We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really wanted to write a perfect review, but....”
Review of Conrad New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Conrad New York
Ranked #31 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Conrad between Christmas and New Years. I knew going in that its location downtown, near the World Trade Center, would mean longer cab rides to midtown, theater district and our favorite restaurants but I was willing to accept that given that the heart of NYC is so crazy at this time of the year and I welcomed the calm and quietness of the neighborhood each afternoon when I returned to the hotel.

I enjoyed the cosmopolitan feel of the open spaces of this hotel and my room was ultra-modern with the latest gadgets in lighting and use of a smart TV to connect with concierge, room service, and housekeeping. The layout of my room was perfect for our family of two adults and a teenager. The suite was divided into two areas separated by a central bath, shower and bar area. Two sliding glass doors gave our teenager her privacy in her 'parlor' which included her own TV, comfortable sofa-bed and separate lighting.

The only negative here was in the area of room service and this is an example of how one slip in hotel service could take down an otherwise perfect review. After spending a full morning and afternoon touring the city and feeling quite ready to relax in our room, we returned to find that our room was not cleaned. I then used the high tech smart TV to schedule room service and after the scheduled time had passed I walked down to the front desk to inquire. The desk manager apologized after wondering if someone in my family accidentally pressed the privacy button-that, not being the case. Although, housekeeping was sent up promptly thereafter, we were forced to wait outside our room for 45 minutes while the room was cleaned.

I have stayed a many different hotels running the gamet from two star to five star. Consequently I expect a different level of service from a lower priced hotel than a higher priced hotel and I probably would not have taken time and energy to write this review had I experienced this in a moderately priced hotel. But having spent almost $500 per night I should have expected more and received more than I got from Conrad. Like the manager at the front desk told me, "Sorry, we just dropped the ball on this one. " I agree.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertdMiami_Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,318)
There are newer reviews for Conrad New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,731 - 2,737 of 3,318 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We got quite a good deal over Thanksgiving week.

Rooms were a nice suite size, what we wanted with the seperate lounge are and was good to be able to relax on a sofa and have plenty of space - which really was the bonus here.
Our view just looked over to the office building next door, but was fine and got plenty of light.
Nice aromatherpy amenities in the bathroom, good to have separate sinks, toilet, shower. The space for clothes and general storage was vast, so if looking at a longer stay would be suitable.
We had free WiFi, which was quick.
I really liked the artistic touches around the hotel, interesting and bits of colour.
Yes, it is a bit corporate, they were hosting some conferences when we were there but didn't really affect us at all - rooms super quiet, we didn't hear a soul.

We didn't use their dining facilities, next door you'll find a good bagel place for breakfast (although busy!) plus a few other restaurants and shops just out the door.

Locationwise, we didn't want to be right up in tourist areas - at first glance this arguably wasn't all that great base however, we actually found it prerry convenient as wanted to explore all area s and neighbourhoods anyway and so were always having to get the subway, and therefore would have done wherever we stayed. Therre are a few subway lines a few blocks away giving access to various areas of the city so actually all very handy. It's also close to 9-11 memorial site.

You've got shops, Starbucks etc all within walking distance. Liked being able to walk to Tribeca for evening dining. There are also a few nice independent type coffee shops nearby - Kitchenette for e.g. that we enjoyed.

I would stay here again, if there are more than 2 of you looking to share a room, or a family, and you don't mind a sofa bed then it's a good option as not all nyc rooms are huge and this gives you the space without having to have two king beds. There's a fridge you can use and nespresso too.

Would recommend, definitely good for business travel to this area of the city but don't discount it for leisure travel either.

We didn't ask much of the staff, concierge was busy so we did have to wait but then quickly booked us tickets and dished out some useful shopping maps for SoHo etc.
Reception staff good at checkin/out - but can't comment too much for service.

Room Tip: you may have to pay extra, but hudson views would be nice. think all rooms would be quiet, but more...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank uktraveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear you had an excellent experience at the Conrad New York, enjoying every detail of your stay from the 2,000 pieces of artwork spread throughout the hotel, to the Aromatherapy Associates products in your suite. We are glad you found the room to be spacious and the hotel location to be convenient for getting around the rest of the city as well as enjoying the dining options and attractions close by. We look forward to having you back to the Conrad on your next visit to NYC.

Best Regards,

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York
Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have just came back from a 4 night stay at this hotel, overall a lovely hotel, we arrived a few hours early but our room was ready, the rooms are very spacious, really liked the separate sitting area as I didn't sleep very well at night I could use this at night to watch TV, there are two sliding doors between the bedroom & sitting area so did not disturb my friend. The beds are lovely but I did find the mattress & pillow rather soft for my liking. If you want to be in the heart of Manhattan then this isn't the hotel for you, very quiet location but close to World Trade Centre & very easy walk to China Town & Soho area but we used the underground every day to get more uptown, the nearest station is about 10mins walk away. There are lots of places to eat nearby.

Never used the Hotel restaurant or bar but on New Years Eve we did order room service about 1015pm & was told it would be about 45mins for a couple of sandwiches, by 1130pm they still hadn't arrived, when phoned down we were told they were ready, just waiting for someone to bring them up, 10 minutes later they still hadn't arrived, so we phoned down to cancel as we were going to watch the fireworks at the Statue of Liberty & didn't want to miss them, also we only received a turndown service the first night & a warning about the robes provided,could actually see them lighting up with static everytime you moved.

Overall a good hotel but wouldn't say it was 5* more a 4* in my opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve19_74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Spent three nights in late December for New Years in NYC. This hotel is simply not up to the Conrad standard when it comes to service. The rooms and lobby are (minus no bathtub in the suite, really??) but the service is grossly lacking. Some specifics:

- No doorman visible at 11pm on the Saturday night arrival, as well as multiple other times during the visit
- Not a single night of turn down service, no Conrad toy (bear/elephant/duck etc...) like other Conrads
- Single concierge on duty at 11am on a Sunday with a lineup of 10 people
- Room not serviced by 5pm, had to call housekeeping to get resolved

While these may all seem like needless complaints, if this was a base Hilton I could understand it, but for a Conrad and $600+ a night room there are levels of expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing to spend your New Year's Eve with us. We appreciate the opportunity to be a part of your memories and we apologize for not making them the best possible. We strive to provide our guests world class service in unique environments and we are sorry to have dropped the ball on the former. We will share your comments with our housekeeping and front desk teams in an effort to remind everyone how important all the details are in making each guests stay the best possible. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the Conrad quality stay you expect and deserve the next time you visit the city.

Thank you,

Jimmy Sarfraz
Resident Manager
Conrad New York

Email: jimmy.sarfraz@conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Checked in - reception was efficient and quite businesslike. Room size reasonable given its NYC but the walls are very thin indeed. Shower pressure ok and room amenities fine. Some will say the location is too far away from the main part of Manhattan - for us it was fine. Although we drove in decided to use cabs while we were there. Parking is available only a short walk away. Had trouble getting a cab as everyone said we would but we did manage it in the end and without too much waiting. But it's a nice comfortable walk down to Battery Park if you don't mind walking (which if you're a tourist and it's a reasonable day you probably wouldn't). Wall St isn't far either. Ground Zero is just around the corner. Plenty of late night eateries in the area and no issues with feeling unsafe walking around late at night. Police presence still high since our last visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepperwhitemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed at several Conrad's most notably the Miami (favorite) and Chicago (second favorite). I must say the NYC location is better than both of the above!

Our suite with 1.5 bathrooms and large living room was a perfect start to a NYE's vacation. Room was spotless and bed was among the most comfortable in recent memory!

As a Hilton Diamond member, The Conrad's are the main reason why I stay with the brand as this chain understands customer service, well appointed rooms, top notch food, and large suites!

Hats off to the team at this location! This beats the Waldorf in NYC by far (where I usually stay in NYC)!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveAmazingHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, General Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear LoveAmazingHotels,

It is wonderful to hear that you had an exceptional stay with us at the Conrad New York. We are pleased had the chance to experience our sister properties in other cities, as well as here in New York. Thank you for sharing this review - I am glad you enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of your guest suite, as well as the service and food. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in town!

Best Regards,

Robert H. Rechtermann
General Manager
Conrad New York
E-mail Robert.Rechtermann@Conradhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

First impression is amazing. Lobby is magnificent! Check-in was efficient. The room was decent size for New York City. The problem; however, is that sizes of the bed area and shower / toilet rooms have been greatly reduced to create a living area. I would rather have a larger bed area and bathroom than having a tiny useless living room. Bed was relaxing. Shower was amazing.

Turn down was spotty. They forgot to put body lotion first day, shower cap the next day, bathrobe the third day.

Staff in the restaurant during the breakfast was rude. Service was not up to mark. We would have preferred eating out breakfast if other places were not closed due to holidays. Doorman never bothered to open the door for us.

Biggest reason why we will not stay here again is the location. We did not realize when we booked the hotel that it is rather far from uptown Manhattan, where most shopping and eating areas are. The second biggest problem was that the nearest subway station is half a mile away. If it was raining outside, walking for 15-20 minutes to subway station became impossible.

Anyways, I think this Conrad manager needs to send its staff to Conrad Chicago for training.

Room Tip: Stay on higher floor. You may encounter street noise on lower floors.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enlightenedones29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#22 of 468 in New York City
301 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#74 of 468 in New York City
485 reviews
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#13 of 468 in New York City
478 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#20 of 468 in New York City
515 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#25 of 468 in New York City
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad New York

Address: 102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282-1238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#29 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $327 - $694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad New York 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of lower Manhattan's Battery Park City, the Conrad New York is a new contemporary all-suite luxury hotel. With magnificent views of the Hudson River, this exceptional hotel is adjacent to Hudson River Park, in close proximity to many of the city's important and historic landmarks and prominent neighborhoods, including TriBeCa and SoHo. The Conrad New York offers a new standard of luxury, featuring 463 spacious guest suites that average over 430 square feet, each outfitted with integrated technology, complimentary WiFi, two flat-screen HD televisions and individual climate control, as well other unparalleled in-room amenities. Sixteen stories above street level, the hotel features a striking seasonal rooftop bar providing stunning views of the Statue of Liberty and New York Harbor. The hotel boasts over 30,000 square feet of adaptable meeting space, including the 6,200 square-foot Gallery Ballroom; Danny Meyer's Union Square Events will be the exclusive food and beverage partner of the hotel's onsite conference and event facilities. The Conrad New York is pursuing Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Conrad New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad New York Hotel New York City
Suites Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing