We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be in NY”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“The place to be in NY”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very nice hotel. Employees are really close to customers. Our room (suite 2515) was superb with incredible view on Chrysler and Empire State buildings!
Very good breakfast even if sometimes service was a little bit unorganised!
Perfect location between 5th and 6th Av allow visitors quick access to the main sightseeings !
I strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your very nice experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the comfort of the room and the amazing view on the Chrysler and Empire State Building. We are glad you appreciated the convenient location of the hotel in the very heart of Midtown.
Thank you for recommending the Sofitel New York, we really hope to welcome you again soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel NewYork
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,168
    1,717
    393
    132
    67
See reviews for
1,100
2,947
352
892
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is the second time that my family and I have stayed at the Sofitel. We upgraded to a suite this time but weren't able to check into the one we booked until 7 PM because the people in it had late check-out. The hotel gave us another suite that was immediately available, but with a less nice view than the one we booked. We still loved the suite and the modern decor and perfect location will keep us coming back! The beds are truly amazing and some of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in! The only slight criticism that I have is some (not all) of the front desk staff are not overly helpful or friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 808TaylorS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We apologize the room you booked was not available at the checking time, but we are delighted you still enjoyed the comfort of your room and especially our Sobed.
We are sorry all our ambassadors haven’t showed you the quality of service we strive for.
We are looking forward to your return during your next visit.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I would just like to say that my friend and I are yet to arrive and the service we have received so far has been fantastic. Julia is a credit to the General Manager!! If this is any indication to the service we will receive once we actually arrive next Sunday (10th March) then we can not wait. Thank you Julia for always being attentive and punctual with your email communication.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmajane1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your very first impressions regarding your contact with Julia, our Executive Assistant. We will be delighted to share your comments with her.
We are really looking forward to read about your experience with us after your stay!
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have recently switched over to staying at Sofitel when my business budget can accomodate. This hotel has by far the most personal service. The upscale rooms are beautifully appointed and down duvets and feather pillows make for a deliciously comfortable bed. The rooms are super clean. The staff went to great lengths to find a hot water bottle and bring up a kettle when my daughter was sick. They also suggested great restaurants in New York. The food is a little expensive - Gabys restaurant is terrifc - but high quality. Would not hesitate to recommend any Sofitel Hotel. The one in New York lives up to its reputation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanwr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted you enjoyed the quality of service and the comfort of the room we are offering. We are glad you had a terrific experience in our restaurant Gaby.
Thank you very much for recommending the Sofitel New York.
We are really looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed 4nights at the Sofitel. The rooms were dated with terrible technology and no usable internet connection. Breakfast cost us 70$ and the service and food quality was horrible. Speaking with a French accent at checkin was just not enough for us. Many better places to stay in Manhattan for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeerValley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending the time telling us about your experience at Sofitel New York, we really sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations about our hotel and its services.
To reach a great guest experience is a must for us and at every Sofitel around the world, and we work very hard for it, we believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced is the best tool we can have to improve and like this reach our promises.
We regret that you experienced bed service at Gaby for breakfast. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.
I take this opportunity to inform you and other viewers of Tripadvisor that we are renovating our rooms and we will have all the hotel rooms new at the end of March.
Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.


Sincerely,

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel for three nights. We had originally booked a room at the Michelangelo but moved over to be with friends. We were given a room upgrade to a higher floor (21st floor) on the front of the hotel and we had a nice view of the Empire State Building from the window and could see the Chrysler building as well. Room was quiet and we heard no noise from the hallways or from outside the windows. Beds were comfy and there was a separate bathtub and shower.We flew into Newark and took the train to Penn Station (about 30 minute ride and $11.75/person OW). We walked from Penn Station to the hotel. It was evening but we felt safe walking and as long as you are in decent shape and have a roller bag, it should take you about 30 minutes to walk it. The hotel is close to Times Square (5 minutes) and an easy walk to Rockefeller Plaza (10-minutes) and Grand Central (20 minutes) and the Empire State Building (20 minutes). We also walked to dinner at Gramercy Tavern and it was a pleasant stroll. That said, taxis are cheap and plentiful...unless it is raining. Although illegal, the cabbie might ask how far you are going and if the distance is short, say they will not take you. Native New Yorkers know to jump in and then tell the cabbie directions. From the hotel we were also able to walk along 5th avenue up to Central Park and the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Frick (both are free to active duty military. Met is actually free to anyone but they have a suggested donation of $25/person and the Frick is free on Sundays for a three hour period). It was raining one day and the concierge provided us with umbrellas. My only real complaint is that there are no coffee/tea maker in the rooms. I like to come back to the room after a long day and relax with a cup of tea or sip coffee early in the morning before going out. They did have free coffee (but no decaf) in the restaurant but you have to go downstairs to get it (which means getting dressed). We did have a drink in the bar area and that is ok. We also went to the Blue Bar at the Algonquin (which is very closeby and where Katie Couric puts her guests) and that was pricey. About $22-$24 for a martini or glass of wine. The biggest surprise was the Royalton hotel across the street. I would never have known it was there except we had other friends (gay) staying there. Totally different scene. Loud music, couples cllimbing all over each other, etc. but drinks were more in the $10-$15 range. They were filming "Persons of Interest" across from the Sofitel and I am told that they film there fairly often. I don't watch the show but others in our group enjoyed watching them and seeing the movie trailers etc.. So would I stay there again? Yes. Would I still want to try the Michelangelo? Yes, a little less expensive and a little further uptown and closer to the park. But the staff at the Sofitel were extremely pleasant and professional. The views from the room were good. They offered a AAA rate. The bed was comfortable and they had a bathtub and shower. The rooms were quiet. There was a safe in the room. I only wish they had a coffee maker in the room.

Room Tip: upper floor on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for sharing this very detailed review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted you appreciated the Suite upgrade with an amazing view on the Empire State building, and enjoyed the comfort of the room and bathroom with separate bathtub and shower.
We are glad you enjoyed our very central location in the heart of Midtown, close to the main sightseeing.
As you mentioned we don’t have coffee/tea maker in the room, however we are very pleased to place one in your room upon request.
We really hope you will consider staying at the Sofitel New York during your future trip.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,637 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,978 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#139 of 467 in New York City
5,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing