We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Was Nice, Price was a Different Issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Times Square
Ranked #110 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2008

Okay, upon arriving at this hotel, i was nicely greeted by the doorman who took my luggage to the bell stand and then was handed off to another bellman who took me up to the 19th floor to the Lobby.

Upon getting to the lobby, i was greeted by the front desk manager and was able to check in about 3 hours early.

I was given a corner room on the 39th floor that faced Times Square itself.

Very nice views of downtown and of the area.

However here is where the concern comes in.

The next morning, i went downstairs to the restaurant to get breakfast.

I waited at the stand for a few minutes, and since no one was at the desk to sit anyone i just got a seat for myself.

Since, i was only really thristy and wanted some fruit, i was asked if i had the breakfast voucher. I handed the guy the voucher and then was on my way.

Upon drinking my juice and banana i recieved a bill by the guy.

I looked in it, that so called juice and banana i had would of ordinarily cost me $20.50. Then there was a hand stamp on here saying (Gratuity not included) What gratuity, all i had was some juice and a banana.

I'd feel sorry for some other person with no voucher who wanted a bowl of cereal and some juice and had to pay $20.50.

Then, upon getting my bill, i noticed that the supposed $13.99 for the internet had actually turned into $15.70 with taxes included.

So you get the my sense of where i'm going with this.

I was just concerned with the price for a juice/banana and internet for one day would of ordinarily cost me over $35.00.

So just beware when staying at the hotel about the breakfast price and internet.

The fitness center is actually in a make-shift meeting room.

There are a couple of pieces of equipment to use but it would be a little embrassing in your workout clothes and have 100 people for a meeting outside the door talking and watching you workout.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank caneshockey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,754 - 5,760 of 6,995 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2008

This Hotel is amazing, the location is the best for a great base in NYC, the service was fantastic and the room was massive.
I am going to return to this hotel very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmafeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

My wife and I live in the NY area, and this is our choice for weekend visits into the city. Rooms are spacious for the area, service is always good (especially bell service & taxi). The hotel is SPOTLESS - from the lobby through the rooms, even during snowy / slushy periods. The other nice feature - the hotel is QUIET - no street or interior noise. Climate control is also very good. Easy to subway & transit. You can feel comfortable and at home here, and I never have to worry about having unfortunate problems when I'm trying to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank saw4332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

The Hilton Times Square is just steps away from 42nd and Broadway, and certainly in the heart of Times Square action. My daughter and I stayed here on Dad-daughter excursion to NYC. My personal preference is to sleep in a hotel away from Times Square, but for a teenager this was hard to beat. We were fortunate enough as frequent Hilton stayers to get a deluxe room (I think slightly bigger) and up on a high floor (the 42nd). Service was cheerful, though we didn't do a whole lot of interacting with the staff. The rate, considering typical NYC prices, was reasonable at about $230 a night.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryKarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We booked this hotel because of its location. It was in a fabulous spot. Right on 42nd and Times Square. The situation was ideal.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean. Check in was very quick and efficient and Concierge and the Bell boys were very helpful.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

We stayed at this hotel between 16th Feb and 21st Feb 2008. Hotel is very clean, spacious and comfortable. All staff were friendly and helpful especially the bell men at the entrance. They always met you with a smile and were more than happy to give directions and advice. Our room was on 42nd floor with the most amazing view of Empire State Building and the Statue of Liberty in the distance!! AMAZING!!!!!!!!! We can't wait to get the pictures developed!!!! The view was priceless!!! We travelled with 2 teenagers who absolutely loved the hotel. The room was clean with the most comfortable beds which had fresh linen on every day. They also liked the flat screen TV! The location was excellent with shops, restaurants and theatres right outside the door. We went to see Mary Poppins which was brilliant and only 3 doors away from the hotel. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArubaVisit0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Stayed here for a convention. In every way we felt taken advantage of. The hotel is so overpriced for what you get. It felt like a giant factory where no one really cared about us as guests.

Everything was extra. It is unbelievable that a hotel charges guests to use the hotel gym. Two years ago the hotel charged $12. Now they charge $18. That's a 50% increase. On their website, they mention that guests enjoy 24 hour access to the fitness centre but fail to mention that they charge $18 to use the facility.

To check a bag is $3.50 a service that most hotels even in New York do fo free. I left feeling taken advantage of and a bad taste in my mouth

Staying here has tarnished the Hilton name for me. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ikelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,343 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#187 of 469 in New York City
8,235 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 469 in New York City
9,837 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#172 of 469 in New York City
11,319 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Times Square

Address: 234 West 42nd Street, New York City, NY 10036-7215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Business Hotel in New York City
#47 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#91 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $175 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Times Square is a sleek, landmark New York City hotel that was built in 2000 and soars 44 stories above Manhattan. This upscale, full-service, 100% non-smoking, contemporary hotel is located on famous 42nd Street in the heart of Times Square, and is surrounded by Broadway theaters, lively nightlife, New York City’s best shopping and many restaurants and bars. Boasting a Modernistic façade and sweeping vistas of New York City’s famous skyline and the Hudson River, the hotel has been recently renovated and is the perfect hotel choice for business and leisure travelers seeking modern amenities while staying in the Big Apple’s best location.Hilton Times Square offers 460 of the largest standard size guestrooms in Midtown Manhattan, with spectacular panoramic views and high-end amenities. These spacious guestrooms have been recently renovated, start on the 23rd floor and are over 330 square feet. Deluxe guestrooms begin on the 33rd floor. All guestrooms are luxuriously appointed in soothing sand tones, 46-inch LED flat screen televisions, laptop size safe, and more. Additional amenities and services are available upon request. Also the Hilton Times Square hotel in New York include: -Over 5000 square feet of meeting space with city views-Restaurant Above, the hotel's Zagat-rated restaurant, is perched 21 stories above Times Square in the hotel lobby and offers notable American cuisine fused with fresh ingredients.-Pinnacle Bar is also located in the hotel lobby and overlooks Times Square.-Evening room service.-24-hour Fitness Center.-24-hour full service, automated Business Center.-Full-service Concierge desk, valet dry cleaning and valet parking available on 41st Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Times Square Hotel New York City
Hilton Hotel Times Square
Hilton New York City
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing