We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel NYC - Magnifique!”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #72 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here last weekend for my 40th birthday. It was beyond fantastic! We were greeted at the desk and treated like royalty the entire weekend. We had a room on the 23rd floor and couldn't stop staring out the window at the skyline views and an unobstructed shot of the Chrysler Building. Arrived back to the room after a day of shopping and dinner to a bottle of Champagne chilling, chocolate covered strawberries, chocolates, and a 'Happy Birthday' dessert plate. Next time we are in NYC and every time thereafter, we will be returning to the Sofitel! Merci!

Room Tip: If you have the means, book a high level floor - the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChatsMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sofitel New York to celebrate you 40th Birthday. We are glad to hear you had a fantastic stay. It was our pleasure to make you Birthday memorable, by offering you special treat.
We are really looking forward to your return to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known for.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,793 - 2,799 of 6,710 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this perfectly located hotel in NYC. Location of hotel is away from the noise of Times Square, yet close to fabulous shopping and restaurants. Room was very tidy and well appointed. Highly recommend the concierge for dining suggestions....we were looking for an Ethiopian restaurant & were thrilled with the recommendation. Would not hesitate to stay at Sofitel on our next visit to this amazing city.
Service at this hotel was just perfect.....many thanks:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your lovely comment on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you had a great time at the Sofitel New York and enjoyed our location in the very center of Manhattan. We are glad you really appreciated the advice of our concierge for the Ethiopian restaurant.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon, on your next visit.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have stayed here numerous times and there's a lot to like about this hotel. It's centrally located, very handy for meetings in midtown and for hitting the shops on 5th Avenue. I struggled a bit with service this trip though. Staff on the front desk weren't as fabulous as they have been on past visits - and in some cases were downright surly (I'm looking at you, Nancy!) My Superior King room was well appointed and a great size. I'd stay here again but it would be nice to have friendlier and more helpful staff on the front desk. Concierge had a couple of shockers with restaurant suggestions but seemed genuinely contrite and eventually redeemed themselves.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem.
We regret that you experienced unfriendly service. We strive for the highest level of professionalism. While that individual does not reflect our philosophy or the way we train our staff, we are very concerned that you did not receive the exemplary service you deserve. I have requested that our head of human resources institute a review of our training procedures.
Again, please accept our apologies and thank you for your loyalty. We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,

Jorge Tito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is as close to luxury, first class as possible for this price range in New York. The room was spacious by NY standards, well appointed, and clean. (It was also dark at night and very quiet!) Fitness center was fantastic. Maid service and service overall was excellent. Will definitely stay here again when I come to NY next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for this wonderful review sharing on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and really appreciated all the sport equipments we are providing in our Fitness center.
We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Edinburgh, Scotland
150115
Reviewed October 21, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great location... One block from Times Square. We stayed in a queen and it was lovely... Great bed super comfortable and flash bathroom. Concierge was friendly and helpful. Great restaurants in walking diStill very expensive for what it is, would stay again if got a good price

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hazelauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is a fantastic place to savour the delights of New York City.The bustling restaurants, Time Square, Broadway shows, 5th Avenue are all within a 5-10 minute walk. And when you've become sated, the Sofitel is a fabulous retreat from the noise and energy - a chic cocoon of calm comfort.

We thoroughly enjoyed the food in the hotel and although it was not cheap, we felt because of the exemplary service, outstanding food preparation and presentation as well as extra touches like fresh orange juice being refilled, complimentary homemade bread and bar snacks, it was still good value, We were charged about 200USD for 2 cooked breakfasts on two days, 1 dinner on room service and 2 pre-theatre bar meals with wine.

Budget hint: We prepaid for our room in June and got an excellent room rate plus we had forgotten its cost by the time we stayed in October. So settling the food bill seemed a breeze.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5stargirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing this glowing review about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to hear you had such a memorable time during your stay. We truly appreciate the tips you are giving to future guests.
We are really looking forward to your next visit at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Magali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,823 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 471 in New York City
3,732 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#112 of 471 in New York City
4,516 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 471 in New York City
3,888 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 471 in New York City
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
#62 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $233 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing