We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location- lower floor rooms beware!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #104 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Preston,Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location- lower floor rooms beware!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights, location is excellent , central to most things and seconds away from the subway stop. On our reservation we requested a high floor and a room away from the elevators, we were checked in to a low floor room (although the rooms only start on the 24th floor) in a room next to the elevator! our first room was quite noisy due to air conditioning fans below, the morning after we were moved to a much higher floor, no noise from outisde at all. Rooms have been reburbished to a high standard and are very spacious, the majority of the staff are helpful although some of the front desk staff seem to treat you as an inconvienience!!

Breakfast was somewhat spoilt by the extremely loud renevation works in the lobby meaning that we could not have a conversation over breakfast, I'm sure a bit of thought and consideration for their customers would have ensured that they didnt start the construction work until breakfast had been finished each morning

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gb_super
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,356
    1,780
    411
    122
    87
See reviews for
1,553
1,776
251
961
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are spacious and clean with very comfortable beds. There was plenty of choice at breakfast. Whilst we were there the breakfasts not as peaceful as the hotel was having renovations in the area. But the work progressed quickly so all was quiet on the last morning of our stay.
Location is very central in Times Square so it is a very very busy area. It may be something to consider before booking.
The staff were all very helpful. However the Concierge was asked to arrange a cab for our daughters to get to JFK airport but they ended up paying 64 Dollars and then the cab driver demanded a tip. He wouldn't unlock the doors even when my daughter told him the Concierge had said it would be 64 Dollars including a tip! He only let them out when they said they had no more Dollars. We took a yellow cab to the airport to drop check in our bags earlier in the day as we were going to the tennis prior to leaving our cab was a lot less! So be warned the cab drivers can be grumpy and scary!
Overall good hotel and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

An excellent choice for a visit to New York, walk to the corner and you are in Times Square!
The rooms are generously proportioned and we had a lovely view of the Empire State. All the staff we met were a credit to Hilton, especially Richard (from Southampton) on the front desk and if you want the best places to eat just ask the concierge, his recommendations never let us down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location is outstanding in Times Square. It is very convenient for the subway and Port Authority. The front desk was very responsive. I arrived a few hours before the check-in time and they gave me a room immediately. The room was very nice.

The only negatives were the remodeling project messing up the lobby and creating noise as well as having to take two elevators as the lobby is many floors off the ground.

Upon leaving, I checked a bag in as I was spending most of that day in NYC. The workers on the first floor were very prompt in retrieving my bag. The staff did an excellent job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan3961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirk Ella;Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

One of the best location in Times Square, close to all travel links, friendly staff, spacious and clean rooms good facilities over all. Only thing which we did not like was use of two separate lifts to get to your room, one for the lobby other one for the rooms

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Zahid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you are here in NYC for a short trip and wants to cover many places. Here is the place to be. Location is great. Room is very clean. Bed is comfortable. Staff is very friendly. We got free internet but didn't have a chance to try their breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaiyosart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Overall, the hotel is fine--didn't appreciate being located one floor above the remodeling project. Maybe with a non-cancellable reservation, they felt they could do it. First Hilton brand I've had to pay for internet in a long time as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#53 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,610 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#137 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,276 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Sq...
#75 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#159 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 7,051 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,226 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#213 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Property: Hilton Times Square
Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing