We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, even better service”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orange, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location, even better service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent four days mid-week in bad weather. Truly great, central, location for sightseeing and Broadway shows, this property is both business traveler- and family-friendlyExperienced the restaurant at breakfast and in the evening (interesting menu, excellent service). Enjoyed a beautiful room (clean, well-appointed, notably friendly reception and maid service). Was particularly impressed by the bell services staff who read our minds every time and greeted us upon our return as if we lived there. I'll keep an eye out for other Sofitel properites in other cities as a result of this overall excellent experience, and I'll certainly return to Sofitel New York!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMom269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, Front Office Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for sharing your amazing experience regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear you had a great time in our restaurant Gaby for breakfast and dinner. We are thrilled that our bellmen offered you the great service you deserve.
We are really looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York and hope you will have the same lovely experience in our other properties.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,094
    1,694
    385
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,075
2,903
344
874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Sofitel New York is a great place to stay. Nice bathrooms and the best beds...sooo comfortable! i've stayed at a Sofitel in Beverly Hills, CA a few years back and I remembered how comfortable the beds were - which is why I booked a room at the Sofitel in NY. The location in NY is perfect. Minutes from Times Square, Broadway & Fifth Ave. Also, the room was quiet at night. I'll stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di-canadiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for sharing this lovely comment regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to hear you really appreciated the comfort of our SoBed which is the combination of a mattress and boxpring, a featherbed, a duvet and 4 pillows.
We are really looking forward to your return during your future stay in Manhattan.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Right in the heart of Manhattan this hotel is hard to beat! A quality and very stylist place to stay it will make any trip to New York even more special. All the staff are very professional, helpful and polite. The rooms are of the highest quality and the soundproofing is fantastic in the city that never sleeps. All the big stores on 5th Avenue are just around the corner and if you walk along 44th Street it will take you straight to Time Square. The are a few bars, diners and restaurants on the same street and a few blocks either way there are plenty more to explore. The bar in the hotel is very stylish and well work a drink or two. If you have never stayed in a Sofitel before you will be in for a great treat, as they have the most amazing and comfortable beds you have ever been in (so good you can buy them). It can be a little more expensive but if you want to have a very special time, this choice is a no brainer! If it's a special occasion let them know when you book and the staff will look after you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and they are very quiet. Try and get the higher floors for a good view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelkWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Mr. White,
It was a great pleasure to read about your impressions. It is exactly that feeling we would hope all our guests experience. We are truly delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. Thank you for sharing this experience and the pictures.
We are really looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York during your next visit.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Couldn't pick a better location in NYC. Walking distance to Times Square and Broadway and easy reach to subway. Rooms clean, a little small, but that's Big City's. bar is very nice and Breakfast was perfect. The Chocolates left in the room where are really nice surprise.

Helpful and friendly staff

Overall great experience - I'll hopefully be back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OffalyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted you enjoyed our great location in the heart of midtown within walking distance to the main sightseeing. We are glad you appreciated the nice chocolates left in your room.
We are looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'm from New York City, but stayed with a friend visiting from out-of town at the Sofitel. I was pleasantly surprised by the ambiance, clean & elegant design, as well as the great service. I would recommend to family and friends visiting from out of town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCNY911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for sharing this nice review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted you chose our hotel to stay with your friend and appreciated the ambiance and the design.
We hope you will have another opportunity to come back and enjoy the quality of service we are well-known for.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great location for shopping, Times Square and Broadway. Lovely clean spacious rooms with good hairdryer, tv, stereo and toiletries. Friendly staff who were very helpful. Only downside was no tea/coffee in room but available from ground floor free of charge in the mornings. Very pleased with overall experience - would use again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the amenities we are offering in the room.
We are very happy to place a coffee/tea maker in your room upon requests, and as you mentioned, we are offering every morning from 6 a.m. hot beverages in the restaurant Gaby.
We are looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Overall a lovely hotel with excellent service. Our bed was fabulous and the bathroom was five stars. We have booked five more trips at this hotel. The Hermes toiletries and separate bath and shower with rain shower head was better than some top rated spas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for this lovely review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted you really enjoyed the comfort of the room and especially the “five star” bathroom with separate bathtub and rain shower.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 468 in New York City
3,569 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,544 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,843 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#38 of 468 in New York City
3,421 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#76 of 468 in New York City
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing