We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was our second stay in a junior suite at Sofitel. The location is fantastic and the staff very helpful and attentive. The suite is a lovely size and well worth the money for the amazingly comfy bed alone. We didn't eat in the hotel for breakfast instead we revisited one of our favourite NYC diners- red flame grill just down the street. If you are looking for a hotel in a great location with lovely staff this is a great choice.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to leave this very nice review about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted you enjoyed our Junior Suite and especially the comfort of our Sobed.
We are glad you came back and the Sofitel and we are really looking forward to your return.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,659 - 2,665 of 6,585 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you want midtown, you're hard pressed to find a place any better than the Sofitel. Its high tripadvisor ranking comes from a palpable commitment to exceptional service, rooms that are a decent size (and exceptionally well appointed) and a location that is handy to the action of Times Square as well as the finer escape of Bryant Park and a slightly less intense 'vibe' (that being a relative term in central manhattan).
I've stayed here a few times and always been impressed... The beds give the best in the business a run for the money.. and there's a decent gym if you want a winter workout

Stayed: November 2012
1  Thank trinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your nice comment left on Trip Advisor. We are very glad to have you back at the Sofitel New York and we are delighted to hear you enjoy our very central location in the heart of Manhattan.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012. Hotel located in between Times Square and 5th avenue on 44th street. Easy walking to 3 subway stations within 2 blocks. Hotel room itself was average with scratches on the wall and peeling wallpaper in a few spots. Bed was soft and clean with warm bedding. Bose Wave radio on the nightstand that our traveling partners could hear through the wall. Bathroom was comfortable and amazing with everything you could need. I like quiet and we didn't hear any other guests on the hall or doors slamming up and down the hall. Elevators were fast, never waited more than 20 seconds going up or down from the 14th floor. Staff at desk, concierge, and doormen were helpful and professional. The weekend we went was cold and rainy so the free umbrellas helped. Overall, would stay there again. It's midtown NYC so expect to pay $$$.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible, near the end of the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blacknred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel New York.
We regret that you found the rooms old and tired, we are working on a renovation project that will be finished on the first half of 2013 which will address all the points you noted and I am sure it will improve on the perception you had.
We are delighted you enjoyed our very central location and the quietness within the hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Chose this hotel based on the quality expected from the Sofitel brand and its location, which is excellent, being convenient for Times Square, Grand Central Station, Radio City, 5th Ave. Our room, on the 18th floor was a little oasis from the hustle and bustle of the New York streets being very quiet, even though close to the lift. The room was a good size and the bathroom had a separate bath and shower with. Wifi was complimentary and reliable.

Thank McDufus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted you really enjoyed our location in the very center of Manhattan. We are glad to hear these nice words about your room and the feeling of an “oasis”.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights with my five year-old son in November. It was just after Sandy had hit, and I had booked another hotel in SoHo initially, but cancelled and booked the Sofitel kinda last minute.
The room was good, but still nothing special for that category of hotel. Everything was working, the bed was very very comfy, everything was clean. But still, we could hear the elevator from our room and TVs from adjoining rooms.
Breakfast was very good (beware! huge portions!), a la carte and the croissants very heavenly. They have a kids menu and some crayons etc in the restaurant.
We had room service once (dinner); was ok but wouldn't recommend it.
The staff in the restaurant was really nice and very very helpful.

I liked the hotel but wasn't that impressed. Great location though! Lots of stuff in walking distance! And the subway is really close.

Room Tip: Higher up & away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilopilo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor about our recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are glad you choose Sofitel New York after what happened during hurricane Sandy. We are really sorry you have been disturbed by the elevator sound.
We are delighted you had a great time in our restaurant Gaby for Breakfast and enjoyed our French viennoiserie.
We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

As a frequent guest at Sofitel fraubourg Paris, I was looking forward to my few days at Sofitel NY. I wasn't exactly disappointed, but not that impressed either. Everything is satisfactory, but nothing is great. Rooms are ok, comfortable, clean etc, but at 600 bucks per night they should be! Rooms (even superior ones on higher floors) are fairly small and the bathtub is ridiculously small unless you are tiny. My minibar was not restocked at all during 5 days, the cleaners do the bed and the bathroom, but don't really tidy up much beyond that. Service was all ok and friendly.

Would only stay again if other places were full. Not that impressive.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations.

We regret that you did get the same experience as during your stays at the Sofitel Le Faubourg. We apologies your minibar has not been restocked during your stay. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.

Again, please accept our apologies. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent location and better service. Near of all major NYC attractions. Gaby restaurant is elegant and boast a casual atmosphere. Clean rooms and prompt service. Thanks to Mattie at Gaby's, Lirio and Nancy at the front desk, the best. Front desk personnel speaks more than 10 languages, amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this glowing review you shared on Trip Advisor.
We really appreciate your nice comment about our staff and will be sure to share it with them. Moreover, it is extremely important for us, you feel at home and for that matter to be able to speak in your own language. We are glad you had a very nice experience at Gaby and enjoyed the quality of the service.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel New York during your next visit.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 469 in New York City
3,704 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#45 of 469 in New York City
3,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 469 in New York City
3,623 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,077 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $263 - $1,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing