We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and accomodations”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #72 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel service and level of quality, from the entire staff in every single functional area, to the facilities were outstanding. Made you feel special during your entire stay, as much as one could possibly enjoy that level of attention within a smaller luxury hotel setting. Rooms were spacious, clean, modern and have attention paid to the smaller details. Our family stayed in both suites and regular rooms, and everyone enjoyed their stay, which helped make this a more enjoyable weekend for all of us.

Room Tip: Suites on 24th floor have a small private terrace which are very nice and overlook the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review provided to Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you appreciated the unique attention we are offering to our guests, as each of you are special and have different needs. We are glad you enjoyed both rooms you were staying in and the view from the terrace.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Sofitel New York.
Sincerely,
Magali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,846 - 2,852 of 6,768 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and did much research before booking our stay. I have to say that my stay was wonderful. The best part of this hotel was location and the quiet-ness. I heard the place has sound proof walls and I have to say I didn't hear anything through the walls. Staff were impeccable and always helpful. Location in mid-town is amazing. Able to walk to many local sites with-in 10-20 minutes. Room was very nice and the bathroom was amazing. The only bad, if you want to call it that, was the bathtub was a standard size, a deep soaker bathtub would have made this a perfect 5 star bathroom. Fresh flowers, and all the amenities needed for your stay. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Apparently the higher up the building you go the better views, but we were not going to see NY from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavinD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanJ1958
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in a luxury king, purchased through Jetsetter for a long weekend to celebrate my husbands birthday. We had plans to shop and eat, as we visit New York about twice a year. In that area, I have stayed at The Millenium, Intercontinental, Premier, Westin. I rate this hotel higher. My feeling is that guest services are in the details. Free coffee and tea in the mornings, an excellent gym (for a hotel in the city), immaculate rooms and water at turndown. The service was attentive by New York standard, but really friendly by any standards. It was a nice change to the "fend for yourself" attitude. To me, although it isn't the best location as midtown can be a real circus, there is no better place to set as home bas to explore. We go all over, from the Village to Harlem, and the subway lines are all easily accessible from the Sofitel.

Eric checked us in, and after confirming a special surprise I wanted to be delivered for my husband, the hotel sent him something sweet too, which was lovely. Eric remembered our newspaper preferences, and after watching me rummage through the stack, arranged to have the ny Times delivered to our room. We had excellent martinis with a friend at the Gaby bar, and had room service once after feeling peckish after a show. Food was hot, came quickly and correctly. You do need to ask for a sheet if you get warm at night. The linens are fine but they have a covered duvet, not a separate sheet. The bathroom and room itself was pretty big for New York, and the bathroom had good lighting for sprucing up.

All in all, a hit for us. I have an annual conference in NYC, and think I may blow the conference hotel and stay here!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank smoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel New York to celebrate your husband’s birthday. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay and value the consideration you have for our hotel.
We are very glad to hear such positive words about Eric and I will make sure we forward him your comment. Moreover we really appreciate you highlighting the type of linen we offer. Our standard is to offer a full duvet; however, our wish is to provide you customized service and we are very pleased to set up your bed as requested. Please don’t hesitate to ask one of our ambassadors who will be delighted to make your stay more enjoyable.

We are looking forward to welcoming you during your conference in New York.

Sincerely,
Magali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've stayed in several Sofitels around the world over the years and the New York Sofitel is more of the same. Excellent service, quality and attention to detail.

I was warmly greeted on arrival and promptly upgraded to a better room. The rooms are excellent, spacious and have great facilities (Bose Ipod dock, mini bar, usual Sofitel items like shoe and sewing kit). The bathroom was excellent and the shower in particularly was really nice after the long flight from London.

The hotel has a great atmosphere, like home away from home and is warm and welcoming. The bar is good and continental breakfast in the restaurant was the quality and selection you would expect.

The hotel is perfectly located for seeing New York.

All in all a great hotel and a really good stay. This is my preferred location to stay in New York.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such as enthusiastic review about your stay at the Sofitel New York. We are glad you felt “at home”, and enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and all the facilities we are offering.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Sofitel New York. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout the world.
Sincerely,
Magali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Montreal, Canada
22
Reviewed October 11, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel atmosphere amazing , reception staff well trained and always smiling, They always try to help the guests. The only thing is the price of hotel expensive, The rest of it awesome. Its close to centre where you can get easily reach most of places. Next time my next stop will be sofitel ny.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyager I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and that our staff was helpful. We are looking forward to your return at the Sofitel New York, on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Magali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 473 in New York City
3,842 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 473 in New York City
3,770 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 473 in New York City
3,929 reviews
Midtown
Novotel New York Times Square
Novotel New York Times Square
#134 of 473 in New York City
5,953 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#115 of 473 in New York City
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#61 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $258 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing