We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Sofitel is always great and this visit went above and beyond. You can't beat the location, the view was fantastic, the bed is a cloud, and the bathrooms alone are worth the cost! Although the food is expensive on site, it is fantastic and the portions are generally too big.

A minor issue: the majority of the staff was great and really friendly but there were some pretty major screw ups. First we waited almost an hour for them to send our luggage up on the first night and the night staff for room service made some glaring errors in our order (we don't eat meat and twice we were sent meat even after we explained both times that we are vegetarians). The luggage fiasco was resolved only in that we got the luggage eventually and the room service orders were fixed and our bill was adjusted. In both instances they apologized profusely and did fix the problem. I can't complain but it'd make everyone happier if things went a little smoother in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tc7744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
We are delighted that you had a great experience at Sofitel New York. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.
Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the two incidents that happened.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Sofitel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,168
    1,717
    393
    132
    67
See reviews for
1,100
2,947
352
892
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I booked this hotel for a long week-end to NYC to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday. The room was very spacious, very clean and 'just lovely. We had two very large beds, which were very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant the first night and it was very nice. I totally forgot that when I booked I mentioned it was my daughter's 21st birthday and it was a very pleasant surprise when they presented her with a a cake (of sorts) with dipped strawberries, on a tray with Happy Birthday written in chocolate. Several times during our stay, we used the bar and the services was excellent. If I ever come back to NYC this will be the hotel I will stay in as I cannot fault anything about it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you very for the lovely comment shared on Trip Advisor regarding your recent in New York.
We are very glad you choose the Sofitel to celebrate your daughter’s 21st Birthday. It was our pleasure to prepare a special cake for her, to make her stay memorable.
We delighted you enjoyed the room and your experience at Gaby.
We are really looking forward to your return during your next visit to New York.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband surprised me with a weekend trip to NYC for our anniversary and booked us in for 3 nights at the Sofitel. For us, as a couple, it was perfect. Although the room was a little small, it was lovely, clean, neat and updated. It was the perfect base for us to explore the city. The hotel is conveniently located around the corner from Times Square. We were able to walk to most of our site seeing destinations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing Sofitel New York to celebrate your anniversary. We are very happy your husband made you such a nice surprise.
We are delighted you enjoyed the comfort of the room, and the ideal location of the hotel, in the heart of Manhattan.
We are looking for another opportunity to welcome you back at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Good location. Very friendly. Excellent room. Nice not to be in crowded hotel Lobby good place to read paper .And it had enough elevators so no waiting. Location is easy for Times Square. Plays. Would recommend it

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vimapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed the calm offered in our hotel, which can enable you to rest, although we are located just steps away from Time Square.
We are glad you will recommend the Sofitel new York, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon during your future trip in Manhattan.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Older style hotel comfortable rooms with great amenities in a very good location. The breakfast in this hotel is excellent particularly if you have a large appetite and delicious. Walking distance to the theatre district and close to 5th Avenue shopping. Rooms are adequate but not in the class of the Sofitel Guangzhou which has only been open for one year.

Room Tip: Choice a higher level floor - their are no views but then views in NYC are hard to find
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear you really enjoyed our Breakfast at Gaby and appreciate our very central location close to the main sightseeing.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I found the rooms rather standard, the bed small (maybe we had a queen, don't know why), but the plus was the bathroom, it was very spacious.
The lobby had no free wifi, but 2 pc with printer, free of use.
Don't spend your money on breakfast, certainly not on the oatmeal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ping000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
All our Standard rooms have a queen bed, which could explain why you had the feeling the bed was too small, moreover all the bathrooms have separate bathtub and shower, which we are delighted you enjoyed.
We do offer Free Wifi in our lobby to our Guests, by using their name and room number, we apologize you have not been told about it. We regret you did not appreciate the breakfast.
We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for one night with my elderly parents in 2 rooms. Arrival at the hotel was OK, no offer to unload the luggage out of the car was made. Check in was fast and efficient and although we arrived very early (approx. 10:30am) our rooms were available.

The rooms are very nice and spacious for New York, the bathroom is on a par with some 5 star hotels I have stayed in with a separate walk in shower and bath. Everything was well maintained and clean. The room was also very quiet with hardly any traffic noise.

Now the downside, I had booked a breakfast inclusive rate so that we wouldn't have to walk out and find somewhere - what a mistake! The restaurant was not particularly busy however we were advised of a 20 minute wait even though there were many empty tables visible. It became apparent that there was no way we would get a table in 20 minutes and after 30 minutes gave up and went out (having made my dissatisfaction felt to the duty manager). I could understand if the restaurant was busy however there were enough empty tables to cater for the many (circa 15) people waiting, many of who like us gave up.

I have to add that the duty manger was excellent in dealing with my complaint and through a reduction of the room rate covered the cost of our alternative breakfast.

Its a shame that such a simple part of the stay shed a poor light over this hotel which overall is a nice hotel in a great location. Would I stay again...perhaps; however there are better hotels for the price if you want to compromise on location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DealSouthWales1_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel.

We regret that we have not been able to accommodate you and your parents for breakfast especially if some tables were empty. However, we are relieved that our Manager on duty could offer you a reduction to cover the spending.

Again, please accept our apologies. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our bathroom with separate bath and shower. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,637 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,978 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#139 of 467 in New York City
5,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing