We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice big chain hotel in Midtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #55 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice big chain hotel in Midtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel as we wanted a Midtown hotel. Having not stayed in Midtown before I was worried that the hotel would be bland and big and the location too loud. The location is good though, being a few blocks away from the chaotic tourist scene at Times Square. The hotel was very big but had a nice atmosphere. No, it's not one of the modern boutique hotels but it's reliable, reasonable service and the rooms are a decent size.
My friends who were sharing a room were given a queen bed despite booking a twin room so this was disappointing but otherwise the stay was good. Being a French chain, I would have hoped for tea and coffee facilities in my room instead of having to pay a huge amount for tea from room service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank We_love_holidays_107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sofitel New York
We regret that we did not provide you the type of room you booked. All of our guests’ requests are important to us, we apologize for the inconvenience.
As you mentioned we do not have tea/coffee maker in our rooms. However it is our pleasure to place one for you upon request. Moreover, we are offering complimentary tea and coffee every morning from 6:00 to 10:30.

We are delighted to hear you really appreciated our very central location in the heart of Manhattan close to the main sightseeing.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,772
    1,555
    355
    111
    56
See reviews for
955
2,674
319
777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent location, so nice to be a few blocks away from the madness of Times Square. The staff were truly outstanding - especially at the front desk, concierge and porters. I got a terrific pre-paid rate online that made it easy to accept a somewhat dated room with a nice large bathroom. Room service too overpriced and not good. The hotel is very clean with a nice clientele. The location, service, cleanliness outweigh the dated rooms. There are so many bad and over priced hotels in Manhattan, this is truly a find if you can pay around $300 a night.

Room Tip: Not worth asking for a high floor as I just looked at another tall building. No view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBC1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York.
We regret that the food you order from room service was not tasty; we forwarded your comment to the restaurant manager to correct the problem.
However we are very glad to hear you had a wonderful stay and think our ambassadors are delivering an “outstanding” service.
We are looking forward to your return to show you the quality of service for which we are known around the world.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Service, cleanliness, comfort -- it all met my expectations. I don't expect perfection out of a hotel, but I do have high standards. This was my second stay at this Sofitel. I was very happy with everything. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenMonarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted you had a lovely stay and that your experience met your expectations.
We are glad you came back and we are looking forward to another opportunity to meet you.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel, well located, not too big to be impersonal, is very pleasant. Everybody, from the bellboy to the general manager, went out of their way to make our stay a real pleasure. The helpfulness of the concierges was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Paulinka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing this lovely review. We are delighted to hear you felt very welcomed and that our Ambassadors made your stay a “real pleasure”.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albi, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Everything next door,in the Middle off midtown.j
Easy walking to Times Square or Central Station.
TWO blocks from 42street an the mains lines of the subway.
Our room was spacious,with also à big bathroom.

The concierges Wladimir et René were very helpful for restaurants réservations évén within 45mn délai.
Breakfeast is great but pricey....But manger options within 50 yards.
Frenchs same day newspapers are available in the lobby, plus free coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask above 15th floor,view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herethic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing this amazing review regarding your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted you really appreciated our very convenient location in the heart of Midtown.
We are very glad that our concierges Vladimir and Rene have been able to make your stay memorable. It will be our great pleasure to share it with them.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have to be in New York 3 or 4 times a year staying around 4 nights, the Sofitel is perfectly located for our Madison Avenue offices. It's comfortable the staff are friendly and helpful. By New York standards the rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean. The beds are super comfortable which I appreciate after flying in from London with a dose of jet lag. I recommended it to collegues and now everyone stays there. Perfect hotel for short business trips in Midtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DavidHammondLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions and recommending our hotel to all your colleagues who are coming to New York for business.
We are delighted you enjoyed the room and especially the comfort of our SoBed.
We are looking forward to your return during your next business trip.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I'm normally quite critical in my reviews but this place really is a great find.

Arrival and check in was friendly, smooth and efficient with minimal fuss or completion of forms. We felt welcome.
.
Eating. The place is surrounded by casual and formal dining options including CECI an Italian joint with fresh wholesome food,, Little Italy Pizza- a typical NYC pizza joint and a diner just a minute’s walk to the right of the hotel offered a refreshing change to the usual hotel grub. Not sure why anyone would want to breakfast in the hotel when you eat with the locals and get better value.

Hotel Location- In the heart of Midtown you can’t go wrong. I even managed to walk to central park in less than 20 minutes and then jogged round an easy 6.4k trail. The next day I walked to the financial centre to check out the bargains at Century 21 Mall via fifth avenue moving through Soho, Greenwich Village etc. in just over an hour. If you took your time to enjoy the sights then this could take a pleasant 2 hours. (I learned the next day that a new Century 21 much closer to the hotel had just opened up).

Room and Bedding- the bed was comfy though a little on the softer side for my taste. The duvet/quilt/comforter was high quality and the choice of pillows extensive from feather to firm synthetic ones for those with allergies etc.

The bathroom was of a high standard. Great fluffy white towels. Separate shower and quality fittings. If I was trying to be critical I would say that the option of a hand shower in the cubicle in addition to the rain shower would be good but I didn't miss it.

Décor, noise and ambience: Rooms were clean and had most amenities you would want including a large HDTV with on demand entertainment. This was one of the few hotels where there was zero smoke either in the halls or lobby- thanks to strict no smoking laws. I was on the 9th floor facing the street and there was no noise thanks to the sound proofed windows. My view (I could see the Little Italy pizza place) was OK- I suspect those higher up would have amazing views of the city. The outside temperature was hovering around 40f (7c) but the hotel was comfortably warm and I didn't need to turn on the heating in the room.

Wi-Fi- - I'm not sure if all hotels in NYC offer this but slow speed WiFi was free. Why can’t all hotels offer this? I didn't use the minibar but it was one of those clever ones where you couldn't remove and replace. (Or use as a fridge)!

On check out I couldn't find my loyalty number and was given the personal business card of the guest relations manager so I could follow up and get my points.

Room Tip: Check out the Red Flame diner to the right of the hotel as you walk out. Its great food and diner pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuddlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear guest,
It was a great pleasure to read about your impressions. It is that feeling we would hope all our guests experience. We are truly delighted you had a lovely stay and appreciated the comfort of the hotel and all the amenities we are offering. We are glad to hear these nice words about ourguest relations manager.
We are looking forward to your return during your future visit.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#36 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,124 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,183 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#53 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#48 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,914 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#58 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,135 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#21 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#45 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing