We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best hotels we have stayed in New York.”
Review of Sofitel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel New York
Ranked #64 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“One of the Best hotels we have stayed in New York.”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have stayed in many hotels NY but none can compare to the staff at Sofitel. No attitude at all. Excellent service from the time you leave the taxi until you vacate the premises.
Housekeeping was outstanding they provided immediate service and didn't leave anything unturned. Whenever we needed wine glasses or anything else it was prompt. Bottled water was left on our night stand-nice touch. Security came up immediately when my key wasn't working and my feet were too sore from walking to bother going down stairs. Nice guy!
We had friends who are in the restaurant/ hotel business on Long Island and the felt it was great as well. Advised them it was our anniversary and there was a treat left there. Matress was too soft and lumpy for my liking, however, we thought we would ask if there was anything they could do on our second night so they replaced it! Many French speaking staff-Sofitel is a European hotel. Even the shampoos were ones that I would use-L'Occitane products.
Location the best! We were so close to 5th avenue. Go to 200 5th Avenue-it's called Eataly-its a warehouse with various booths celebrating Italian heritage. There is a proscuito stand; cheese etc.

Room Tip: When I booked the hotel I requested a possible upgrade. They advised me they would make a note of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank notaholidayToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,071
    1,688
    385
    127
    66
See reviews for
1,070
2,888
343
868
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waukee, IA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed 4 nights for business. Nice room – smaller but clean and nicely furnished. Very comfortable bed. Great bathroom with large glass-enclosed shower. All staff very friendly and helpful. Beautiful lobby. MId-town east location close to Time Square but on quieter street. Good restaurants nearby, Duane Reade a block away for snacks, etc. Rate was average for this type of hotel in mid-town. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLW6407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Wonderful hotel in a wonderful location. Some of the rooms have spectacular views of Midtown. The staff is excellent providing first rate service. I have stayed there every year for 10 years. It's always a treat.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaryLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights ..... very very nice hotel. It was our 20th anniversary and they surprised us with a special desert plate of chocolate dipped strawberries and brownie cake! We were in a King suite room -- lovely amenities, staff was amazing -professional, classy. The Gaby bar/lounge restaurant is high class -- with drinks they serve olives, nuts, munchies to you nonstop --- cabs come by out front very fast ... location is super! Close to 5th Ave shopping, diamond district, Times Square, St Patricks cathedral -- everywhere. Lovely bed linens. We wanted a fan and they brought us one immediately. Service there is superb. Worth every penny there. Bath linens are large and thick -- robe in closet, slippers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here 6 nights from May 28 to Jun 3, 2012 and found the hotel superb!
Location: Great location. Just two straight blocks from Times Square but it's far enough to avoid the busy and unpleasant atmosphere. Three main subways around - Grand Central, 42th street Port Authority and Bryant Park. All withing walking distance. Many nice and reasonable-priced restaurants nearby.
Service: All staffs(the front desks, the cashiers, the concierges, the maids, the bell men, the bartenders, the waiters etc) are well-trained and have both good attitude and service-mind. They were all proper and very efficient.
Dining: Had breakfast 2 days at Gaby and also ordered room service. Foods were of high-quality and standard and above all these very delicious (do not taste like hotel foods but more like good restaurants)!
I paid about $345+++ to $475+++ a night (not the same rate everyday) and that worth every dollar!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel for our first trip to NY and really enjoyed the central location. The daily bottles of water in the room were a nice touch. We only used the hotel as a base as we were out & about all day but the room was comfortable and we enjoyed the powerful shower. A tip to smokers: it's one of the only NY hotels that allows smoking in rooms but only at floors 28-30 (superior rooms). As the weather wasn't very nice, it was nice to be able to smoke indoors & sitting after having walked miles.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Positive: A nice touch was the fruitplate for our honeymoon in our room and that we got a room on the 29th floor so we had a good view. Concierge Service was nice.

Negative: We were staying at Sofitel in Munich and Berlin, Germany before, i have to say its a total difference, the rooms at Sofitel NY are not as close luxurious as the ones in Germany and the staff is not very warm and welcoming (for instance when i arrived in my wedding dress on ,no one was there to open the door). All you pay for is the view, definately not the room. Beeing that we live in NY and have the view all the time i wish we wouldve picked another hotel! Saturday we were out of the room until 4 or 5 pm and when we came back the room was not cleaned (we didnt leave the Do not disturb sign on!). I work for hotels and this is not acceptable for the price we paid (about $420 a night)! Later an attendant came we told her to fix the room at 8 pm, but then we went out at 6pm and i told the Front desk clerk to clean the room right now instead of 8pm. Well, when we came back nothing happened. I had to call front desk again and then finally the maid came up. This shouldnt happen and i dont think Sofitel NY can meet the Standards of Sofitel Europe. Another thing is that we tried to call the front desk and housekepping and could never get a hold of anyone, the only one we got on the phone was the concierge. Its very upsetting for us because it was our wedding weekend and we expected to have a good experience since we trusted the Sofitel Brand... Definately will not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiningstar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Midtown
Andaz 5th Avenue
Andaz 5th Avenue
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel New York

Property: Sofitel New York
Address: 45 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in comfort and convenience, this thirty-story building in midtown Manhattan-a contemporary statement in limestone and glass-is just a stone's throw from Fifth Avenue. The modern-day traveler will enjoy the amenities on offer at this fine establishment, set within easy reach of Manhattan's most celebrated attractions. These include Times Square, Broadway theaters, world-famous restaurants, famous boutiques, art museums and corporate headquarters. Good access to transportation links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel New York Hotel New York City
Sofitel New York City
New York City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing