We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but still a great stay!”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #64 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great location... One block from Times Square. We stayed in a queen and it was lovely... Great bed super comfortable and flash bathroom. Concierge was friendly and helpful. Great restaurants in walking diStill very expensive for what it is, would stay again if got a good price

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank hazelauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,706 - 2,712 of 6,576 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is a fantastic place to savour the delights of New York City.The bustling restaurants, Time Square, Broadway shows, 5th Avenue are all within a 5-10 minute walk. And when you've become sated, the Sofitel is a fabulous retreat from the noise and energy - a chic cocoon of calm comfort.

We thoroughly enjoyed the food in the hotel and although it was not cheap, we felt because of the exemplary service, outstanding food preparation and presentation as well as extra touches like fresh orange juice being refilled, complimentary homemade bread and bar snacks, it was still good value, We were charged about 200USD for 2 cooked breakfasts on two days, 1 dinner on room service and 2 pre-theatre bar meals with wine.

Budget hint: We prepaid for our room in June and got an excellent room rate plus we had forgotten its cost by the time we stayed in October. So settling the food bill seemed a breeze.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5stargirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing this glowing review about your recent stay at the Sofitel New York. We are delighted to hear you had such a memorable time during your stay. We truly appreciate the tips you are giving to future guests.
We are really looking forward to your next visit at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Magali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Staff greeted us and checked us in with ease. Nice room - 400 square feet - but no view. Bed was comfortable, and room was quiet and well appointed. Excellent location: Two blocks to Bryant Park to enjoy coffee and the morning paper, and short walk to Broadway and Central Park. Hard to beat the location. Expensive but good New York Hotels are expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim31944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the location of the hotel.
We are looking forward to your return to the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Magali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had a great night there. We booked a "Romance package" at the Sofitel and were happy to find a bottle of sparkling wine, chocolate strawberries, a chocolate box and some water upon arrival. The front desk staff was friendly (even when we arrived very late (or early the next morning depending on the point of view).

The room was noiseless, we slept very well. View from the room was great with the Empire state building just in front of us. Free internet access is a must. Great continental breakfast the next morning with fresh orange juice, good coffee and plenty of croissants and bread. I just hope I'll not have a bad surprise when receiving my credit card bill as I had to sign some king a receipt for the breakfast but it was supposed to be included in the package.

Finally we could let our bags inside while afternoon shopping which was appreciated. Will return in this hotel again as it's also very well situated

Room Tip: Our room was in the 19th floor, no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodmood_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Sofitel New York. We are glad to hear you appreciated the “Magnifique Romance” Package. Indeed this package enable you to enjoy all the comfort of our hotel and accommodations, a bottle of Champagne, a special gift, and breakfast in your room every morning. The receipt you sign is just part of our standards; you won’t have any “bad surprise”!
We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Sofitel New York for your next escape in the City.
Sincerely,
Magali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel service and level of quality, from the entire staff in every single functional area, to the facilities were outstanding. Made you feel special during your entire stay, as much as one could possibly enjoy that level of attention within a smaller luxury hotel setting. Rooms were spacious, clean, modern and have attention paid to the smaller details. Our family stayed in both suites and regular rooms, and everyone enjoyed their stay, which helped make this a more enjoyable weekend for all of us.

Room Tip: Suites on 24th floor have a small private terrace which are very nice and overlook the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review provided to Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you appreciated the unique attention we are offering to our guests, as each of you are special and have different needs. We are glad you enjoyed both rooms you were staying in and the view from the terrace.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Magali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and did much research before booking our stay. I have to say that my stay was wonderful. The best part of this hotel was location and the quiet-ness. I heard the place has sound proof walls and I have to say I didn't hear anything through the walls. Staff were impeccable and always helpful. Location in mid-town is amazing. Able to walk to many local sites with-in 10-20 minutes. Room was very nice and the bathroom was amazing. The only bad, if you want to call it that, was the bathtub was a standard size, a deep soaker bathtub would have made this a perfect 5 star bathroom. Fresh flowers, and all the amenities needed for your stay. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Apparently the higher up the building you go the better views, but we were not going to see NY from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavinD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanJ1958
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,700 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#45 of 469 in New York City
3,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#44 of 469 in New York City
3,730 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,067 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 469 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $273 - $1,124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing