We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice romantic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #104 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hatboro, PA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice romantic weekend”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on a recent weekend when we had plans at Jazz at Lincoln Center. This turned out to be a great location for that on a very rainy weekend, as we were able to take the subway from the hotel to Columbus Circle and back, quickly and with little exposure to the rain. The hotel itself was also a lovely experience - aside from the big comfortable bed, the room featured interesting art, and the room was well laid out, and the bathroom seemed recently renovated. The view was amazing - we could see all of southern Manhattan and also New Jersey. The staff was friendly and accommodating, and the hotel bar had just the right vibe for a nice drink before we retired for the night. We really appreciated how the housekeeping staff cleaned and re-stocked the room as we were in and out exploring the city throughout the day. It was a comfortable, romantic weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Sshannon,

Thank you for taking time to share this feedback. I am happy you enjoyed your room views, location of the hotel and our associates to be friendly and helpful. On behalf of our staff thank you for choosing us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,911
    2,050
    503
    148
    101
See reviews for
1,895
2,084
286
1,111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Top location right in the heart of Times Square. Good sized rooms for a family of 4 with nice comfortable beds. Quick and efficient check in. The only negative I found was the wifi. It was free in the lobby but not in the rooms but we all had lots of problems logging on over the 4 days we stayed there and the wifi kept defaulting to the paid version not the free one. This needs sorted. Otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTraveller063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear GlobalTraveller063,

Thank you for your comments. We value every guest's feedback and opinion and your response will help us continue to fulfill our commitment to provide excellent customer service and superior guest experience. We hope that you will stay with us again to allow us another opportunity to "wow" you during your stay!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a brilliant hotel with a great location. And when you need a good rest it's very quiet!
Great views of New York. At night the lit up sky lines are breathtaking.
Staff are very attentive (but not over attentive!).
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pst1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Pst1968,

Thank you for the 5-star review! I am genuinely appreciative that you choose us when traveling to the New York City area. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay! We certainly appreciate the recommendation! We look forward to the next time your visit!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Hilton Times Square is incredibly convenient because it is located in the heart of Times Square. This makes it an easy walk from Penn Station, all Broadway Theatres, many of the best restaurants (we walked to Le Bernardin and ABC Kitchen) and it's right next to a subway station if the weather is crummy. It's two blocks from the 8th Avenue Shake Shack - which makes it easy to take your meal to go instead of trying to fight for space at a table. The rooms are large for Manhattan hotel rooms. Very comfortable bed. I like the side lit mirror in the bathroom and the side faucet. Friendly, helpful staff. We stay here routinely, even though I do not enjoy the tourist vibe of Times Square.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid noise, try to get a high floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Ann06,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am genuinely appreciative that you choose us when traveling to the New York City area. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay! Thank you for the complementary comments regarding our rooms, location, and staff. We look forward to the next time you visit. See you again soon!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I travel all over the world as a makeup artist. That enables me to stay in a wide array of hotels. I can honestly say, with this hotel being smack in Times Square, I really didn't expect much in the way of friendliness. I couldn't have been more wrong!! From the room manager making sure my room was exactly the way I requested, the bellman that went to USF (Im from Florida) to the front desk, to the lightening fast room service. I was blown away!! I truly believe this was the friendliest hotel I've ever stayed in. I can't thank you enough for making my stay in New York City better than I could've ever imagined! Trust me, I'll be staying with you for every trip up to NY. Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank makeup_pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Makeup_pro,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are thrilled that you felt welcomed and well taken care of as our guest here. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is quite nice. We had a 3 day stay and really enjoyed it. Super clean rooms, comfortable bed with great pillows and covers. Didn't even bother me that I didn't bring my pillow from home! You can't beat the location on it. It's in the heart of Times Square so you walk out the door and have NYC at your finger tips! I would definitely stay here again. Only negative I can think is you have to take an elevator from ground level and there's only two that take you up which can create a bottleneck to get into the hotel itself. Once in the lobby it's no problem - there's 6 elevators to take you to your room from there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear John P,

Thank you for your time in sharing your experience with me. I am happy to see we were able to take care of your needs and that your stay was enjoyable overall. Thank you again for choosing us and for your time in writing this feedback.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

As a Hilton Honors member I normally count on their properties exceeding my expectations. Especially a property costing over $500.00 a night. Unfortunately, the Hilton Times Square was not the experience I was hoping for when I took my family to NYC for the weekend. Overall the hotel was just Ok. The location is a block or so Off Times Square yet it's priced as if you have Time Square views. The bar has a below average atmosphere and is definitely understaffed. The concierge was hard to find. I was told she would be in by 9 am..then told she wasn't coming in until noon..then told she was still running late and didn't arrive until close to 1 PM. She then promised to research something for us and leave a message for us in our room..which never happened. The room upon check in had 3 flies in it that we had to kill and room cleaning never occurred till we called to complain at 5 PM. We will definitely choose another property on our next trip to the city.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Jeff C,

Please accept our sincerest apologies for your experience at our hotel. It is extremely disheartening and disappointing that we did not exceed your expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate department managers and we will certainly improve our product and service so that we can hopefully "wow" you on your next visit. We hope you will provide us with that opportunity in the future.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,008 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,921 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 466 in New York City
9,488 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#148 of 466 in New York City
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Property: Hilton Times Square
Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing