We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're back and they've improved already!”
Review of Conrad New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Conrad New York
Ranked #29 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NY,NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We're back and they've improved already!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Well, back again. This time the room was perfect, on a high floor as asked and early check-in was a breeze. The front door staff was very good this time around and the in-house staff is a pleasure. This really is becoming my "go to" hotel when were going to be dining or attending a function anywhere from the village south to the financial district. The rooftop bar was actually open this time even though there were rainclouds in area. We were extremely glad to see that and although the space is small it was a great experience with a gorgeous view. They had this great drink idea where they put a specific flavored frozen pop upside down in a glass with ketel one for your own flavored shot. Really cool. It was pretty crowded as well. Roni the bartender was doing a great job even though it was really hot. Didnt eat in the hotel this time but the North End Grill next door is a superb restaurant. It is really refined quisine and pricey but I predict if it can survive the out of the way area this is going be a top spot by end of year. Might be the best bloody mary i've ever had by the way(ive had alot). The construction detours downtown are really getting insane but its great to see the tower going up. The hotel has already tweaked some things which was nice to see and we will definitely be returning again. I would put the Conrad on your shortlist.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ny_nyHonestreviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,263
    709
    167
    74
    44
See reviews for
881
1,085
116
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband's company has an office in the financial district and was out there all last week. Since its summer, my daughter and I stayed with him while he worked last week. The hotel is recently renovated, it is beautiful and very quiet. The rooms are large by NYC standards and have a separate living and sleeping area which is nice when you have a child who goes to bed earlier than you. Great location. They have a nice big park across the street, movie theater in the hotel, Shake Shack just outside the hotel, Rite-Aid and a massive Whole Foods within a block or two. Just a couple small complaints, 1) I wish the Hilton Honors breakfast included an egg option 2) I wish the wall between the shower and the bedroom was a solid wall and not tinted glass. My husband got up much earlier than us and the shower light would wake me up and 3) more powerful flush on toilet. I would definitely stay here again. Staff was very friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurphymomChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing this review. I am happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are so glad to know you enjoyed the convenient location and local retail spaces. I appreciate your feedback as well regarding the HHonors Breakfast and bathroom features. I will be sure to communicate this with the rest of our team here. We hope to welcome you back soon!

-Alex Joset, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a prime location for anyone planning a trip to the financial district, lower Manhattan, Statue of Liberty, etc. We booked the hotel as a one night weekend stay to explore the Statue of Liberty one day and catch a show at Radio City Music Hall the second. It was a 20 minute (brisk) walk down through Battery Park City to the State ferry and Staten Island Ferry line area. The whole area has undergone urban renewal and is clean, safe, and easily navigated. The closest subway is about 6 blocks away at Chambers, but this is New York and in New York you plan to do a lot of walking (or take a cab). One block from the hotel is the North Cove behind the Merrill Lynch building with a lot of over the top yachts docked, but it's interesting people watching and there's good outdoor dining.
The hotel itself was unexpectedly a pleasure and the rooms were certainly the largest that I've stayed in in New York. The entry front the street was a bit boring and hard to differentiate from the apartment buildings surrounding it, but the entry lobby was fabulous. I liked all the high tech stuff in the room and had no problem with any of it. We had a nice view of the Hudson River with sailboats passing by. The staff was all very friendly. We had breakfast on site (can't remember the name of the restaurant) and it was pricey as you'd expect at a Conrad, but very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Hudson
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very contemporary, and a bit different then we are used too, but we really enjoyed our quick overnight here. Gave us a European contemporary feel for a family that is used to more run of the mill hotels. Well done. Thank you.

Room Tip: Very contemporary, and a bit different then we are used too, but we really enjoyed our quick overnig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironfamily140_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This new property had an opening sale earlier in the year, so I grabbed a "Double Deluxe" Suite for two nights. The interior of the hotel and the rooms are completely redone and very stylish. Rooms are reasonably large (especially for NYC!). Bathroom door is milk glass, but can't be locked. Everything works, and service is very good.

I/we have stayed in Midtown a lot, so the location was a nice change of pace. We walked to the WTC, Battery Park etc., and there are several subway stations close.

As HH Gold I got two continental breakfasts for free. On first morning the kids came along, and ate their most expensive Corn Flakes ever. Mind you, the breakfast tasted really good...

The letter containing the breakfast vouchers etc. also indicated that I had been upgraded to a better room. As this was clearly not the case, and the hotel seemed not to be full, I asked about this at the front desk. I was told our bedding was the best for us. Hmm, according to the website the "Superior" Suites are exactly the same, except they are in higher floors and have nicer views. The reply and inconsistency between the letter and reality was the only negative aspect of our stay.

Room Tip: Views on the Hudson are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked this hotel because we found a great rate for a family trip to Manhattan. I'm used to staying in mid-town, and staying closer to Battery Park was really a shock to us. When you stay at this hotel, you are a LONG way from a lot of the traditional hustle/bustle of NY (good and bad), but the nearest subway stop is a long 7 block walk, so best to stay here if you are willing to pay for cabs. The good of this hotel: very hip, awesome room design, awesome contemporary interior, brand new and feels it. The lobby is impressive. However, this hotel has a lot of improving to do before it would qualify as a true luxury hotel. First, the hotel is very cutting edge with modern electronic controls for everything - you can control room temp, room service, everything through the TV. The problem: it doesn't work half the time. We couldn't even get the TV to turn off one of the nights. We had two rooms and between them had technical support to our room three times to "reboot" the system. Then, we were there over the 4th of July, and at 6:30 AM on the 4th AND THEN AGAIN ON THE 5th, the hotel fire alarm went off with multiple announcements about it being a false alarm and huge fans blowing in the lobby for about a half an hour waking up everyone in the hotel! Now that is a glitch!! In addition, they just aren't staffed properly. For turn down, 4 out of 5 nights they didn't set up my daughter's sofa bed. We called at 11:30 PM for sheets/blankets and got them delivered at 12:45AM after three phone calls. There is no ice on the floors, they want you to call house keeping. But on days nearly 100 degrees outside, it averaged 45 minutes to get the ice delivered. In the end, we still liked this hotel because the rooms were just that awesome. But they have a LOT of maturing to do for New York service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PKARRA-Vacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked this hotel because it gave us great value and amazing space in NYC for a few days and although in Battery Park (Battery Park City technically) it was not really right near where we wanted to be, it was not too far from anything. And although you had a long walk or cab or subway ride to soho, uptown, etc., you have incredible convenience for families right out the front or back door. If you go out the front and particularly from the higher floors, you have AMAZING views of the river and right across the street from the hotel is a park, a couple of places for breakfast and the hotel in the back opens up to a movie theatre and a few other restaurants, bagel place, etc. But the BEST part about the hotel for families is the amazing space and not only spacious and unbelievably designed but really nice. Clean simple marble and contemporary fittings that separated a bedroom that has a door that slides shut and another room that has a sofa bed for 1 or 2 kids. 2 tvs & a separate shower from the vanity toilet area which is great when there are several people in the room. All kinds of light adjustments so you can keep it dark if you want on one side and lighter on the other if kids are napping, etc. at first glance when you walk in, it seems like a big commercial business hotel & not super warm or inviting but once you get to the rooms (if you care about space and don't want to spend $1,000 a night for a suite in NYC, you are sold by the value without any real sacrifice. Clean, decent service (some great, some okay) but overall fine. Make sure to remind them to make up the room when u leave for the day. Also, breakfast was quite good and they had a nice take away service outside the restaurant but options within walking distance too. I do recommend this for families as a great option in NYC! Oh yeah and you can walk out the front door and turn left, walk a few feet & see the statue of liberty & catch a ferry.

Room Tip: Make sure to ell them you need a room with a sleep sofa not just a sofa if you need the extra bed as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maddjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us! I am so happy to hear you found the Conrad New York to be conveniently located and the rooms to be spaciously designed. I hope you and your family had a wonderful time here in NYC and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

-Alexandra Joset, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
394 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#72 of 467 in New York City
453 reviews
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
468 reviews
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#23 of 467 in New York City
247 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#24 of 467 in New York City
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad New York

Property: Conrad New York
Address: 102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282-1238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad New York 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of lower Manhattan's Battery Park City, the Conrad New York is a new contemporary all-suite luxury hotel. With magnificent views of the Hudson River, this exceptional hotel is adjacent to Hudson River Park, in close proximity to many of the city's important and historic landmarks and prominent neighborhoods, including TriBeCa and SoHo. The Conrad New York offers a new standard of luxury, featuring 463 spacious guest suites that average over 430 square feet, each outfitted with integrated technology, complimentary WiFi, two flat-screen HD televisions and individual climate control, as well other unparalleled in-room amenities. Sixteen stories above street level, the hotel features a striking seasonal rooftop bar providing stunning views of the Statue of Liberty and New York Harbor. The hotel boasts over 30,000 square feet of adaptable meeting space, including the 6,200 square-foot Gallery Ballroom; Danny Meyer's Union Square Events will be the exclusive food and beverage partner of the hotel's onsite conference and event facilities. The Conrad New York is pursuing Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Conrad New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad New York Hotel New York City
Suites Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing