We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality, very expensive,”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #65 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“High quality, very expensive,”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as it is conveniently located next to our HO in NYC. I was upgraded to a suite (this is the first time in many stays there that I have been upgraded) on 27th floor. Room was outstanding. Much better than basic room. Bed, space, ambience were all excellent. However the price, nearly 500 dollars after taxes seems excessive for a hotel with no special features and not worth it for a bed for the night. The bar is pleasant but nothhing special. The restaurant is pleasant but nothing special and the prices are ridiculous. I have eaten many times in the restaurant. Again quality is excellent however prices are crushing.

Room Tip: There are many hotels in NYC that are better at the same price. Top end should mean top end features...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank very much for sharing your experience at the Sofitel New York. We really appreciate the very nice comment you leave about our facilities, and we are glad you enjoyed the upgrade.
We regret that you considered our room rate too high. However we believe that we are competitive in the market and we always look for being within the market prices, September is a month with a lot of events like Fashion Week or the UNGA with a high demand and consequently increasing prices.
For your future trip in New York, during those kinds of periods, we will suggest you to book a room in advance to benefit of nice special offers.

We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York, for your future visit in the City.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,143
    1,706
    391
    130
    66
See reviews for
1,091
2,931
349
884
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (710)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Metro Washington DC Area
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed here for my son's first trip to NYC. The location is absolutely fantastic. Close enough to Times Square for my son's liking, far enough away for our liking. It was a wonderful hotel to come back to after spending 8+ hour traipsing around the city. The room was spotless and the maid did a great job. The cot for my son was a little saggy - but it was better than having him squeeze into bed with us. The concierge staff was very patient with all of our questions. My only complaint is that a pre-theater dinner reservation wasn't initially made, but a concierge on duty later quickly took care of that. We got a great deal through the hotel's website - I don't know if I'd be so enthusiastic at the $600+ per night some other reviewers mention. I will definitely be back on my next trip to NY.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinaR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Sofitel New York. You are pleased to hear your son and yourselves enjoyed the location of the hotel, right in the middle of Manhattan.
However, please accept again our apologies for the pre-theater dinner reservation, but I am delighted to hear our concierge find a great solution for you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon at the Sofitel New York.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a nice place but in my view overpriced. I spent one night in this hotel last week and found it comfortable. The room was spacious enough, comfortable and clean, and I don't really have a negative thing to say about this hotel. However, you would not expect the room rate at way over $600 per night. I have stayed in many hotels in NY and find the price is not justified. There are better alternatives with comparable rooms and luxury, at lower rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathrin_78_Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTito, General Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel New York. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations.
We regret that you considered the value for money ratio unsatisfactory, we believe that we are competitive in the market and we always look for being within the market prices, I would suggest that next time you book in advance and I am sure you will find better offers. September is a month with a lot of events in the city and with a high demand and consequently prices increase.
We hope that you will consider staying at Sofitel New York again so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known around the world.


Sincerely,

Jorge Tito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked the Softel because of all the positive reviews and for it's great location. We were not disappointed at all. The foyer and reception area is very well laid out and decorated beautifully. The staff were very polite and courteous, check-in-check out was a breeze and we also got upgraded to a superior room. The room was spacious enough and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was very clean with a great walk-in shower and bathtub.
The Gaby bar was also very nice and a great place to have a relaxing drink to finish the day off. We would definitely consider staying here again. The hotel is advertised as a luxury hotel and in many ways it was, but one small observation was that the iron and ironing board were quite cheap and if you leaned too hard the pattern from the board pressed through onto your clothes. Slightly annoying. However I suppose I'm being a bit nitpicky. Overall we had a lovely relaxing stay and had a ball visiting all that Manhattan has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms facing either way are very quiet. We had no issues at all with excess noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at the Sofitel New York.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the reception and had a great experience with us despite the problem you encounter with the ironing board. We will let know the room department about your comment, which is very valuable for us.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at the Sofitel New York.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

From the helpful, considerate staff (thank you, Roger) to the accommodations (oh those linens!) to the location, the Sofitel in midtown Manhattan is the perfect place to rest your weary body after a day in the city. Even with the ever-present city noise (there were even jackhammers outside the hotel the day we were there), the interior of the hotel was quiet, refined and relaxing. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallasbsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that Roger was a great help, we will share your great comments with him.
We are glad you enjoyed the calm the hotel offer in this great city!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I need to clarify that I have not stayed at this location. I stayed at a nearby hotel on 44th that I didn't love and was looking for a hotel for a future trip. I walked to the front desk and asked about the room size. She immediately asked someone to show me 3 different rooms in the hotel. The young lady was so accommodating. It seems as if service was Impeccable at least by the desk staff. I was surprised to see negative reviews based on my experience. I saw the queen, king and a suite. All above the 16th floor. It was very quiet inside the rooms on the upper floors. They were clean with modern amenities. They were wonderful size by New York standards with generous bathrooms having showers and tubs. The prices were also within New York standards for this type of hotel. The lobby was elegant but also quiet. Perfect for business or personal travel. I have stayed all over the city and was excited to find this gem of a hotel....can't wait to stay here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rsprenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write this really nice comment, especially while you did not stay with us.
We are delighted to see we made such a great impression to you and we are really looking forward to welcoming you very soon, and showing you the service for which we are known around the world.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Sofitel on 3 occasions and have always enjoyed my stay.

The location is excellent, within walking distance of many sights. The staff have always been helpful and nothing seems like too much trouble.

On one occasion, it was my Birthday when I visited and I arrived back to my room to discover complimentary chocolates, a Birthday card and a small bottle of bubbly - very kind and unexpected.

The hotel restaurant was lovely but quite expensive and I would recommend eating out for breakfast.

The standard rooms are on the small side but this is normal for New York. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite on one visit and the views were amazing as we had a balcony though many rooms do not have great views due to the close proximity of other buildings.

Free wi-fi in lobby and plenty of seating to relax there too. Rooms clean and of good quality. Bathrooms in good condition.

I love this hotel and will always try to stay here when in New York. The only downside is the price as it is not the cheapest !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lou1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magali S, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel New York, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Sofitel New York for your Birthday celebration, we were very glad to be part of it, and it was our great pleasure to make that day special to you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your future stay in New York.

Sincerely,
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 466 in New York City
3,616 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,594 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,928 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#42 of 466 in New York City
3,476 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing