We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near Battery Park”
Review of Conrad New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Conrad New York
Ranked #29 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Salvador
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location near Battery Park”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Comparable with new hotel designs seen in Europe and the Middle East (think Kempinski "a la Americana"), the New Conrad New York provides the right mix between tranquil spaces and great location to explore the southern tip of Manhattan, including Battery Park, the new WTC and downtown. Rooms are very spacious, the bed was very comfortable and the amenities were singular to none. My wife and my daughter were addicted to the espresso machine. The lobby is a little bit loud, reminds me of an airport terminal, the natural light was missing considering the refreshed modern design. The only downfall was the front desk; reception staff was a bit rusty and lacked the warm professional feeling that you can encounter from similar hotels in upper Manhattan. The breakfast options are just OK; you are better off exploring the neighborhood for a nice Brunch. Check out the Movieplex around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinae94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of the Conrad New York! We are very pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the design of the new hotel along with its location! I will be sure to communicate all your feedback and suggestions with our staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

-Alexandra Joset, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,263
    709
    167
    74
    44
See reviews for
881
1,085
116
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed a long week-end at the Conrad, rooms are nice & spacious, hotel is brand new so is everything at the hotel. Beds are super comfortable, especially the pillows. Shower is huge, could fit 3 or 4 people in there.
Check in was easy, staff was friendly.
Lots of amenities nearby, around the corner are shops & restaurants, also across the street in the WFC there's a pharmacy.
Across the way is the Hudson river, great views, great for a stroll after dinner. The area is quiet, subway is nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muffster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have stayed a lot of Conrads hotels before and usually they are my favorite Hilton properties. The New York Conrad still needs some work to catch up with the other Conrads.

Good things about the hotel.
1. They have the coolest couch that I have ever seen in the lobby.
2. The location is very good near the world trade center with lots of restaurants and shopping.
3. Everything in the hotel is very modern, new and clean. The two large plasmas are very nice.

Bad things about the hotel
1. It was very loud in our room even at 2 or 3 in the morning from outside street noise. I know its not the hotels fault but it was difficult to sleep.
2. I paid extra to get a river view room but ended up with a view in to the building across the street. Attached is a photo of the room view. I complained to the receptionist and nothing happened.
3. Very limited menu choice for Hilton Diamond members breakfast. Better off going outside for food even if it is free.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Hello and thank you for sharing this review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel's lobby, location and design. I do sincerely apologize about the error with your room. I will have a member of our staff contact you to better address this matter. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

-Alexandra Joset, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful new hotel in Lower Manhatten. Great design. Everything is special and nice. It recently opened and is definitelt worth a try, especially when you have to stay in Lower Manhatten. The neighbourhood is very nice with great restaurants and bars. Some small things raised an eyebrow though. We had breakfast included during our stay. There is no buffet (nice!) but the menu is limited to five items, one juice and one cup of coffee..... i ordered a second double espresso and was charged $8,- I found this truly ridiculous, especially since when you include breakfast in your roomrate you should be able to get more than this. Outside this great place to stay. I will stay here again when next in NYC.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hansmiddelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us! I am so glad to hear you liked the hotel's design and location. My apologies for your concerns about breakfast, I will be sure to communicate your feedback to the team. We hope to have you back again soon!

-Alexandra Joset, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

The Conrad is complete and very stylish renovation of the old Embassy Suites property.  I understand it's been open approximately six weeks. The lobby is very impressive taking every advantage of the structural architecture of the building. Front desk staff friendly and clearly very well trained.  The rooms are outstanding, in particular if you get one facing the river.  Brand new the furniture, bed and bathroom are frankly just lovely.  Great desk, TV and Internet. Pretty much perfect and ideal for both business and pleasure travel.  Combine this with a surrounding area with plenty of restaurants, shops and upmarket bars ( there's one on the top of the Conrad too) and you are ideally positioned for a great stay.  Particular mention needs to be made of the staff, from the doorman, front desk, through restaurants they are excellent, friendly personal and professional. Well done to the management team.  I'll be coming back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank NPGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful visit! It is a pleasure to know that the staff was friendly and accommodating and that you enjoyed the nearby restaurants and bars. We look forward to having you back again soon!

-Alexandra Joset, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Conrad New York for 5 nights in May and couldn't have been happier with our choice of Hotel.

We booked a King Superior River View Suite and the view of the Hudson definitely added to our enjoyment of our stay with fantastic views during the day and at night.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was always immaculately cleaned, although sometimes not until quite late in the day (we didn't ask for an early clean or anything though so this didn't bother us at all).

The room was really well appointed and the air con is fully controllable and quiet, you can also open two small windows which is a nice change in a hotel of this size.

Personally we found the location of the hotel to be excellent as we very much enjoyed being able to escape the hordes of people and traffic you find uptown. Also, the area surrounding the World Finance Centre is very well kept and feels very safe in addition to being right on the river with a small harbour making it excellent for eating out and going for walks along the river.

There are a number of restaurants, cafe's and grocery stores within 2-3 minutes of the hotel which was great when you are out and about all day visiting the sights as you can eat lunch or dinner right on your doorstep.

The Subway (Chambers) is also only about 7-10 mins walk away and has two lines which go directly to Times Square etc making it simple and quick to get uptown.

We would definitely stay here again should we return to New York.

Room Tip: The river view was fantastic and rooms ending in 24 get you away from the lifts into a nice quiet en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the suite accommodations and the friendly staff. I am glad to hear you will return and we all look forward to welcoming you back!

-Alexandra Joset, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in May on a business trip. The atrium has unusual hanging decorations which immediately catch the eye, and many tourists were taking photos. Check in was smooth -- just swiped a credit card and headed upstairs to my room (512).

The elevators are on one side of the large building, so it ended up being quite a long walk to my room. Not a problem was it was a chance to look over the atrium, but a long walk nonetheless. The door has a touch key entry, so no need to swipe the key card. The room had a living / working area in the front room, followed by a hallway with a room for toilet/sink and a separate room with a large shower. The rear of the room was a large bedroom overlooking the WFC, all in all very spacious for NYC.

The lighting was a bit confusing with panels controlling the various lights in each room as well as a master switch. The master shut everything off, but didn't turn everything on. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was one of the best I've seen in my many travels. One of my favorite touches -- complementary water bottles were left bedside, and also near the bar area!! My corporate rate also included free wireless internet, which was more than adequate for doing work onsite. Toiletries were ample and the noise level was quiet for sleeping, which was great.

I agree with other reviewers, the sensor refrigerators were a bit much. I didn't even open mine for fear of disturbing something. The cleaning staff had moved a water bottle from the refrigerator to the top of the bar (again, I didn't even touch it), and it appeared on my final bill. The front desk was able to remove the charge.

I enjoyed the variety of eateries just outside the complex, ranging from bagels to ribs to Asian. All in all, a good stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator if you want a short walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConradNewYork, Manager at Conrad New York, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Conrad New York while traveling on business. It is a pleasure to hear you found the room comfortable and enjoyed the complimentary water bottles. Thank you for your feedback about the mini bar I will be sure to let the appropriate department know. I am glad the staff was able to assist you. We hope to welcome you back soon!

-Alexandra Joset, Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 466 in New York City
396 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#72 of 466 in New York City
454 reviews
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 466 in New York City
468 reviews
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#23 of 466 in New York City
247 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#24 of 466 in New York City
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad New York

Property: Conrad New York
Address: 102 North End Avenue, New York City, NY 10282-1238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#20 Family Hotel in New York City
#26 Business Hotel in New York City
#27 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#30 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad New York 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of lower Manhattan's Battery Park City, the Conrad New York is a new contemporary all-suite luxury hotel. With magnificent views of the Hudson River, this exceptional hotel is adjacent to Hudson River Park, in close proximity to many of the city's important and historic landmarks and prominent neighborhoods, including TriBeCa and SoHo. The Conrad New York offers a new standard of luxury, featuring 463 spacious guest suites that average over 430 square feet, each outfitted with integrated technology, complimentary WiFi, two flat-screen HD televisions and individual climate control, as well other unparalleled in-room amenities. Sixteen stories above street level, the hotel features a striking seasonal rooftop bar providing stunning views of the Statue of Liberty and New York Harbor. The hotel boasts over 30,000 square feet of adaptable meeting space, including the 6,200 square-foot Gallery Ballroom; Danny Meyer's Union Square Events will be the exclusive food and beverage partner of the hotel's onsite conference and event facilities. The Conrad New York is pursuing Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Conrad New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad New York Hotel New York City
Suites Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing