We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good and spotless clean hotel with an excellent, friendly staff”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good and spotless clean hotel with an excellent, friendly staff”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel New York ( for the 1. time ) 8 nights long and enjoyed it a lot !
( Except of one single unfriendly person from the roomservice, ( we ordered a late dinner at our first evening ) .. ) we've been treated by a very friendly and helpfully staff !!
- Special thanks to " Vivian " from the front desk !!! -
As written in other posts: the location of this spotless clean and quiet hotel is perfect.
Rooms are big, very clean,well equipped with fantastic beds and bathrooms.
The room-maids are very friendly ( ! ) and helpfully ! ( Thanks !!! )
They put classical music for welcoming you to the room ... ( for me a very pleasant detail ) .
The only disappointing thing: they do not have any coffe/tea-device in the rooms..
- But even without an espresso-machine in the room ... I would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for this lovely review shared on Trip advisor.
We are delighted to hear you chose the Sofitel New York and had a wonderful stay with us.
We are really happy that our Ambassadors have been extremely helpful and especially Vivian. It will be our great pleasure to share these comments with the team.
As mentioned we do not have tea/coffee machine in the room, however, it is our pleasure to place one upon request. Please let us know during your next visit and we will put one in your room.
We are looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,169
    1,717
    393
    132
    67
See reviews for
1,101
2,947
352
892
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stay here every year when we go to New York for Xmas shopping. The Sofitel is in a good location, easy access to shops, port authority isn't far & lots of restaurant & bars. Staff are always helpful & friendly, prices are reasonable & the rooms are great.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoeFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for reviewing your experience with us. It is a great pleasure to learn you are coming to the Sofitel New York every year for your Christmas shopping. We are delighted to hear you really appreciated our very central location and enjoyed our Ambassadors’ efficiency.
We are looking forward to your return during your future stay in the city.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have nothing but great things to say about my stay in the Sofitel New York:

Location could not have been better (and, in NYC, almost everything is location). Walking distance from times square, Broadway and nice restaurants. Subway lines nearby and, of course, cab service from the hotel.

Upon check-in, I was greeted by a very friendly staff and the check in was fast and I was explained the resources that I had available.

Had dinner at "Gaby" (the restaurant). They had low calorie options (that I obviously took advantage of) including black tiger shrimps that were delicious. The staff was really friendly and offered constant help to make my time enjoyable.

The room was GREAT. Welcomed with classical music (very nice detail) and everything really clean. The bed was extremely comfortable (which is not common in most hotels).

The only downside for me was the WIFI. I was on a business trip so I needed to read news and send emails and found myself unable to do so because the WIFI did not work for me.

Overall: Awesome experience! I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would stay again for business or "couples" visits to New York.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YPMorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for sharing this very detailed and wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. It is exactly the feeling we wish for our guests to experience. We are truly delighted to hear that you appreciated our turn down service enhanced with classical music and bottles of water.
We regret that our Wifi was not working during your stay and apologize for the inconvenience.
Thank you for recommending the hotel to you relatives; we are looking forward to welcoming you for another “awesome” experience.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We've stayed at the Sofitel New York a few times. The location is perfect for seeing a Broadway show and the hotel is within walking distance of the Amtrak train station. The service is excellent and the rooms are comfortable and well-equipped. We stayed in a suite because we had our son with us to look at colleges in NYC. He slept on the fold out sofa in the living room which had a door separating the two rooms. I love the French flair of the Sofitel. The restaurant, "Gaby" is very good with excellent service. We ate a tasty dinner and a lovely breakfast there. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank pzammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your nice comments and compliments. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed our service and had an amazing experience at Gaby.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

As mentioned in other posts, Sofitel Hotels provide the most comfortable beds you have ever laid down in, this one does not disappoint. Service was also spot on at check in, concierge and bars.

Very central in Manhattan with a five minute walk to the theatres and a ten minute walk to Time Square.

Valet parking is expensive and unlike any other hotel I stayed in during my trip to USA you had to pay for each retrieval. Suggest you park the car for your entire stay or it will make for an expensive visit.

Would definitely stay here again due to the great service and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiPatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed the comfort of our Sobed a unique combination of box-spring, mattress, featherbed, duvet and 4 pillows!
While we do offer valet parking service, in and out privileges do come at an extra cost as it is the case in most properties in Manhattan.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon in the heart of Midtown, for another great experience.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We visit New York City at least once a year, and this was the nicest place we've stayed. The room was lovely, and spacious by New York standards. The location is perfect if you're seeing any Broadway shows. Yet, the room was surprisingly quiet (and the black-out curtains worked perfeectly).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regnadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are thrilled to hear this was the nicest place you have stayed in New York. We are delighted you enjoyed the comfort of the room and our very central location in the heart of Manhattan.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon during your future visit in New York,
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I elected to try your NY hotel after staying in your London locations. I typically am a loyal Fairmont customer, and the stay was really a test to determine if this would ba na alternative sometimes. I stayed four nights in total, and despite your stay three nights and receive the fourth for free promotion, was charged for four nights. Upon checkout I also noted several charges which were incorrect and it was an effort to get them removed by counter staff. I typically stays in New York for business approximately 20-30 nights a year, and unfortunately the experience was not anywhere close to the service i receive at the fairmont.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank diamcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel New York.
We would be very grateful if you could contact us directly so that we may understand and sort out this billing issue as gratuities do not apply to room rates. We are looking forward to hear from you very soon and to assist you.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,628 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#45 of 467 in New York City
3,519 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,983 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#138 of 467 in New York City
5,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing