We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel, with European Charm and hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
494 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel, with European Charm and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Had a fabulous stay over Christmas, the rooms are well appointed and the beds very so comfortable. Loved the lounge area, where you can sit by a fire and people watch all day. The staff are very attentive and helpful, and loved the greeting of Bonjour as we left for the day. A couple of blocks from the chaos of Time Square, the hotel is a sea of tranquility. Location was great close to Bryant Park subway, 5th Avenue, Lord and Taylor and Macy's are an easy stroll away. I didn't want to check out and will definitely return

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JudyGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing the experience of your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are glad you enjoyed our lobby where you can relax, a few blocks away from the “chaos” of Time Square.
We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York during your future visit.
Happy New Year!
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,999
    1,653
    382
    121
    63
See reviews for
1,038
2,845
336
843
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
230 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We chose Sofitel New York for a weekend break based on previous good stays with Sofitel in Washington DC, Brussels and London Heathrow - and because of the excellent location for Broadway shows.

We usually stay at Essex House or The Peninsula, but given we had a number of shows booked and how busy we knew NYC would be just before Christamas, we decided to try something closer. As many reviewers point out, the location is virtually unbeatable for the right balance between accessibility to Broadway and distance from the noise of Times Square.

Apart from location though, although it is decent, there is little to set this hotel apart from the 4/5 star pack.

Positives
- Location
- Very friendly welcome from the Front Desk & efficient check-in
- Great view of the Empire State Building from our 23rd floor room
- Room and bathroom very clean
- Good choice of TV channels
- Room was quiet at night - couldn't hear the hubbub of the city at all
- Free internet (high speed costs you though)
- Separate shower

Negatives
- The room (furniture and decor) was a bit tired and could do with a makeover
- Room (Superior) was tiny - no room at all at the foot of the bed when sitting at the desk
- We found the bed too soft
- Water pressure was pretty low
- Bathtub was very short and too shallow to relax down into
- BREAKFAST EXPERIENCE WAS AWFUL

We chose the Magnifique Breakfast package as it seemed good value. On our first morning we were "greeted" by Teresa. She seemed flustered, but her manner was very hostile - barking orders at us as to where to sit. When we asked to be moved to a better table she refused and just walked away! The person cleaning took pity on us, and cleared a table whilst the manager tried to cover for Teresa's rudeness (which wasn't just directed at us - a number of other customers and staff members had the same treatment from her). It took almost 25 minutes for our breakfast to arrive, only to find that the Egg Benedict was woefully overcooked. In the interim we had had to remind servers to fetch the bread basket a number of times, and had to pilfer conserves and cutlery from another table. On the second morning (Sunday the 23rd) Teresa was marginally friendlier after recognising us. We had to wait for 20 minutes for a table (I counted more than 10 free tables, but nobody seemed to be clearing them), another 15 minutes to be served, and another 15 minutes for the food. A number of things were inconsistent - e.g. portion sizes; serving bigger bread baskets to solo diners than to pairs; smoothie one day, but not the next; juice refills one day, but not the next etc... The restaurant staff were deluged with complaints on the Sunday, and we witnessed more than one group of customers giving up and going elsewhere to eat.
The breakfast service was a great pity as it detracts from the efforts of staff in other parts of the hotel. Although a manager apologised unprompted when we checked out, by then it was done.

Unless you're going all out for location, there are many better hotels in NYC in the same price bracket.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with Empire State view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.
We are very happy with all your positive comments about several points as you mentioned, regarding the breakfast, please accept our apologies. We regret that you experienced inattentive service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While that individual does not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. I have requested that our head of human resources institute a review of our training procedures.
Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Df
Level Contributor
151 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent 6 nights here for pre-Christmas shopping and sightseeing. We had stayed before in Sept 2009 and found the Sofitel to be (again) excellent. The location is faultless. The room was spacious and comfortable and clean (with an excellent bed), and soundproofing was great too.
Staff were very good - reception, concierge, cleaning, bar and restaurant. If there was a minor fault, it would be that the bathroom can get a bit chilly.
As a member of A-Club, got a 3 pm checkout - perfect for a 6 pm flight. Thank you.
Overall, we would go back in a heartbeat - indeed, when we next go to New York, this is certainly where we'll stay unless we fancy a completely different part of town. For midtown, Sofitel is wonderful.
(Our package didn't include breakfast. Last time, we mostly went to The Red Flame on the same block. Mistake! This time we crossed 6th Avenue to have breakfast at either Saju or Un Deux Trois - the former slightly better but both absolutely worth that extra 100 yards walk and a couple of dollars more. For a real breakfast treat, grab a cab to downtown and Balthazar on Spring Street.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffStranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are delighted to welcoming you back to the Sofitel New York and thank you really much for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us and appreciate the comfort and calm of our rooms. It was our pleasure to offer you a late check out as a Le Club member.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Sofitel New York uring your next visit.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Just visited NY for the first time and randomly picked the Sofitel. Excellent choice without knowing it. The staff was very friendly and helpful! What I loved the most was when they came in and turned the bed down every night, the staff put on music for our enjoyment when we returned .
The rooms were not only clean, but it was probably one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. I could not hear street noise which was very pleasant. They helped make our first trip to NY very memorable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are delighted you choose the Sofitel New York for your first trip I the city. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectation and we thank you for taking the time to share your story.
We are glad you really enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and appreciated the turn down service.
We are really looking forward to your return when you will come back to New York.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at New York City's Sofitel for the 3 rd time this year and I enjoyed every minute of my stay as the numerous times I had stayed there in the past 4 years. What made the difference this time was the extreme warm welcome I received by the staff especially Vivian in reception. Having read a previous comment on Tripadvisor that upon request I could have a coffee machine in my room, she arranged for my favourite Nespresso coffee maker in no time to be installed! And the Christmas decorations were so classy and wonderful that made the stay a very special one! The room was clean, quiet and comfortable as ever. The Sobed was extremely comfortable as always and the new to me Lanvin toiletries were very good!
Great location anytime of the year, especially at Christmas time when the city is buzzing: could not have stayed anywhere better!
Life is truly Magnifique here!

Room Tip: Rooms on the North Side and higher floors are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xraydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for this glowing review you shared on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate that the comments we leave on Trip Advisor have been helpful for you and made your stay more enjoyable. Indeed as you mentioned we have coffee machines available for our guests upon request. We are very glad to hear these very nice words about our Ambassadors and the special mention for our receptionist Vivian.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Sofitel New York, during your next stay in the City.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Just love the Sofitel NY. Why? The beds. The peace and quiet. The service . The location . This was a family trip , and we all enjoyed coming back to a little corner of France amidst the lovely but occasionally OTT NY Xmas schlock . Thanks again Sofitel NY.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to your return during your future stay in New York.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,452 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#67 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing