We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #112 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is just perfect for a sight seeing tourist like myself.
What really wowed me was the fact Times Square is full of hustle and bustle and very noisy. But as soon as you enter the hotel there is silence!
The service is basic, but standards in the hotel were fantastic. Very clean room and comfy beds. Huge hotel so can understand the lack of service.
Will definitely stay again!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Carterthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Carterthetraveller,

Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel. We do try to offer first class service to our guests. I am pleased you found our hotel very comfortable and an oasis form the Times Square excitement. On behalf of our staff thank you for choosing us.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,371 - 3,377 of 6,979 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

We are a family of 4 with 2 teenagers and we stayed here for a week. The Queen size beds in the rooms were perfect for us to share beds, but still have plenty of room! The hotel is in the center of all the madness, but you can't hear a thing from the room and the view of the city was beautiful. We walked to broadway show everynight...location was perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank jasonbD1458KQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear JasonbD1458KQ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased that you enjoyed all that New York has to offer and our property met all of your needs. We appreciate this feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is our first trip to New York City; Love the location, it is in the middle of everything a tourist would want to see or do with limited time. Ripley’s believe it or Not Museum is steps away as well as Madame Toussauds Wax Museum. Chain restaurants were Dean and Buster, Apple Bee's, literally next door. Red Lobster and Ruby Tuesdays are down the street also, Cold stone ice cream and Dallas Barbecue across the street. My husband and I picked up one of the free subway maps available at the hotel which also has a map of the city on the other side and walked everywhere; through Times Square which was overwhelming because you literally have to push your way through the crowds of people on the street. We walked to the library, Bryant Park which is next to the library, Grand Central Station ( most of the tourist locations were a straight line for us), Macys, Herald Square area, Empire State Building, Rockerfeller Center, Time Warner Columbus Circle, Central Park and stumbled across the Frick Building.
Hotel: We arrived about 1:00 pm to the hotel and were able to check in early because our room was ready which I appreciated; we arrived in the city about 10:30 that morning and just did some site seeing. We were given a corner room on the 26th floor but I asked for a higher floor and the best they could do was a 31st floor corner room because nothing else was ready which I gladly accepted. The room was large- didn't feel cramped and the bathroom was a good size, I guess for New York with a sliding door. The view was not that spectacular for me. I could see a partial view of the Hudson River and I guess Lower Manhattan. I saw lots of buildings and roof tops but that's it. Probably needed to be above the 31st floor for those spectacular views other guest have raved about.
The room and entire floor was very quiet and could only hear sirens from the street. The one drawback was house keeping knocked on our door after 1:00 am waking us up, asking if we ordered foam pillows which I thought was strange, I called the front desk to inquire and was told someone had ordered foam pillows on our floor, the desk clerk apologized; I think house keeping should have known which guest ordered foam pillows rather than randomly knocking on doors.
I didn't have much interaction with the hotel staff other than the front desk clerk who didn't say much at all or thank us for being Hilton honor members like the other Hilton Hotels do in the other cities we've stayed at. I would not stay at this hotel again due to the large crowds of people on the street in and around this hotel. I've had the full Times Square Experience don't need to live through it again. Next month when we return we will stay in lower Manhattan to explore another side of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 478camenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear 478carmenw,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. Feedback such as yours is a vital element to our success and used to train our staff on what our guests expect of us.
We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments on our service in mind as we look to improve upon our service. We constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope your family will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I highly recommend the Hilton Times Square! Even though Times Square is extremely crowded 24/7, the lobby and rooms are high above the noise so it was a very quiet and pleasant oasis above the craziness.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Mark M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I’m glad you had a positive experience with us. We look forward to having you back with us.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We checked in to this hotel at 5:25 in the evening and were told that our room was NOT ready yet. After confirming that check-in was at 3:00 and we were well past that check in time, I stated I didn't understand how my room could not be ready yet if it was several hours beyond check in time. I was answered with, well we had people checking out late. So that becomes MY problem? Completely not acceptable, but Kenny - the guy checking me in could care less. This place is definitely lacking in customer service. We stayed for 2 nights - the day after we checked in, we were out and about and didn't get back to room at about 10:30 pm...and quite surprised to find that our room was not cleaned and the beds were not made. Upon contacting management, no one had an aswer as to why other than to say "sorry". I had to recheck that this was actually a Hilton and not just some fly by night motel we were staying at. We have stayed at Hilton brand hotels in the past - but have never had a stay like this one.

Not sure how old the beds are either - but they are really not comfortable at all. I was so looking forward to having a nice comfy bed to come back to after a long day of walking around the City, but that didn't happen - definitely disappointed. The room itself was a nice size, as well as the bathroom. The location - well, that has to be the only good thing (in our eyes) about this hotel as it is right on 42nd street and an easy walk to anywhere you would like to go. Just be prepared though for busy streets as it does get crowded, but that's to be expected.

Next time we will be packing our bags and staying elsewhere - even if it wasn't for the first 2 snags we had, the comfort of the beds alone would make me keep on looking for another place to stay - where the staff would (hopefully) at least pretend to want you there and want to earn your business time and again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Giovanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Joanne73,

Thank you for posting your experience with us on Tripadvisor. These comments give us a chance to improve the service our team provides to our guests. I apologize that you did not receive the high quality customer service you have come to expect from Hilton. If you could provide further details of your reservation and what Manager you spoke with regarding your issues it would help me with pinpointing where the breakdown occurred and we could address that with the staff.

We deeply value your business and realize that there are many other locations to choose from. We hope that you would consider the Hilton Times Square again and give us a change to turn your opinion of us around. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel stay was an absolute A+!!!! From the time we pulled up to the valet to the time we left!!! Room was clean and spacious and in a perfect location. All staff we encountered were courteous and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cavazos8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynell L, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Cavazos8,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I’m glad you found our staff to be friendly and you enjoyed the views from your room. We look forward to having you back with us.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The singular most helpful staff in NYC, Raquel on Front Desk was a joy and the smile that Jasmine possess can remove jet lag and tension in a heartbeat, you just know you'll be looked after, both very professional, both very human, thanks !

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Mkharty,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am pleased that you enjoyed all that New York has to offer and our property met all of your needs. I appreciate your kind words regarding Raquel and Jasmine. They are aware of your comments and truly touched by this acknowledgement. We appreciate your feedback. We deeply value your patronage and hope that you choose to stay with us again.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@htsnewyork.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,332 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,222 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 469 in New York City
9,825 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#173 of 469 in New York City
11,300 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $175 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing