We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel New York
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$169
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$161
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$145
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$176
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$309
$215
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$386
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (6,876)
Filter reviews
6,876 results
Traveler rating
4,420
1,806
430
141
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,420
1,806
430
141
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red flame dinergaby restaurantnew yorktimes squarechrysler buildingseparate showerroom serviceturn down servicebryant parkfifth avenuelate checkgrand central stationhigh floorbottle of champagnequiet streetrockefeller centerfantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2,876 - 2,881 of 6,876 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great loction for all the attractions,Time Square, theare district just down the road and some lovely restuarants close by too.

Room was comfortable, nice bathroom, our view wasn't great, but we didn't spend much time in the room. We were there to see everything we could. For a relativly large hotel is was extremly quite we were not disturbed with doors, lifts etc.
We flew into New Jersey and stayed with a friend of mine for a few days then got the train into cental station. travelling was simple on the train, and whilst in NY we just used the buses they were great for getting around.
The hotel arranged for a taxi to take us back to the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nette08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted you enjoy our location in the heart of Manhattan, within walking distance to the main sightseeing, which enable you to do all you wanted. We are glad you appreciated the calm in our hotel, thanks to which you can rest in this very busy city.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Visited NY and stayed at Sofitel for 4 nights. The cost was some 1500$. The location is the best possible regarding activities in mid Manhattan.
The pros in Sofitel (at least, if you stay in room 1504)
+ nice view
+ very comfy beds
+ spacious std room
+ clean
+ friendly frontdesk and they speak french
+ very nice piano bar, lounge
+ good dinery only 50m to the right from the main entrance, open at 6am.
+ the room is well soundproofed
Cons
- no bidee in the bath room!
- carpet floor (not nice having any allergy)
- toilet paper is a joke
- currency exchange rate is poor at the hotel, use ATM

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank harrivassu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are glad you really enjoy your stay and the comfort of our beds. We are delighted you have been able to experience the Piano Bar, in our restaurant Gaby on Friday or Saturday, during which a French pianist and singer are coming.
We regret you experience some allergies during your stay. We really you will still consider coming at the Sofitel New York during you next stay in Manhattan.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

First time in NYC since 1988. Hotel was perfect. Location for out of towners is ideal as its central to everything. Rooms were great, staff was nice. I would definately stay there again. Close to restuarants, Time Square, Rock Center and the theatre district

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel New York for your come back in the city. We are delighted you enjoyed our central location in the heart of Manhattan at a walking distance to every main sightseeing.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next occasion to visit New York.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is the most money I have ever spent on a hotel in New York..but it was good value for the extra dollars. Great sized room (awesome to have spacious closet), really nice bathroom with personal ammenities, great view. Decent gym. Super clean. Awesome location. Service was exceptional. Felt very special. If you are looking for a higher end hotel, this is good value for your money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveubookofmormon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are glad you had a very nice stay and enjoy the comfort of our rooms made in order you could feel at home with large closet, separate bathtub and shower and our skincare products from Lanvin and Hermès. We are delighted to hear you have been able to enjoy our Sofit Fitness Center during your stay.
We are really looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews