We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful modern hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Conrad New York
Ranked #30 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful modern hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and we loved it. It was well situated right by the water. The bed & pillows were incredibly comfortable. We had a little kitchen and seperate livingroom with a hide a bed.
Although we could not get a room facing the water, we were still pleased. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, we had breakfast at a little bagel place right beside the hotel. It is a 10 minute walk to nearest subway but there is a bus stop right by hotel. We love to walk so we didn't care.
I would recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank protegee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,120
    678
    155
    69
    44
See reviews for
832
1,029
109
657
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I recently returned from a quick leisure trip where I took my wife and children to NYC. We selected the Conrad Hotel as it was close to family we were visiting. We could not be any happier with the service we received from the time we checked in until the time we left. We arrived late on a Friday night and the hotel was extremely accommodating (even upgrading our room)! We decided to spend the morning in New York the day we were to check out and the hotel staff made it very easy for us to have late check out.

The room we had was huge for New York standards and could not be any cleaner. The park across the street was perfect for our young children (we even got to see a few celebrities).

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a spacious room with a great value. I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing this review with the TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled to hear what a memorable family vacation you had with us at the Conrad! I am glad you enjoyed the spacious layout of our guest suites as well as all the family-friendly attractions right in our neighborhood. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to New York.

Best Regards,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights
Nice building, great location very poor staff, not at all helpful or interested in ensuring a pleasant stay. Not a place I could recommend inspite of its plushness as staff were very slow in rectifying some basic problems and neglecting their paying customers.
I will not be back

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EM1982SAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment in the level of service you received during your stay with us. A member of our staff will be contacting you privately to discuss the matter in greater length so we can get to the bottom of the issue and ensure it is not repeated in the future.

Thank you,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traussefrance
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I selected the Conrad as I have wonderful experiences in Asia in Bangkok/Singpoare/hong Kong and Bali...but this Hotel bears no resembalance to those....so if you are expecting the asian CONRAD experience...then you will be disappointed...lets start..well no executive club...average door service, queues for b'fast, not enough service people..but lots of people walking around......but in the positive....great location....close to things in NYC that you don't normally go to....near wall st....great room...(always ask for river view)...1-2 people at the door (we waited )...but they need more!...For people used to American hotels its good...but people used to Asian Hotels......!

Room Tip: ruver view is BY FAR the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevecapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on the service and amenities at our hotel and we will use your comments as we constantly evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' expectations. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in New York so we might show you the improved quality stay you have come to expect from our brand.

Thank you,
Jimmy

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have just stayed here and have very mixed feelings about this property. naturally you have to take into account that it is of course in the US and so dont expect all the trimmings of Asian / European/ South American/ African Hilton properties.

Its in a great area. Check in was lovely. We had booked a suite and opted for a waitlisted paid upgrade to a premier suite which is what we got. The room was huge but with a microscopic bathroom which was odd. the bath was a half length unusable one. No views except of the office block next door. It was well equipped but sort of felt cold and not that welcoming. You can preorder the type of bathroom shampoo , soap etc you get which is a fun idea. We had asked for shanghai tang stuff and it was not there. I did eventually get it by asking again and it was "dumped" on a table just inside the door when we got back. Breakfast was pathetic: The only Gold perk we had while at the property was breakfast. You could have one glass orange and pot coffee and one of 5 plates; I had oatmeal and that was it ; OR $20 of al a carte which after a coffee and orange juice did not get anything in completeness that I could see. This is really hard when used to other Conrads. No executive lounge. Staff were ok but it was all very impersonal and we felt we were staying in a room in a large office block. No welcome letter and no amenity etc. Wireless internet did not work in the room.

In summary it was OK but not a Conrad as used to and Gold meant pretty much nothing. Would not really rush back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Simon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We especially appreciate your input as a world traveler and valued HHonors member. We promise our guests a world of style, service and connection, and we will use your comments to ensure that we are continually working to achieve that ideal. I sincerely appreciate your feedback, and I hope you will consider staying with us in the future so we may better demonstrate the brand standard quality you have come to expect from our family of hotels.

Thank you,
Jimmy


Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on a long weekend. We were meeting family, so we booked two suites with two double beds. By NYC standards, the rooms are average-sized if not a little roomy. They are suites in that the bedroom and sitting room are separated by the bath and shower, and the doors can slide closed to separate the bedroom from the front room. If you see what I mean though, it's more like one long room with doors than two large rooms in a "suite" per se.

The service here was adequate, but I didn't find it overly attentive. I found the front desk only helped me by telling me how expensive things were: to store anything personal in the mini bar costs $25 even if you don't actually consume their items (the refrigerators, we were told, use a weighted sensor to see if you've touched them!). And parking is $65 - yes, $65 a night, which I want to say is more than if you actually go park it in a garage overnight. Certainly more than other NYC hotels I've stayed at.

The most redeeming part of our stay were the doormen and bellmen - fantastic and friendly, happy to greet you with water the minute you came in from a walk / run around the park. I also liked that Battery Park was relatively quiet; you won't find quieter hotels around.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites do not exist facing the river, I was told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkaboutnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at the Conrad New York on a recent trip overseas. We were only in town for one day on our way to Europe, but really enjoyed our stay. We liked the area, which is "outside the fray" on the lower East side. It was nice and quiet, but was still close to lots of shops, restaurants and within easy walking distance to the promenade in Battery Park City. There's even a movie theater accessible from the hotel lobby.

It's a nice walk to the subway - about 10 to 15 minutes. We enjoy the exercise while traveling, but it could be an issue in inclement weather.

The room was "interesting". We had a standard room but, as others have noted, it's configured a bit odd. Not a problem if traveling alone or as part of a couple. But with a friend or family, it takes some maneuvering. The bedroom and living room are separated by a hallway that contains the bathroom and the shower. The bathroom and shower are separate and the shower literally opens onto the hallway (i.e., no place to dry off, get dressed, etc.). However, if you pull two sliding doors closed, the bathroom area becomes enclosed, but essentially cuts off the bedroom and living room from each other. And also cuts off the wet bar area from the living space.

This wasn't a huge issue and certainly wasn't enough of an inconvenience to prevent me from really enjoying every other aspect of this hotel. Lobby is super-cool, my 10-year-old son loved it. Service was great as well; excellent attentive staff.

My favorite part? The sleep quality. It was so quiet at night and the bed was so comfortable that we slept late and almost missed the noon check-out (hotel full = no late check-out). That's a high-grade problem to have!

I gave this hotel a "Very Good" only because the room configuration wasn't ideal, but every other component of our stay was. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadHatterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,804 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad New York

Property: Conrad New York
Address: 102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282-1238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#26 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad New York 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of lower Manhattan's Battery Park City, the Conrad New York is a new contemporary all-suite luxury hotel. With magnificent views of the Hudson River, this exceptional hotel is adjacent to Hudson River Park, in close proximity to many of the city's important and historic landmarks and prominent neighborhoods, including TriBeCa and SoHo. The Conrad New York offers a new standard of luxury, featuring 463 spacious guest suites that average over 430 square feet, each outfitted with integrated technology, complimentary WiFi, two flat-screen HD televisions and individual climate control, as well other unparalleled in-room amenities. Sixteen stories above street level, the hotel features a striking seasonal rooftop bar providing stunning views of the Statue of Liberty and New York Harbor. The hotel boasts over 30,000 square feet of adaptable meeting space, including the 6,200 square-foot Gallery Ballroom; Danny Meyer's Union Square Events will be the exclusive food and beverage partner of the hotel's onsite conference and event facilities. The Conrad New York is pursuing Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Conrad New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad New York Hotel New York City
Suites Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing