We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Conrad New York
Ranked #30 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Okay, so this was no bug filled hell hole and had well appointed rooms and excellent location.

But...something was missing when you consider the price tag. Let me explain.

No kettle in the room when we arrived. No problem. But did we have to wait over an hour for it so it eventually arrived at one in the morning?

Then they charge ten dollars a day for Internet. They give wi-fi away free in Starbucks. This is a three hundred to four hundred dollar a night hotel. This may be an American thing I'm not familiar with but in terms of marketing it feels wrong - it reminds me of budget airlines drip pricing policy of constantly adding on extras. It cheapens the experience and annoys me.

Then there were the niggles over having to wait over twenty minutes to be seated for breakfast - clearly the restaurant area can not cope with peak demand.

There were other issues over poor communication from check in staff. Things like saying we had to get our card recharged on the second day as we were staying for two nights. Why? I can only guess we were told that because the check-in staff were not properly trained.

The roof top bar was closed but this hadn't been made clear when we booked the hotel. We only find out when we tried to access the bar and our key cards wouldn't work. Staff said this was a good thing as there had been suicides with people throwing themselves off the roof. Nice. That really set our evening off.

Then - to add insult - there was a whole voucher system for our inclusive breakfast. Shame that no one told us this despite me asking check-in staff about the breakfast. Not only is that annoying and embarrassing but again it cheapens the experience when you are asked for a voucher or coupon to have your breakfast. This is not a supermarket or a budget eatery so why make it feel like one? Get the marketing and staff training issues right and this hotel could be a winner but work needed.

I'd be interested to hear Hilton's thoughts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dan,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction and we welcome you to contact our offices directly if you would like to further discuss your stay.

Thank you,
Jimmy


Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,115
    677
    155
    69
    45
See reviews for
832
1,027
108
655
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

i stayed here with group of friends for the weekend we had an amazing time. the place is really five star modern and up to date. its in battery park which is spectacular. amazing restaurants and bars nearby truly a great choice

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Michael,

We are thrilled to hear you had an exceptional stay at the Conrad New York with friends last month! Thank you for sharing your review via TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed our Battery Park City location and all of the nearby dining and leisure options. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

3 days in NYC with kids. Enjoyed every minute.

Used HHonors points and was upgraded to a great corner suite with fold-out and chaise.
Felt so comfortable with the 5* amenities - Robes, slippers, etc.

2 sets of Large sliding closed off main bedroom for privacy. Kids couldn't wait to take a bath each night in the rain shower. However, if you find a way to make it not leak you're a genius. Turn down service. Bellmen were great with my kids (made them feel very special), and also they helped with directions, etc. The subway stop is a few blocks, but they say a new one is being built. Shake Shack and the Chinese restaurant behind the hotel were both good. On your way back from the Subway stop be sure to use the bodega on the corner. The one in the back of the hotel is all natural and organic products - very expensive. And, you don't want to get stuck opening the bag of $6 M&Ms from the mini-bar. The kids got a big kick out of that. Kind of a bummer with kids that they would charge $25 to have the minibar items removed from the refrigerator so you can put personal things in. However they delivered ice every night with turndown service. There are no ice machines on each floor.

The concierge has a guide book for kids, excellent resource, used it more than the adult ones. However, that would be the only thing I would get from them. The day we arrived the concierge got us Annie tickets. Found out later I should have just got them at the box office. We WAY overpaid, (Face value, plus service charge to his "contact," and we tipped - well!)
I don't think he worked for Hilton. I should have complained. He also said that the Statue of Liberty was closed since 2010. Either I misunderstood...or this guy was crazy. Stay away from concierge and get your recommendations from the bellmen.

A cab to Times Square was approx. $30-$40 depending on the time of day.
But the hotels in Times Square were the same point level and did not look as nice and were definitely not suites. This is a former Embassy Suites property so the rooms are spacious. Kids liked the art installation in the lobby and that the lobby changes colors.

The neighborhood is quiet. We were thankful for the excellent service and large rooms.
Room Service menu limited, but the pizza was excellent.

Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. They are a bit larger and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_jmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
Level Contributor
116 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 night with my family and parents. We got an early start and arrived at the hotel at 10.30 on the Saturday morning. To my surprise our rooms were available! Dropped the kids / parents off and went to park the car a little way away ($120 v $220 close to hotel).

Rooms were excellent. Embassy Suites format (I believe this used to be an Embassy) but the decor much nicer.

The area around the hotel is very nice. Lots of parks for the kids and very family friendly. Also lots of good paces to eat. The burger place below the hotel is highly recommended as were a couple of bars in Tribeca.

Used points for the rooms (50,000 / night / room) which was an excellent deal. Would have cost $2,500 if paying!

Ate (free) breakfast. This was very basic continental breakfast. Tea, Juice and toast is basically it. Got looked down on by some of the workers as I had my 1 and 2 year old. They don't seem to like children...

That was the only "low" point. The rest of the staff, from front desk staff to other people walking around the hotel were very professional and eager to help.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilbond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing this review with the TripAdvisor community. We are so pleased to know you and your family had a memorable 3-night stay with us and we are glad you took advantage of all the family-friendly activities here in Battery Park City! Please accept my apologies for any dissatisfaction you had with the service in our restaurant; I will be sure to investigate this further to ensure it is not repeated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Conrad New York again soon!

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed in the Conrad during a recent business trip to NY. Rooms, facilities and staff all excellent. Location is perfect for the financial district as well as being close to some great restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the hudson river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel, down near World Trade Center, is fantastic. Very contemporary rooms, all suites, and the service was impeccable!!
For NYC especially, the rooms are huge. Is only a few blocks from the subway, and great views of the Hudson river.
Original art work in the lobby, and great restaurant.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sportwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this review. We are delighted to know you had a fantastic stay with us and truly appreciated the level of service from our staff as well as our downtown location. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Conrad New York again the next time you are in town.

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
102 North End Avenue
New York, NY 10282
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. I used to stay here when the property was an embassy suites hotel since then it has had a significant upgrade.

Rooms are luxurious well appointed and comfortable. I had a high floor room which looked at another building but you aren't in your room to look out the window. I think you would want a high floor room as the street can be noisy below.

Love the lounge area in the room was a great seating area to relax in. Only comment about the room is sometimes it is nice to have a bath and there wasn't one.

Breakfast at hotel was good only comment would be that sometimes you just want a quick breakfast from a buffet not a formal sit down serve up breakfast. And one morning I did have to wait 15 mins for breakfast, with a buffet I would be in and out in 15.

Overall great hotel will stay again service is spot on. This is definitely a business hotel not sure I would recommend for leisure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad New York

Property: Conrad New York
Address: 102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282-1238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#26 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad New York 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of lower Manhattan's Battery Park City, the Conrad New York is a new contemporary all-suite luxury hotel. With magnificent views of the Hudson River, this exceptional hotel is adjacent to Hudson River Park, in close proximity to many of the city's important and historic landmarks and prominent neighborhoods, including TriBeCa and SoHo. The Conrad New York offers a new standard of luxury, featuring 463 spacious guest suites that average over 430 square feet, each outfitted with integrated technology, complimentary WiFi, two flat-screen HD televisions and individual climate control, as well other unparalleled in-room amenities. Sixteen stories above street level, the hotel features a striking seasonal rooftop bar providing stunning views of the Statue of Liberty and New York Harbor. The hotel boasts over 30,000 square feet of adaptable meeting space, including the 6,200 square-foot Gallery Ballroom; Danny Meyer's Union Square Events will be the exclusive food and beverage partner of the hotel's onsite conference and event facilities. The Conrad New York is pursuing Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Conrad New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad New York Hotel New York City
Suites Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing