We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to TQS attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #106 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Close to TQS attractions”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The location of the hotel is what attracted us to this hotel (and I try to keep all my points at Hiltons). Room was decent size for a NYC hotel. Bar closes too early for NYC hotel and was very pricey - $24 for a double vodka and tonic!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubansamHouston_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing a review via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback on the pricing and allocation of our hotel and amenities and we will keep your comments on our bar service in mind as we constantly adjust to best fit our guests needs. We are glad you found our location to be convenient for your activities in the city and we hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in New York.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,909
    2,043
    503
    148
    101
See reviews for
1,893
2,081
286
1,109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived shortly after two o'clock and were pleasantly surprised that two of the three reserved rooms were ready for check-in. Unfortunately, by four o'clock the third room still wasn't ready yet and we needed to be ready for a surprise party at 5:45. Finally we were able to get in about 4:15. The other issue to be aware of is that you will not be able to catch a cab at 5:30 on a Saturday in front of the hotel. The bellman told us to walk to 6th Ave to catch our cab to Rockefeller Center and sure enough there were plenty of empty cabs there.

The should rethink the lobby entrance- there are only two elevators to get from the street to the lobby and when there are large groups (which was a lot) there's a big traffic jam of people. They're clearly aware of the problem though because we were escorted to the service elevator and a huge group of us were able to get to the street level that way!

Our room was clean and neat. The view (28th floor) looked to the river and we could see a bit of the street scene. The room was very quiet though which was nice. The bathroom is standard, nothing fancy. I did like the bath products that they have.

We didn't eat in the restaurants but did have a drink in the bar. Definitely NYC prices in the bar, so be prepared. They were well-made cocktails and there was a nice selection of beer and wine. They don't have ginger beer so they can't make a "dark and stormy" but the "Bees Knees" was delicious.

The location is key here. Everything is near by and we enjoyed being able to get out and see Times Square at all times. My husband and I had a lovely walk back from Rockefeller Center as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jloreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

nice room, very central, clean and renovated. good hot breakfast included for gold/diamond hhonors members. only gripe was movies on demand kept stopping day after day and despite request it never got fixed

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to maximise your view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in a room on the 26th Floor.The view was onto a concrete roof. If I went to the end of the window I could just about see the river. The bedrooms are a good size but the bathrooms are clean but need updating. Plenty of towels provided but bathrobes would be better instead of some of the towels. Only for the great location both me and my husband struggled to enjoy our stay at this Hilton as we feel it is not up to standard of other Hiltons we have stayed in. I think the Lobby area should be seperated from the bar/restaurant. As another reviewer stated I can understand a high rate for New Years Eve but not for the other nights that we stayed either side of NYE €500.00 per night (inc taxes)!!!

Room Tip: Have a look at the other reviews as the view from our room was not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulou336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynellL, Manager at Hilton Times Square, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input as new perspectives help us best serve our guests needs. We have heard you and guests like you who have commented on the condition of our guest rooms. You will be happy to know that we are currently renovating our guest rooms. We only hope after this update is completed in April, you chose to stay with us again and have the opportunity to see our property in it's best light. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality service and accommodations you deserve should you return to the city in the future.

Lynell Lovett
Administrative Operations Manager
lynell.lovett@hts-nyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Place was immaculate as was our room. Staff very helpful and courteous especially Peter A at the guest services desk.. Highly recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the Times Square area. Close to everything including the Times Square shuttle if coming into GCS..

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing south on an upper floor. Great view of City landmarks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Awesome place. Right in the middle of it all. Really. I think it was weird because as you enter in there is a little bellhop area and you have to take the elevator to the twenty third floor to the lobby. Interesting. Lobby area was well sized and nice. Free internet in lobby only. Breakfast was good. Subway really close by and an enormous but crowded Coldstone Creamery. Subway nearby and Time Square was too. Room was nice sized and bed was comfy. There is also a bar area. A lot of restaurants nearby and so was a two-story McDonald's (yuck!). Come here if you want to visit Times Square because this is the place to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for New Years Eve and it was great. Close to the Subway, convenient to shows and food.

Our primary purpose was to watch the ball drop in Times Square. Part of our group stayed in the room and we watched the ball from the streets in Time Square. Our group that stayed in the room was allowed to watch the ball drop from the side walk in front of the hotel.

The rooms were large (we had a double queen) for NYC standards. You can enter from 42nd but the lobby and the rooms are an elevator ride up. They provided us with a microwave which was nice of them. Across the hotel are several restaurants. We ate at BBQs which had large margaritas. The hotel is about a $10 Taxi ride from Penn station or 9 blocks. The subway is 1/2 a block away. The entrance is small and if taking a taxi you will need to have the address for the driver.
We also saw Spiderman which is across the street.
Everyone was very nice but it was very busy.

You can ask for a room on the Time Square side or Empire State building side.
Breakfast was good. We ordered for our party of 4...eggs, pancakes and juice. The orange and grapefruit juice as fresh squeezed. I wouldn't recommend the sausage no one liked it.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Double are a nice size. We were on the empire state building side which seemed to be adequate on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,002 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
7,908 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Times Square Central
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Tim...
#144 of 467 in New York City
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Property: Hilton Times Square
Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing