We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #74 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a great hotel in a perfect location for Times Square & Fifth Ave, shops, theatres etc. The check in was efficient and all the staff were very helpful. The bedroom was spacious with a good bathroom with bath and separate shower. The reception seated area is a great place to chill and relax and the Bridgette Bardot photo exhibition was an added bonus (nov 2012). This was our first time with Sofitel but we will be using them again and would always recommend them following this stay.

Room Tip: Don't worry about paying for a view if you are here to see NYC get out there and do it. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of the room and the separate bathtub and shower. Gladly you were able to see our Brigitte Bardot exhibition which just ended in January.
We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,671 - 2,677 of 6,723 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been using this hotel for my business and pleasure visits to New York for several years. It started out very good and I recommended many people to stay there. I have just returned home after a 5 night stay and have to say that standards have slipped. Worn carpet, dirty bottles in the bar, variable service, but I do have a major complaint and want to warn anyone thinking of staying at this hotel. Being an A Club member I booked my stay on-line back in early January. When I arrived to check in I could sense there was a problem as the uncommunicative young French girl behind the counter was tapping away, frowning and not saying much to me. She eventually said she couldn't find a booking, so I produced a print of the confirming email. She then asked if I booked it in another name? No I said, read the email, then she said did I book it yesterday, no I said look at the email. At that point my colleague being checked in by someone else was told that the hotel was full that night (I was particularly concerned as my wife was flying in to join me later that evening). I was then told she would have to go see the manager, clearly this was not improving my mood. She then came back with what I assume was a supervisor and they proceeded to put in all my dates and rates into their system and the only comment to me was that it was lucky I had printed the email! I guess it is lucky as if I hadn't then I am confident they would have sent me away, despite being shown on their system as regular guest. There was no apology that there system had messed up and it was implied that it was somehow not their problem. I was and am angry at the lack of information and apology I was given and the way I was treated by the check-in staff. So my warning to anyone reading this is; DO NOT RELY ON THEIR ON-LINE RESERVATION SYSTEM, EVEN IF YOU GET FOLLOW UP EMAILS - ALWAYS CALL THEM TO CONFIRM THE BOOKING AND TAKE A PRINT OUT OF THE EMAIL, OR PREFERABLY DO NOT USE THEIR ON LINE SYSTEM AT ALL SO THAT THEY FIX IT.

To add insult to injury I had used my A Club points on some vouchers that would off set the cost of my stay. I gave these to someone on the front desk the day before I checked out, and guess what, when I checked out they weren't on my account. I was asked who I had given them to! am I supposed to take names now when I use the Front Desk? After another period of frowning and tapping and what I assume was another visit to the manager I was at last given the privilege of receiving the discount due to me, it turns out that my vouchers had been credited to another room. So basically checking in and out were terrible experiences and ones that have put me off ever going back to this hotel. I would also add that I asked for a quiet room due to being a light sleeper (my usual request) and was given a room a low floor that was next to service elevator, I guess this was so that we could enjoy the sound of the garbage trucks at 4am every morning and the sound of the service elevator fire door opening and closing what seemed like dozems of times as breakfasts were delivered to rooms from 6am. Thanks Sofitel, you really know how to make a regular guest feel special.

The Algonquin Hotel is less than a 100 yards away and has just been refurbed. A colleague stayed there last week and said it was great. I think I know where I will be spending my money in future.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms to reduce the traffic noise and avoid the service elevator doors which are right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PTEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel and I am sure you have experienced otherwise you wouldn’t be a regular as you are. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.
We regret that your experience with reception was not at the level we normally perform and I want to apologize for that, the lack of apologies at the time is a concern and I can assure you that we will review our training in a way we won’t repeat it again in the future. I can guarantee that our system is reliable and you can continue doing your reservations in our system.
Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Jorge Tito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bek1468
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had stayed here previously a few years ago and holds a special place for us as we got engaged on that visit.

We decided to come back for a 40th birthday in January 2013 and booked the Sofitel again as the hotel was great last time.

We were not disappointed. On arrival from UK, we got there before the allowed check in time but the reception quickly found us a room. There was a little mix up on the floor location as we wanted a view (I was hoping for the Chrysler view but we didnt get it !) but was quickly fixed.

What can I say about the bed.... it is like getting into a cloud. After a hard day walking it is the BEST bed I have ever slept in ever.

Also many thanks for the bottle of champagne and the chocolate cake on my birthday.

Staff were kind and courteous and this time we also went in the bar which was warm and welcoming and alot cheaper than the bars in the immediate area.

It is very well located but just far enough away from the spectacle of Times Square. Also close to Grand Central and Bryant Park.

Cant wait to come back to NYC and will defintely be staying here again.

Annie and Stephen

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgirl365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Annie and Stephen,
We are delighted to hear that you got engaged at the Sofitel New York and that you chose to come back for your 40th Birthday. It was a pleasure to offer you a bottle of Champagne and a box of chocolate to make this day memorable!
We apologize for the floor confusion but we are happy you finally got a room with a nice view on the Chrysler Building.
We are really looking forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotel Sofitel is perfectly located in downtown Manhattan, close to Times Square and 5th Avenue. Reception is discreet and efficient. Rooms are perfectly sized with wonderful bedding and well appointed bathrooms. For me, this is THE best choice for a perfect stay in New York's business district.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for this lovely review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted you enjoyed our very central location in the heart of Manhattan. We are glad you feel that Sofitel New York is the best choice for your trip.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great place to stay, whether on business or holiday, while in NYC. Perfect location in mid town, close to shopping, theatres and good dinning establishments.

Rooms are very comfortable and the hotel is of a size, which offers a more personalised service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted you appreciated our very central location in the heart of the City. We are glad you enjoyed the quality of service we are offering with a special care to the needs of all our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

A haven to return to after long very cold days sightseeing. The staff were very welcoming and polite, especially on reception. We asked for a coffee/tea maker in the room and they delivered. Our suite was a good size and included a beautiful bathroom with equally beautiful toiletries from Hermes. The bed and linen - WOW.
Seemed to be very much a business hotel, but that was not a problem, infact it was a blessing. We loved Sofitel - New York and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beeparsons27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for this wonderful review regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted you enjoyed the comfort of the room and the French toiletries from Hermès.
We are glad you mentioned that we are offering coffee/tea maker in the room upon requests.
We are really looking forward to your return, during your future trip to New York.
Sincerely,
Sofitel New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,826 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 471 in New York City
3,742 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#110 of 471 in New York City
4,527 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 471 in New York City
3,896 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#136 of 471 in New York City
5,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $231 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing