We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location poor house keeping”
Review of Conrad New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Conrad New York
Ranked #30 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Check in to the hotel was fast and efficient . The room had great views overlooking the Hudson River to New Jersey . The hotel has some interesting art in it but is a typically large business hotel with very little personal touch to your stay . There are numerous restaurants in the area and it's great walking along the river front in the morning . The hotel is a easy walk to the Metro and the world trade centre memorial and shops like century 21 .

The downside was the poor housekeeping that led to half empty bottles of water being put in our room , not sure who drank half the water . Amenities where not replaced until we asked and coffee was replaced but the milk was forgotten . The handle on the door of room 1424 was also loose and was never repaired . Having stayed at other Conrad properties this was not up to the usual high standards of Conrad hotels .

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JohnFinchPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,310 - 2,316 of 3,445 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

I spent a lot of time researching NYC hotels and kept going back and forth between the Trump and Four Seasons near Central Park and the Conrad and Ritz in the Battery Park area. I went with the Conrad because the rooms were modern, large, and the hotel itself was away from the bustle of Midtown. Leaving the chaos that is Midtown and entering the Conrad released so much stress every night - best choice I made.

That being said, it was freezing when I arrived and there was no one to help with my bags or hold the door for me. I decided that maybe they were busy helping other visitors. When I walked into the hotel, the greeting desk at the bottom of the escalator was also empty. Again I decided that maybe they were very busy.

Check in was easy and the front desk agent was very nice. Got into my room very early (used the Conrad app before my visit to inform the hotel I was arriving on a morning flight). The room itself was fabulous: 700+ sq. feet, completely modern, great bathroom/closets etc. Loved it.

After settling into my room, I went outside to catch a cab to Midtown. Again, there was no one available to assist me in hailing a cab. When I arrived back at the hotel that night, there was still no one outside of the hotel. I visited Atrio and waited 8 minutes for someone to acknowledge that I was waiting to be seated, only to be told that the restaurant was at capacity. I totally understood and ordered room service.

The next day I went back to Atrio and was seated after about 5 minutes by the bartender who noticed I had been standing at the entrance. When I was finally seated, there were only 3 tables with patrons that I could see. I noticed 2 members of staff by the kitchen area talking to each other which means they had nothing to do and could have seated me earlier.

When I was in the city, I noticed many lower end hotels had ample doormen and were even hailing cabs for people who didn't stay at their hotel. All in all, the Conrad has the potential to be a luxurious hotel if it invested more time in its staff and customer service. I'm not the overly spoiled uptight traveler, however I expect a certain level of service if a property is advertised as 5 star. If you're thinking about staying here, the rooms are amazing, the location is quiet and really beautiful, and there are some nice little restaurants nearby to give you a taste of NY without the chaos of Central Park. However, be mindful of the issues with customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Shanti,

Thank you for sharing this review of the Conrad New York Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed the guest suite accommodations and location of our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for any dissatisfaction in the level of customer service you received during your stay with us.. Your comments have been communicated with the appropriate departments to ensure they are addressed and not repeated in the future. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are NYC and we can provide you with the type of flawless service typically associated with the Conrad name.

Thank you,
Jimmy


Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Being an airline pilot for a major European flag carrier, I stay in a lot of different hotels, all ranging in the 3 to 5 star class. Without a doubt, the Conrad ranks among the top hotels I have stayed in such as the JW Marriott in Bucharest, the Radisson Blu in Hamburg and the Tiara Parque Atlantique in Lisbon. It is an all suite hotel which means that every suite has a separate bedroom and living room, with the bathroom in between. Both rooms can be closed at the bathroom side by means of sliding doors. We stayed with 3 adult people and used the sofa bed in the living room which is of more than adequate quality. The bed in the bedroom is fantastic, as are all other facilities. The hotel has been completely renovated approximately a year ago for the duration of one-and-a-half years and it shows! The bathroom is excellent as well, with a spacey rainshower. And, as I am 6ft 4in tall, it is great to be able to lie full length in a bed without your feet sticking out and to be able to stand upright under the shower ... Apart from all the luxury and comfort in the room, it is also very quiet. But maybe the fact that we stayed at one of the top levels with Hudson river view is a factor in making it a quiet room. Last, but certainly not least, some remarks regarding the staff. They are extremely nice and polite and truely do their best to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. Un-NewYork style, I would say. The lady at checkin took all the time needed to provide information about transportation and restaurants in and close by the hotel. We also could choose between different complimentary newspapers to be delivered every morning. When the in-room safe proved to be defective this was fixed by replacing it within 15 minutes. Turndown service includes a free bottle of mineral water per person. Great! We had dinner in the hotel restaurant the 25th of December and the food quality was excellent again. In summary: we are extremely pleased to stay here and will definitely return here if we will be travelling to New York again. Last remark: walking distance to the nearest subway station (Chandler) is approximately 10 to 15 minutes.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank FlyKLM737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed at the Conrad for 3 nights. The rooms are suites (not very large but of reasonable size) designed in a very modern style. While I like modern rooms, I think the rooms very a little lacking in character and were not as welcoming as some other Conrad properties I have stayed at. Service was also quite average as there were a number of occasions where it was difficult to reach the concierge on the phone.

The positives other than the size of the room, for me was the location for business as it provided easy access to downtown NY as well as Jersey City (the pier/ Path is nearby). There are also good food options with Shake Shack, Bluesmoke and few other eateries in the same complex. There is also a movie hall in case you feel like catching a movie.

Overall, would recommend the hotel for people travelling on business who want access to both sides of the river and decent food options without having to go around after work. While travelling with family or for leisure the location is not ideal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scarletblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Fantastic location in lower manhattan. Convenient to the World Trade Center, Statue of Liberty, located right on the Hudson River. Hotel is a suite hotel in a complex with restaurants, and stadium seating movie complex. Next year a mall will open with Nordstrom! Spring, summer, fall outdoor eating and stroll paths along the River right out the door. Beautiful setting.

Room Tip: All room suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoreenCalabasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hotel stay was family trip to NYC for the weekend. Got a decent rate for this supposed luxury hotel as the financial district lacks easy access to the rest of the city and is very quiet on weekends. We have stayed in numerous Conrads outside and inside the US. The hotel rooms are nice with nice amenities but the level of service from Doorman, Bell Hop and Concierge fall well below normal Conrad standards. I would rate the service level as a 3-star while the rooms are 4 star bordering on 5. If you need a nice hotel in lower Manhattan this works just don't expect to be pampered.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank 283CharlesrM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was our second stay. You just can't beat this hotel for value and the spacious rooms (by NYC standards). And while the location may seem a bit out of the way - it is actually quite convenient to the subway for an easy trip uptown to museums and other tourist destinations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
Thank MWJFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#64 of 470 in New York City
525 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#13 of 470 in New York City
550 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#15 of 470 in New York City
372 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#23 of 470 in New York City
595 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#49 of 470 in New York City
3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad New York

Address: 102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282-1238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#14 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $251 - $662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad New York 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of lower Manhattan's Battery Park City, the Conrad New York is a new contemporary all-suite luxury hotel. With magnificent views of the Hudson River, this exceptional hotel is adjacent to Hudson River Park, in close proximity to many of the city's important and historic landmarks and prominent neighborhoods, including TriBeCa and SoHo. The Conrad New York offers a new standard of luxury, featuring 463 spacious guest suites that average over 430 square feet, each outfitted with integrated technology, complimentary WiFi, two flat-screen HD televisions and individual climate control, as well other unparalleled in-room amenities. Sixteen stories above street level, the hotel features a striking seasonal rooftop bar providing stunning views of the Statue of Liberty and New York Harbor. The hotel boasts over 30,000 square feet of adaptable meeting space, including the 6,200 square-foot Gallery Ballroom; Danny Meyer's Union Square Events will be the exclusive food and beverage partner of the hotel's onsite conference and event facilities. The Conrad New York is pursuing Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Conrad New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad New York Hotel New York City
Suites Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing