We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More beautiful than the photos...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #53 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
bham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“More beautiful than the photos...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I walked by the Sofitel two years ago, and took a picture because of the unique architecture. After hunting down the name of the hotel, we booked a room... and were very pleased with the beauty of the hotel, not to mention the staff. LOVED the French guests and bilingual staff. They were warm and welcoming, and courteous... whether we were dressed up, or in our tennis shoes. :-) They responded quickly and cheerfully to requests for a fan, refrigerator in the room, and to check our heat. The manager Mr. Tito, and reservations agent, Gina, went out of their way to be accommodating and friendly... going way above and beyond, so that we felt like we were staying at a bed and breakfast in someone's home, rather than a large Midtown hotel. The fresh flowers, candles, music, lobby atmosphere, and cleanliness also impressed us. Fresh water in room at night, French toiletries in bathrooms, and wonderful bedding were pluses. Very friendly and unobtrusive housekeeping also. The location is unbeatable. Every time we looked up a destination on a map, we were shocked that it was within a 10 minute walk. We were concerned about it being so close to Times Square, but, remarkably, it is on a quiet side street. Very nice workout room with high end extras. Fabulous restaurants nearby, in any price range. Only two complaints: a king bed would have fit nicely in the large room, and there was a bizarre flapping noise on the outside of the building that started our third night because of a storm, and kept us up. ( I hope they will find the mysterious source before the next guests arrive.) We would love to come back with our children. (Did not see many in the hotel... so we'll liven things up a bit next trip!)

Room Tip: Don't book room 1206 until they figure out what's flapping on the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your amazing stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear such positive words about your recent experience. We are glad you came back two years after your first visit. We really appreciate your comments about our Ambassadors and especially Gina who helped you with your booking.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you and your children.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,673
    1,500
    348
    109
    55
See reviews for
921
2,586
313
753
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We chose to stay at the Softel in New York for our 5 day holiday It was a fantastic hotel, the staff were very helpful and we had a very quick check in and check out. We were shown were the bar, and restaurant. We had a room on the 18th floor, we were upgrade to a Junior Suite, as at the time we stayed they were offering a upgrade if you stayed for more than 3 nights. The suite was fantastic, the bathroom was fully equipped with shampoo/conditioner, shower gel, and was topped up everyday too. The decor of the rooms were top class. Our bed was turned down every night and fresh bottled water left for us.
The food at the restaurant was really good and service was perfect, they were very attentive, as were the var staff, and i think the nibbles you are given with your drinks is a really nice touch too.
The manager Jorge was great and really good to chat too, as was Nicholas in the restaurant, is was never a problem for them to stop and have a chat.
Mark on check was top class and again nothing was ever a problem.
I would recommend this hotel as being a great place to stay and we had a lovely relaxing holiday, we will being going back in time and taking the children with us too. Thanks Jorge to you and all your staff for making our holiday so perfect.

Room Tip: We had a high floor room and we never heard a sound from hotel or street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meggy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing this very detailed review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We were thrilled you had such a lovely stay and had such a terrific experience meeting our Ambassadors.
It will be our great pleasure to share your comments with them.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your children during your future visit.
Sincerely,

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stay at the Sofitel NY when we come into the City to have dinner and see a Broadway show. The location is a stone's throw from Broadway and Times Square. Service is excellent. The rooms are clean and modern. The bed is very comfortable. We have been doing this for several years now and the price seems to be creeping up quite a bit. Of course, most good hotels in NYC are expensive. If you want to have an excellent stay with a French flare, the Sofitel fits the bill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank dry220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor.
It is with great pleasure that we read your impressions. It is exactly this feeling we hope all our guests experience.
We are delighted you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our very central location, within walking distance to the Broadway shows.
We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel as we wanted a Midtown hotel. Having not stayed in Midtown before I was worried that the hotel would be bland and big and the location too loud. The location is good though, being a few blocks away from the chaotic tourist scene at Times Square. The hotel was very big but had a nice atmosphere. No, it's not one of the modern boutique hotels but it's reliable, reasonable service and the rooms are a decent size.
My friends who were sharing a room were given a queen bed despite booking a twin room so this was disappointing but otherwise the stay was good. Being a French chain, I would have hoped for tea and coffee facilities in my room instead of having to pay a huge amount for tea from room service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank We_love_holidays_107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sofitel New York
We regret that we did not provide you the type of room you booked. All of our guests’ requests are important to us, we apologize for the inconvenience.
As you mentioned we do not have tea/coffee maker in our rooms. However it is our pleasure to place one for you upon request. Moreover, we are offering complimentary tea and coffee every morning from 6:00 to 10:30.

We are delighted to hear you really appreciated our very central location in the heart of Manhattan close to the main sightseeing.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent location, so nice to be a few blocks away from the madness of Times Square. The staff were truly outstanding - especially at the front desk, concierge and porters. I got a terrific pre-paid rate online that made it easy to accept a somewhat dated room with a nice large bathroom. Room service too overpriced and not good. The hotel is very clean with a nice clientele. The location, service, cleanliness outweigh the dated rooms. There are so many bad and over priced hotels in Manhattan, this is truly a find if you can pay around $300 a night.

Room Tip: Not worth asking for a high floor as I just looked at another tall building. No view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBC1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York.
We regret that the food you order from room service was not tasty; we forwarded your comment to the restaurant manager to correct the problem.
However we are very glad to hear you had a wonderful stay and think our ambassadors are delivering an “outstanding” service.
We are looking forward to your return to show you the quality of service for which we are known around the world.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Service, cleanliness, comfort -- it all met my expectations. I don't expect perfection out of a hotel, but I do have high standards. This was my second stay at this Sofitel. I was very happy with everything. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenMonarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted you had a lovely stay and that your experience met your expectations.
We are glad you came back and we are looking forward to another opportunity to meet you.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel, well located, not too big to be impersonal, is very pleasant. Everybody, from the bellboy to the general manager, went out of their way to make our stay a real pleasure. The helpfulness of the concierges was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Paulinka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing this lovely review. We are delighted to hear you felt very welcomed and that our Ambassadors made your stay a “real pleasure”.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,004 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,086 reviews
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#47 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#135 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,903 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#52 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,418 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing