We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay with beautiful views”
Review of Conrad New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Conrad New York
Ranked #32 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Everything about this hotel is first class. It is a little remote to best restaurants and very quiet on the weekends but would definitely stay there again. I will be looking for Conrad hotels to stay in other cities.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,611 - 2,617 of 3,355 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

I travelled to NYC from the UK with my wife and children (aged 13 & 9). The hotel is sensational, super modern atrium/foyer, helpful friendly staff in a really good location. Our room was great, we had a corner suite on the 4th floor with a river view out of one window and the Statue of Liberty out of the other. All the furnishings and fixtures in the room were of the highest quality and you really felt pampered. The beds were just so comfortable, we all slept like logs. A nice turndown service and ice delivered every evening (which addressed previous reviews about lack of ice machines). On the negative side we had to pay a one off fee of $25.00 to put drinks in the fridge(a bit mean I think) and we had a problem with one of our remote controls not working and despite reporting twice no-one came to fix it, we ended up taking the batteries out of a camera and put them in the remote control so it would work. It was eventually addressed, on the third time of asking. In addition the TV in the bedroom stopped working and when we returned to our room there was a message on the phone to say it had been fixed - it hadn't and we had to call down to get someone back up to fix it, which they did! Small niggles which did not overshadow the experience overall. Luxurious hotel, great location, movie stars(we were there during the TriBeCa Film Festival) and a decent breakfast(a bit pricey though). Nearby there is a Wholefoods, Blue Smoke, Shake Shack and Gee Whizz Diner all of which we tried and thought were great. Kids especially loved Shake Shack and it's right next door to the hotel

Room Tip: River View sCorner Suites are spacious and offer fabulous views of the Hudson
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for so much for sharing this review via TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you and your family had a memorable stay with us at the Conrad New York. We are glad you were able to visit during the ongoing Tribeca Film Festival and experience a few "celeb-sightings". I am also happy to hear how much you enjoyed our location and all of the nearby dining options! Please accept our sincere apologies for some of the technical issues you ran into during your stay with us. I have shared your remarks with our management staff to ensure these mistakes are not repeated in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back soon.

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Generally a very (not to say very, very) good experience, a little pricey maybe.... But what do you expect from a *****-star hotel ;) Anyhow, would choose it again when coming to New York and when the location fits.

The only downside was to find a close subway station that fits, but when the WTC constructions stops/ends (in a few years?) then it might be perfect.

And i really liked the possible to open the windows a little, that is just great, i hate A/C's, thank you for that as well!

BTW, very close to the fairy to New Jersey, which is just about 7US$ to cross, when i remember correctly....

Room Tip: i had paid the cheaper price, so i just got the 4th floor, try to get a very high floor if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The purpose for our visit was to help our daughter move from midtown to Wall Street. It was an easy trip from the Port Authority late in the day. The lobby is beautiful and very modern. The reception was friendly and helpful. Our view was great , looking over the Hudson and the Irish hunger memorial. It was interesting watching businessmen coming off the ferry and children on scooters going to school. The room was very comfortable and very quiet. I think this was the most quiet hotel we ever stayed in NYC. We had no problems getting cabs to midtown or any where else during our stay. We liked the fact that it didn't seem as touristy as midtown. Another advantage was walking along the Hudson River Park right across the street. There are many different options from a playground to basketball nets. Our only complaint was the restaurant. We got up early Friday so we could get to midtown for the movers and went to the restaurant for breakfast. Should I say slow ... It was not busy and most folks have an agenda in the morning. The evening before we stopped by for drinks and no one came to our table so we had to approach the bar tender and get our own drinks. You would think we learned our lesson and stopped back at 10:00 pm after a long moving day for a bite but they close at 10:00 pm. So they sent us down the stairs and behind the hotel to check out some restaurants. This we enjoyed and ate at the Italian place (that's another review) so I think we lucked out with a better place to eat. There were many families and locals walking home from the Battery City Park where that had a outdoor showing of Beetle Juice. We would stay here again depending on the reason for our visit.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room over looking the water, the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Kate,

Thank you for sharing this review with the TripAdvisor community. We are so happy to hear you had an exceptional stay with us in NYC while helping your daughter move. I am glad you enjoyed our Lower Manhattan location and close proximity to the River. Please accept my apologies for the issues you encountered while dining in our Restaurant. I have shared this feedback with our Food & Beverage staff so we can focus on improving for our guests' satisfaction. Thank you again for choosing the Conrad and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the Conrad for the first time in March (I normally stay at the Hilton or Marriott) and I loved it. It is a very classy place with great restaurant and fabulous location for the Financial District. The staff are amazingly friendly for a place like New York and they go out of their way to help. The rooms are very stylish and very well thought through for a busy business traveller. Loved it - locations, rooms & staff - I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollib02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Conrad on North End is the renovated Embassy Suites which was my go to place when traveling with my daughters to NYC. Every element that made the Embassy Suites family friendly has been stripped to make the new Conrad. The privacy afforded by the suites is gone. The bathrooms with toilet are now in a fogged glass booth providing no privacy. I used the lobby restrooms to avoid literally having to use facilities in the middle of the room behind a glass door with no latch. While using the lobby restroom, a gentleman walked in and said 'yes, finally, a real bathroom." Service had the new hotel was very bad. We asked for a blanket for one of my daughters and after over an hour wait, I went to the front desk to ask why we could not have a blanket. While I was downstairs, a man opened the room door with my two daughters lying in the sleeper sofa right by the door. He never knocked or rang the bell--he just barged in on my teenage girls. When I asked for his name so I could complain to management, the front desk would not give it to me. They tried to make the matter go away by giving me a ticket for a free breakfast. Which is the other disaster. As an Embassy Suites, breakfast was included which made it a great place to take kids. My two are old enough so we would usually get coffee and bagel in Battery Park but families with children need not go to the Conrad. A glass of wine at the hotel bar now cost as much as that same glass from a high end restaurant. There is no longer any reason to stay at the hotel for an evening drink. I am sure the designers think the Conrad is hip and trendy. But all that was done was to take what used to be a warm and familiar fixture in the business district and turn it into a cold and costly industrial hotel. As for location, it cannot be beat for those of us who love the business district and Battery Park. I would stay there again if traveling alone or with my wife. As for a family location traveling with young adult ladies, it looks like getting two rooms at a less desirable location may be in our future.

Room Tip: Many good places to eat in Battery Park area. For breakfast, there is a great bagel place in the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FloridaNative56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for reaching out to us via TripAdvisor. Please know that your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the changes to our property. I apologize for the mismanagement of the situation, and for the frustration your family faced. Please know that we are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction, and look forward to the opportunity to show you the quality service and accommodations you deserve the next time you visit the city.

Thank you,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

One of the best room layouts I've seen. The walk-in shower is huge and allows for a great relaxing stay. Great fitness center that is open 24/7. Expansive lobby with a quality restaurant. N.B. cab service from the hotel is difficult off-hours, due to the lack of foot traffic downtown. Plan ahead and either call a car service or take the subway, a few blocks away. Great lunch cafes around the corner. Plenty of power receptacles in the lobby, helps make waiting for your airport shuttle easier and ensure you are fully charged. Would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook the Hudson River into New Jersey -- great for sunsets; so request your room type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairTaxBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor Community! We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreciated many of the hotel's attributes, such as the spacious room layout and the nearby dining options. We are also happy to hear you plan on returning for another stay - We look forward to welcoming you back!

Thank you,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#77 of 469 in New York City
499 reviews
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#20 of 469 in New York City
322 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 469 in New York City
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#21 of 469 in New York City
536 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#25 of 469 in New York City
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad New York

Address: 102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282-1238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $315 - $688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad New York 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of lower Manhattan's Battery Park City, the Conrad New York is a new contemporary all-suite luxury hotel. With magnificent views of the Hudson River, this exceptional hotel is adjacent to Hudson River Park, in close proximity to many of the city's important and historic landmarks and prominent neighborhoods, including TriBeCa and SoHo. The Conrad New York offers a new standard of luxury, featuring 463 spacious guest suites that average over 430 square feet, each outfitted with integrated technology, complimentary WiFi, two flat-screen HD televisions and individual climate control, as well other unparalleled in-room amenities. Sixteen stories above street level, the hotel features a striking seasonal rooftop bar providing stunning views of the Statue of Liberty and New York Harbor. The hotel boasts over 30,000 square feet of adaptable meeting space, including the 6,200 square-foot Gallery Ballroom; Danny Meyer's Union Square Events will be the exclusive food and beverage partner of the hotel's onsite conference and event facilities. The Conrad New York is pursuing Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Conrad New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad New York Hotel New York City
Suites Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing