We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Happy Thnaksgiving” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #58 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happy Thnaksgiving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent location and better service. Near of all major NYC attractions. Gaby restaurant is elegant and boast a casual atmosphere. Clean rooms and prompt service. Thanks to Mattie at Gaby's, Lirio and Nancy at the front desk, the best. Front desk personnel speaks more than 10 languages, amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this glowing review you shared on Trip Advisor.
We really appreciate your nice comment about our staff and will be sure to share it with them. Moreover, it is extremely important for us, you feel at home and for that matter to be able to speak in your own language. We are glad you had a very nice experience at Gaby and enjoyed the quality of the service.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel New York during your next visit.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,858
    1,593
    365
    114
    58
See reviews for
986
2,731
325
807
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great loction for all the attractions,Time Square, theare district just down the road and some lovely restuarants close by too.

Room was comfortable, nice bathroom, our view wasn't great, but we didn't spend much time in the room. We were there to see everything we could. For a relativly large hotel is was extremly quite we were not disturbed with doors, lifts etc.
We flew into New Jersey and stayed with a friend of mine for a few days then got the train into cental station. travelling was simple on the train, and whilst in NY we just used the buses they were great for getting around.
The hotel arranged for a taxi to take us back to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nette08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted you enjoy our location in the heart of Manhattan, within walking distance to the main sightseeing, which enable you to do all you wanted. We are glad you appreciated the calm in our hotel, thanks to which you can rest in this very busy city.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Visited NY and stayed at Sofitel for 4 nights. The cost was some 1500$. The location is the best possible regarding activities in mid Manhattan.
The pros in Sofitel (at least, if you stay in room 1504)
+ nice view
+ very comfy beds
+ spacious std room
+ clean
+ friendly frontdesk and they speak french
+ very nice piano bar, lounge
+ good dinery only 50m to the right from the main entrance, open at 6am.
+ the room is well soundproofed
Cons
- no bidee in the bath room!
- carpet floor (not nice having any allergy)
- toilet paper is a joke
- currency exchange rate is poor at the hotel, use ATM

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank harrivassu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are glad you really enjoy your stay and the comfort of our beds. We are delighted you have been able to experience the Piano Bar, in our restaurant Gaby on Friday or Saturday, during which a French pianist and singer are coming.
We regret you experience some allergies during your stay. We really you will still consider coming at the Sofitel New York during you next stay in Manhattan.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

First time in NYC since 1988. Hotel was perfect. Location for out of towners is ideal as its central to everything. Rooms were great, staff was nice. I would definately stay there again. Close to restuarants, Time Square, Rock Center and the theatre district

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel New York for your come back in the city. We are delighted you enjoyed our central location in the heart of Manhattan at a walking distance to every main sightseeing.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next occasion to visit New York.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is the most money I have ever spent on a hotel in New York..but it was good value for the extra dollars. Great sized room (awesome to have spacious closet), really nice bathroom with personal ammenities, great view. Decent gym. Super clean. Awesome location. Service was exceptional. Felt very special. If you are looking for a higher end hotel, this is good value for your money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveubookofmormon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are glad you had a very nice stay and enjoy the comfort of our rooms made in order you could feel at home with large closet, separate bathtub and shower and our skincare products from Lanvin and Hermès. We are delighted to hear you have been able to enjoy our Sofit Fitness Center during your stay.
We are really looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed 6 nights at Sofitel New York in a king room and it was excellent. Every need is catered for. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever had in any hotel. The room was quiet, and very clean. We ordered room service food on the first night as we were feeling quite lazy after travelling, but it was so good we ordered again later in the week. Great location, can walk everywhere or the nearest subway stop is just 2 streets away. Loved having a separate shower cubicle and bath, would definitely recommend the place to anyone going to New York looking for a comfortable base for their trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAJMC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOfficeNewYork, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely comment about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted you really enjoyed our SoBed and the separate bath and rain shower.
Thank you for recommending our hotel to the Trip Advisor users.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel New York very soon,
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,272 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#50 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#56 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#43 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
#50 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing