We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great improvements to an excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #107 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great improvements to an excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Have been staying at the Hilton Times Square several times a year since it opened about 12 years ago. It's always been a great place to stay, the rooms are clean and the security is excellent. They just completed a remodeling project that really steps their rooms up to a similar euro modern decor and comfort of much the more expensive boutique hotels in NYC.

Great improvements Hilton Times Square as you continue to be my favorite NYC hotel.... I also like the Marriott Grand Marquis!

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnunitedair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,708
    1,955
    470
    138
    98
See reviews for
1,776
1,996
269
1,041
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel twice and the service here is always the best. The hotel staff will go out of their way to assist you in almost anything you ask for. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a pleasant stay in New York

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank swerve2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is smack in th e centre of all the action. I love gong to movies, so it was perfect to me as it was basically next door. My room was quite high up, so I did not hear any New York traffic sounds. The food was good at the hotel and service.

Room Tip: Get a room high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BartZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I travel a lot for work and pleasure and stopped in varying levels of accommodation. The Hilton Times Square is one of the best all rounders I have stayed in.

The rooms are very spacious, brilliant for New York, and I had an amazing view of the city and the Empire State building from my room.

Staff were friendly and very helpful.

I would definitely recommend and would like to stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Empire State building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philpot400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Positives: Huge room with ample outlets for recharging. Good lighting for reading in bed or in chair or desk. Coffee-maker, refrigerator. Great bed. Really nice towels and bed linens. Rooms start on 23rd floor and are very quiet even though they front on 42nd St. Great location with steps to subway to anywhere in city. Nice staff. Really fast elevators.
Why not 5 stars? Restaurant and bar were exorbitantly priced. Only free wifi is in lobby. Wifi in room is 13.99 per day per device. Business center charges for use of computers, except to print out boarding passes. If they would slightly raise room rates and throw in some freebies, it would be a much better experience.
Overall, a good stay if you can get a good deal. We paid 207 per night for a king room in June. Same room in November is over 400 when I asked about a return visit. Would definitely stay here again if I could get a good price.

Room Tip: I would guess all rooms are quiet. Rooms have great views looking either North or South.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajwhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

As a frequent business traveler I'm in a hotel somewhere most weeks and I have never had a better hotel experience than we had at the Hilton Times Square. We stayed at the famous Essex House hotel the night prior to our 3 nights at the Hilton, and the location, room accommodations, and staff at the Hilton were all much, much better.

The staff were amazing, ALL of them! The bellhop's, front desk, concierge, meal servers, bar tender, and housekeeper (we had the same housekeeper each day and she was exceptionally nice and patient with our sleeping in!) were just as friendly and accommodating as the Front Desk Manager (who personally saw to it that our stay was extra special) was.

I had received an email from the front desk manager prior to arriving in which he introduced himself and asked if there was anything he could do in advance to make our stay more pleasant. I replied and told him we were celebrating our anniversary, and when we arrived we had a really nice (and delicious) surprise waiting for us. It was a very nice touch that added to an otherwise exceptional stay.

Our room on the 42nd floor (4202) was huge compared to the room at Essex House and was completely updated. We would have thought the entire hotel was brand new if we didn't know otherwise. We had a great view of the Empire State and 1 World Trade buildings and of the Hudson from our side, and the rooms on the other side most likely had great views of Times Square. The elevators are plentiful and fast, which is something you will appreciate if you're room is on one of the higher floors. The lobby is on the 22nd floor, so all of the rooms are at view height I'm guessing.

As far as location goes, we thought it was perfect. Right in the heart of the Times Square action, next door to the wax museum (which was a blast) and within a block of the subway trains.

Overall an amazing experience at a property that completely deserves the 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Our (even numbered) corner room was large and had windows on the South side with an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, Vermont
Level Contributor
191 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night. It is situated just off Times Square, within walking distance of all of the major attractions. The rooms have been recently renovated, but were a bit small compared to other Hiltons. The bed was very comfortable and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was also very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,697 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Property: Hilton Times Square
Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing