We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #110 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband said it was the most comfortable hotel bed he's ever slept on. Everything was great. We enjoyed our stay and the location was great. The staff was responsive. We have stayed at several hotels in the Time Square area. This one is a little further down than we were used to (42nd St) but it was still very close to all the action of Time Square.

Room Tip: Our room looked onto 42nd street. It was great and our room as high enough that we didn't hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,054 - 4,060 of 6,995 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel was ok.
the housekeeping do amazing job. the GM took my notices very well. the receptionist was nice, the bell boy was very attentive and so the door man outside.

room was ok, but I was disappointed that they did not give complimentary water. only for HHH gold. the weird thing is I stayed there twice. sometimes they send me waters when I asked, and the last time I came there the phone operator was a woman. and I asked my sister to call.

She said "hi can I have bottled of water?" the operator said "ok"

then in the 15 mins none send it. she called again and the female operator said ok again.
then never come till I am the one who called and said this "hi, my sister been calling beside me asking for water and it never came. can I asked for it again?" she sighed and said this "look mam, water is only given for hhh gold honor member. but Its ok, I will close my eyes and send you one, ok??" and I said "wonderfull, thank you"

and yes it never came. so my question is, if you cant give me water, you can simply said you cant, rather than yes I will but it never delivered.

I was actually very happy with this hotel. but this water thing leave me 3 star mark.

water did not costs much, really, the most is 1 bucks one bottle. and 2 bottle a night there wont make them bankrupt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beautifulmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad N, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Greetings from the Hilton Times Square!

I’m writing to you regarding your most recent visit with The Hilton Times Square. Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor review. We are constantly trying to make our team stronger, and in our effort towards continuously improving, your feedback is priceless.

I'm embarressed to hear about the issues that you experienced at our hotel. I can assure you that we will be looking into what happened and to see where the ball was dropped. As I'm sure you can image, the incident you described is far from the top notch service that we are known for. If you would be so kind as to e-mail me at your convenience (cnathan@hts-nyc.com) I have no doubt we can make the situation right and we can learn exactly what happened to help prevent it from happening to future guests.

We understand that you have a choice while traveling, and we thank you for making the Hilton family of Hotels, and our Hilton, your choice. I look forward to hearing back from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in Times Square for four days in September and on a first visit to New York it made the trip memorable. The hotel was excellent throughout and no reason to complain. The view from our room on 40th floor over 41st was excellent. Would recommend to anyone - well worth it and right in the middle of everything - Time Square and theatre all within easy walking distances (5-10 mins)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent hotel in the heart of Times Square. Excellent room, comfortable beds, top notch TV, etc. IF there was any down side it would be parking but then again you are in the heart of Times Square so if you drive into the city use the hotels valet parking and forget about the car until you leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfb281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The unpleasant part of the stay:
I stayed at the Hilton Times Square for three nights - including the weekend - for a conference. This hotel is huge and was crawling with tourists (tour busses spewing out tourists in matching outfits, clogging up the lobby and looking like deer in headlights). This hotel could use a facelift and is looking a bit shabby. The bed could have used replacing, too, and was not what I expect when paying a good chunck of money for a room. Wireless cost $15 per day - despite my Hilton "Honors" Membership. I needed my colleagues to work on their computers in my room at night and each person had to pay the $15.00 Internet fee - even though they had paid for service in their own rooms! My Internet bill was crazy. Hey Hilton, get in the 21st century and quit nickel and dimeing your guests with Internet fees! >:-(

The nice part of the stay:
The conference accommodations were very good - nice breakfast and lunch buffets served by attentive and courteous staff, good technical support (but no wireless!). Housekeeping staff and desk staff were very pleasant. The rooms were clean and large by NYC standards. There were no connecting doors so the room was very quiet (but this could just be considerate neighbors). The Hilton is in an ideal location - half a block from the action of Times Square but away from the craziness for a good sleep.

Bottom line:
I've stayed in nicer hotels in Times Square for less.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29Teddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chad N, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear 29Teddy,

Greetings from the Hilton Times Square! We greatly appreciciate the time you took to post your response. We are constantly trying to make our team stronger, and in our effort towards continuously improving, your feedback is priceless.

I am happy to report that our Sky Lobby in currently being rennovated and should be done by the middle of October. It will have a much more up-to-date atmosphere and flow. We do also offer complimentary internet in the lobby.

I would like to apologize if your bed was uncomfortable. Our mattresses are less than one year old because of our recent rooms renovation. If it's not too much trouble, would you be able to message me so I could correct the issues that you experienced?

We understand that you have a choice while traveling, and we thank you for making the Hilton family of Hotels, and our Hilton, your choice. Please let me know if and when you plan to return to the Square, nothing would make me happier than keeping a special eye on your accommodation. I look forward to hearing back from you, and all of us look forward to serving your future travel needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just stayed 3 nights here and will certainly be back. Great rooms, awesome views, fantastic location, superb service. Four of us stayed in two rooms - one king, one double. Both on 33rd floor. One facing south toward Empire State Building and Freedom Tour, other facing north toward Times Square. No issues with street noise. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Pay for deluxe to get 33rd floor or higher for fabulous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripper9930330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for a week and honestly enjoyed our week here. Check-in was effortless, the rooms were spacious and the toilets and amenities were fantastic.
We stayed in a king corner room (at a supplement) and had a fantastic room on the 29th floor with great views of the Empire State Building.The room itself was spotlessly clean, and the maid service was great, with the rooms changed and cleaned daily. Large LED flat-screen TV with loads of channels and a free safe for guests use. Only gripe being that the WiFi was chargeable at $13.99-$17.99 per 24 hours which I thought was excessive and should have been included within the rate. That cost is also per device - so if you have a laptop, iPad, iPhone you will need to pay that rate for each device, a bit much really. WiFi is free in the lobby, but most nights too overcrowded to browse with any degree of privacy.
Hotel location is spot on, right bang in the middle of 42nd St. Madame Tussauds, Ripley's Believe it Or Not, The Cake Boss Bakery and 3 cinemas are all on the same street and you can walk to each in under 5 minutes. The hotel is also well situated for all main subway lines and we caught the subway on most days to explore the island. You can also walk to the Empire State Building, Macy's, Broadway and Times Square easily too.
If you're looking for a hotel with everything on your doorstep, then this is the hotel for you. Clean, excellent staff and very modern welcoming rooms made out stay worth remembering. Just prepare yourself for when you step outside as you are swept into a frenzy of people on some nights and this can take a bit of getting used to!

Room Tip: High floor corner room will afford you the best views. Would recommend 2902.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark9874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,343 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#187 of 469 in New York City
8,235 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 469 in New York City
9,837 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#172 of 469 in New York City
11,316 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#91 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $175 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing