We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”
Review of Conrad New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conrad New York
Ranked #30 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have to say, reading the reviews of this hotel, I was rather undecided, so i wanted to try somewhere different to stay, so went for this. Note i have travelled to NYC city numerous times and stayed from the Mandarin Oriental, Peninsula, Millenium, etc, etc.

I have to say, the hotel is fabulous, very new, extremely welcoming, the bed was one of the best i have ever slept in and the location excellent, but let me expand this further.

Location

Yes the location is in battery park, South West of Manhatten, i hear some reviewers say this is not for tourists.....there is so much to see and do in New York, that every area is for tourists, but most people come to new york and want to see the statue of liberty.....Exit the hotel, look left and you can see it. Ground Zero/freedom tower is a 10 minute walk away, Century 21 (discount clothes shop (v.good) same distance, wall street is 10/15 minutes, Statan island ferry (the best views of manhatten for free) 20 minutes....etc. Nearby is Chambers Street subway, which will get you to times sq in 15 minutes. Notwithstanding other amenities, the location is excellent.

Nearby

Rather foolishly, we were too busy with other things that we forgot to go to the rooftop bar, but i'm told this is very good. There are restaurants and bars nearby, Lily O'Briens (5 Mins on Murray St) is a good late night haunt, there is a cafe next to the chambers street metro, which will give you the very local feel and multiple restaurants nearby. In the ground floor there is also a pick-a-bagel cafe, which is very good for lighter breakfasts and snacks.

Rooms

The room was 5 star quality, with a lounge (basic room), the bed was very comfortable, two large flat screen tvs, wet room shower, seperate toilet, black out curtains, then add to that the usual conrad touches and you are in a 5 star paradise. you can also control almost everything from the TV, lighting, aircon, etc, etc....

Other comments

The hotel is very quiet, not once did we hear another guest, but there were plenty, seemed very exclusive.

The Wifi issue has been raised several times on this forum and i think personally the hotel should do something about giving free wifi in general areas or in your room, i mean almost everywhere else in manhatten gives free wifi, but at 10GBP/$15 is that really a deal breaker...? consider the price saving versus other hotels and this should give you the answer.

In short, book this hotel, we loved it and would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sel_et_spezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing this review with the Trip Advisor Community - We are thrilled to know you had an exceptional first stay with us at the Conrad New York. It is wonderful to read your feedback about our hotel's location as well - you seemed to truly take advantage of all the great attractions, dining and retail outlets right in our neighborhood. I am really glad you enjoyed the hotel's amenities as well, including our guest room layouts and the Conrad Concierge App that is available on our In-Room TV's (as well as your smartphone)! We appreciate your suggestions regarding the WiFi - we will be sure to take it into consideration when looking at ways we can continuing improving. We look forward to welcoming to back to the Conrad during your next visit to NYC.

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,697 - 2,703 of 3,444 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and we loved it. It was well situated right by the water. The bed & pillows were incredibly comfortable. We had a little kitchen and seperate livingroom with a hide a bed.
Although we could not get a room facing the water, we were still pleased. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, we had breakfast at a little bagel place right beside the hotel. It is a 10 minute walk to nearest subway but there is a bus stop right by hotel. We love to walk so we didn't care.
I would recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank protegee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I recently returned from a quick leisure trip where I took my wife and children to NYC. We selected the Conrad Hotel as it was close to family we were visiting. We could not be any happier with the service we received from the time we checked in until the time we left. We arrived late on a Friday night and the hotel was extremely accommodating (even upgrading our room)! We decided to spend the morning in New York the day we were to check out and the hotel staff made it very easy for us to have late check out.

The room we had was huge for New York standards and could not be any cleaner. The park across the street was perfect for our young children (we even got to see a few celebrities).

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a spacious room with a great value. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing this review with the TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled to hear what a memorable family vacation you had with us at the Conrad! I am glad you enjoyed the spacious layout of our guest suites as well as all the family-friendly attractions right in our neighborhood. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to New York.

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights
Nice building, great location very poor staff, not at all helpful or interested in ensuring a pleasant stay. Not a place I could recommend inspite of its plushness as staff were very slow in rectifying some basic problems and neglecting their paying customers.
I will not be back

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EM1982SAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment in the level of service you received during your stay with us. A member of our staff will be contacting you privately to discuss the matter in greater length so we can get to the bottom of the issue and ensure it is not repeated in the future.

Thank you,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I selected the Conrad as I have wonderful experiences in Asia in Bangkok/Singpoare/hong Kong and Bali...but this Hotel bears no resembalance to those....so if you are expecting the asian CONRAD experience...then you will be disappointed...lets start..well no executive club...average door service, queues for b'fast, not enough service people..but lots of people walking around......but in the positive....great location....close to things in NYC that you don't normally go to....near wall st....great room...(always ask for river view)...1-2 people at the door (we waited )...but they need more!...For people used to American hotels its good...but people used to Asian Hotels......!

Room Tip: ruver view is BY FAR the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevecapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the service and amenities at our hotel and we will use your comments as we constantly evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in New York so we might show you the improved quality stay you have come to expect from our brand.

Thank you,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have just stayed here and have very mixed feelings about this property. naturally you have to take into account that it is of course in the US and so dont expect all the trimmings of Asian / European/ South American/ African Hilton properties.

Its in a great area. Check in was lovely. We had booked a suite and opted for a waitlisted paid upgrade to a premier suite which is what we got. The room was huge but with a microscopic bathroom which was odd. the bath was a half length unusable one. No views except of the office block next door. It was well equipped but sort of felt cold and not that welcoming. You can preorder the type of bathroom shampoo , soap etc you get which is a fun idea. We had asked for shanghai tang stuff and it was not there. I did eventually get it by asking again and it was "dumped" on a table just inside the door when we got back. Breakfast was pathetic: The only Gold perk we had while at the property was breakfast. You could have one glass orange and pot coffee and one of 5 plates; I had oatmeal and that was it ; OR $20 of al a carte which after a coffee and orange juice did not get anything in completeness that I could see. This is really hard when used to other Conrads. No executive lounge. Staff were ok but it was all very impersonal and we felt we were staying in a room in a large office block. No welcome letter and no amenity etc. Wireless internet did not work in the room.

In summary it was OK but not a Conrad as used to and Gold meant pretty much nothing. Would not really rush back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Simon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We especially appreciate your input as a world traveler and valued HHonors member. We promise our guests a world of style, service and connection, and we will use your comments to ensure that we are continually working to achieve that ideal. I sincerely appreciate your feedback, and I hope you will consider staying with us in the future so we may better demonstrate the brand standard quality you have come to expect from our family of hotels.

Thank you,
Jimmy


Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on a long weekend. We were meeting family, so we booked two suites with two double beds. By NYC standards, the rooms are average-sized if not a little roomy. They are suites in that the bedroom and sitting room are separated by the bath and shower, and the doors can slide closed to separate the bedroom from the front room. If you see what I mean though, it's more like one long room with doors than two large rooms in a "suite" per se.

The service here was adequate, but I didn't find it overly attentive. I found the front desk only helped me by telling me how expensive things were: to store anything personal in the mini bar costs $25 even if you don't actually consume their items (the refrigerators, we were told, use a weighted sensor to see if you've touched them!). And parking is $65 - yes, $65 a night, which I want to say is more than if you actually go park it in a garage overnight. Certainly more than other NYC hotels I've stayed at.

The most redeeming part of our stay were the doormen and bellmen - fantastic and friendly, happy to greet you with water the minute you came in from a walk / run around the park. I also liked that Battery Park was relatively quiet; you won't find quieter hotels around.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites do not exist facing the river, I was told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkaboutnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#64 of 470 in New York City
525 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#13 of 470 in New York City
550 reviews
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#15 of 470 in New York City
372 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#23 of 470 in New York City
595 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#49 of 470 in New York City
3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad New York

Address: 102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282-1238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#14 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#28 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $251 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad New York 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of lower Manhattan's Battery Park City, the Conrad New York is a new contemporary all-suite luxury hotel. With magnificent views of the Hudson River, this exceptional hotel is adjacent to Hudson River Park, in close proximity to many of the city's important and historic landmarks and prominent neighborhoods, including TriBeCa and SoHo. The Conrad New York offers a new standard of luxury, featuring 463 spacious guest suites that average over 430 square feet, each outfitted with integrated technology, complimentary WiFi, two flat-screen HD televisions and individual climate control, as well other unparalleled in-room amenities. Sixteen stories above street level, the hotel features a striking seasonal rooftop bar providing stunning views of the Statue of Liberty and New York Harbor. The hotel boasts over 30,000 square feet of adaptable meeting space, including the 6,200 square-foot Gallery Ballroom; Danny Meyer's Union Square Events will be the exclusive food and beverage partner of the hotel's onsite conference and event facilities. The Conrad New York is pursuing Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Conrad New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad New York Hotel New York City
Suites Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing