We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel New York
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$239
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$126
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$135
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$320
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$115
$110
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$125
$120
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$249
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$192
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (6,838)
Filter reviews
6,838 results
Traveler rating
4,405
1,798
423
139
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,405
1,798
423
139
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red flame dinergaby restaurantnew yorktimes squarechrysler buildingseparate showerroom serviceturn down servicebryant parkfifth avenuelate checkgrand central stationhigh floorbottle of champagnequiet streetrockefeller centerfantastic hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,705 - 2,710 of 6,838 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I took a suite with two rooms to host me, my wife and my two daughters. Price was around 550$ excl. taxes, not bad for NY. I love this hotel. Rooms are modern, stylish, super comfortable, clean, with the most comfortable beds I ever experienced, very nice and large bathrooms, many amenities. We got free chocolates, a small cake, water and a welcome letter from the director. Location is great at 44th street and close to 5th Avenue. Service is very kind and friendly. The only issue was that we first got a suite with a sofa that couldn't accommodate my daughters, despite we were four when we checked in. Anyhow they kindly found another suite that met our needs, but it was a bit inconvenient to repack our staff and move. Despite this I still rate this hotel among the best in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giovanni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent family stay at the Sofitel New York.
We regret you have not been giving a room which could fit four people during your check-in and we apologize for the inconvenience.
However we are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay, and really appreciate the comfort of our SoBed.
We thank you really much for recommending our hotel; we are looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I walked by the Sofitel two years ago, and took a picture because of the unique architecture. After hunting down the name of the hotel, we booked a room... and were very pleased with the beauty of the hotel, not to mention the staff. LOVED the French guests and bilingual staff. They were warm and welcoming, and courteous... whether we were dressed up, or in our tennis shoes. :-) They responded quickly and cheerfully to requests for a fan, refrigerator in the room, and to check our heat. The manager Mr. Tito, and reservations agent, Gina, went out of their way to be accommodating and friendly... going way above and beyond, so that we felt like we were staying at a bed and breakfast in someone's home, rather than a large Midtown hotel. The fresh flowers, candles, music, lobby atmosphere, and cleanliness also impressed us. Fresh water in room at night, French toiletries in bathrooms, and wonderful bedding were pluses. Very friendly and unobtrusive housekeeping also. The location is unbeatable. Every time we looked up a destination on a map, we were shocked that it was within a 10 minute walk. We were concerned about it being so close to Times Square, but, remarkably, it is on a quiet side street. Very nice workout room with high end extras. Fabulous restaurants nearby, in any price range. Only two complaints: a king bed would have fit nicely in the large room, and there was a bizarre flapping noise on the outside of the building that started our third night because of a storm, and kept us up. ( I hope they will find the mysterious source before the next guests arrive.) We would love to come back with our children. (Did not see many in the hotel... so we'll liven things up a bit next trip!)

Room Tip: Don't book room 1206 until they figure out what's flapping on the building.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your amazing stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear such positive words about your recent experience. We are glad you came back two years after your first visit. We really appreciate your comments about our Ambassadors and especially Gina who helped you with your booking.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you and your children.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We chose to stay at the Softel in New York for our 5 day holiday It was a fantastic hotel, the staff were very helpful and we had a very quick check in and check out. We were shown were the bar, and restaurant. We had a room on the 18th floor, we were upgrade to a Junior Suite, as at the time we stayed they were offering a upgrade if you stayed for more than 3 nights. The suite was fantastic, the bathroom was fully equipped with shampoo/conditioner, shower gel, and was topped up everyday too. The decor of the rooms were top class. Our bed was turned down every night and fresh bottled water left for us.
The food at the restaurant was really good and service was perfect, they were very attentive, as were the var staff, and i think the nibbles you are given with your drinks is a really nice touch too.
The manager Jorge was great and really good to chat too, as was Nicholas in the restaurant, is was never a problem for them to stop and have a chat.
Mark on check was top class and again nothing was ever a problem.
I would recommend this hotel as being a great place to stay and we had a lovely relaxing holiday, we will being going back in time and taking the children with us too. Thanks Jorge to you and all your staff for making our holiday so perfect.

Room Tip: We had a high floor room and we never heard a sound from hotel or street.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meggy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing this very detailed review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We were thrilled you had such a lovely stay and had such a terrific experience meeting our Ambassadors.
It will be our great pleasure to share your comments with them.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your children during your future visit.
Sincerely,

Jorge Tito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stay at the Sofitel NY when we come into the City to have dinner and see a Broadway show. The location is a stone's throw from Broadway and Times Square. Service is excellent. The rooms are clean and modern. The bed is very comfortable. We have been doing this for several years now and the price seems to be creeping up quite a bit. Of course, most good hotels in NYC are expensive. If you want to have an excellent stay with a French flare, the Sofitel fits the bill.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank dry220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor.
It is with great pleasure that we read your impressions. It is exactly this feeling we hope all our guests experience.
We are delighted you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our very central location, within walking distance to the Broadway shows.
We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel as we wanted a Midtown hotel. Having not stayed in Midtown before I was worried that the hotel would be bland and big and the location too loud. The location is good though, being a few blocks away from the chaotic tourist scene at Times Square. The hotel was very big but had a nice atmosphere. No, it's not one of the modern boutique hotels but it's reliable, reasonable service and the rooms are a decent size.
My friends who were sharing a room were given a queen bed despite booking a twin room so this was disappointing but otherwise the stay was good. Being a French chain, I would have hoped for tea and coffee facilities in my room instead of having to pay a huge amount for tea from room service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We_love_holidays_107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sofitel New York
We regret that we did not provide you the type of room you booked. All of our guests’ requests are important to us, we apologize for the inconvenience.
As you mentioned we do not have tea/coffee maker in our rooms. However it is our pleasure to place one for you upon request. Moreover, we are offering complimentary tea and coffee every morning from 6:00 to 10:30.

We are delighted to hear you really appreciated our very central location in the heart of Manhattan close to the main sightseeing.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews