the room for mom! Beautiful room on the 22nd floor w/ a wonderful view. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the bathroom has everything you need (ladies, you don't need to bring a blow dryer!)! The Gaby Restaurant has wonderful food . Highly recommend this hotel; staff and location are the best! Thank you Sofitel staff for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: 22nd Floor #2218 two "single" beds, but the beds are more like full size beds. Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cebbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guests,

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your last stay with us for your mother’s birthday. We would like to thank you for these very kind words of praise which will delight all our teams.
We are looking forward to your return for another memorable experience.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,168
    1,717
    393
    132
    67
See reviews for
1,100
2,947
352
892
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am a Platinum Accor Favourite Guest and rarely disappointed with Sofitel.
This one prove it!
Perfect position in NYC, walking distance to theatre, shops, plenty of good restaurant around, staff are just amazing, very welcoming, from reception, to concierge or housekeeper.
Room are spacious with everything you need, bed of course are fabulous and if you book at the right time, good value for what you get.
Only little disappointment the breakfast was ok but not the best for a Sofitel.Wouldn't rush back.
Definitely stay here again and recommended.

Room Tip: Room on higher level for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you recent experience at the Sofitel New York.
We are glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay and appreciated our very central location in the heart of Manhattan, within walking distance to the main sightseeing.
We regret that your experience in our restaurant for breakfast did not reflect the quality of service we strive for.
We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice people at desk,room clean, beautiful suite,great bathroom,near everything,can walk to many places ,location the best,quiet street.What else could you ask for in NY.We walked to the theaters,times square and the many restaurants in the area .This was our second trip to this hotel and would stay again.This is a great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for sharing this lovely second experience at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay and really appreciated the comfort of our rooms.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having read all the other recent reviews of this hotel, we were hoping that all would be well. We were certainly not disappointed. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful; we had a really nice quiet suite with a very comfortable bed. The food in the restaurant was great throughout our stay and the location of the hotel could not have been better. Next time we're in New York we'll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank vonSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share those very positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and that our Ambassadors made your stay more enjoyable.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with excellent service. My sister and I went for our birthdays to go to the theater, museums and to shop. We asked for rooms beside each other, that was no problem and also asked for rooms that were updated and that was no problem. (When a hotel has been around awhile, we always ask for updated rooms.) When we were checking in, the desk clerk asked the purpose of our visit, we told her and that evening when we returned, each of us had a small chocolate desert in our rooms. The location allowed us to walk to dinner and the theater which is really handy when hundreds of people are trying to flag cabs after the theater. Yes, you do have to take a bus or cab to the museums, but we preferred to be able to walk to and from dinner and the theater in the evening. The rooms themselves were very well appointed. The bed was truly comfortable with wonderful linens, down pillows and comforter.
The bathroom had a separate tub and shower, good lighting and quality soaps and lotions. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. The one thing no one knew until we told them: yes you can pay cash on the bus, but the drivers only take coins, not bills. So after being thrown off the bus and walking 20 blocks before finding a cab, we carried a lot of quarters with us! (You can buy tokens in the subway.)

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaT544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guests,
We are delighted your sister and you came to the Sofitel New York to celebrate your birthday, and we are glad you really appreciated the cakes placed in your room.
We are looking forward to your return during your future visit in the City.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We love the sofitel!!!! Have stayed at other hotels in New York but the last 3 or 4 times we keep going back to sofitel!!! Love the beds . Service is great! A close walk to many museums and restaurants and the theaters .and a short walk to the subway.the staff is always helpful with any arrangements to be made!this is our home base in NYC !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ruthmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for these wonderful compliments, we are indeed very proud of our Ambassadors and we are grateful that their hard work shines through.
We are delighted you appreciated the comfort of our Sobed.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon during your next visit in New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stay quite frequently because it is always a pleasant stay. The staff and friendly and helpful. The beds are particularly comfortable -- great night's sleep! I also like the restaurant, which has a low-key and intimate feel, and is comfortable for a person alone to sit and enjoy a meal, as I usually travel by myself. It is very convenient to the theater district, and there are many restaurants nearby. I highly recommend the Sofitel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Margaretta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a so enthusiastic review about your recent at the Sofitel New York. We are very glad to count you as one of our regular guests. We are truly delighted to hear you really appreciated you experience in our restaurant Gaby.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon during your future visit in Manhattan.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,637 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,980 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#139 of 467 in New York City
5,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing