We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place...a bit different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Ranked #3 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place...a bit different”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I travel quite a bit with work but this one was for pleasure....a week in New York with my brother and sister. We had great communication with Georgia before we arrived, plenty of hints and tips, and on arrival discovered we had a fantastic big room with an ensuite, superb value ..... and a nice change from the normal corporate decor.
It's more like staying wth friends than in a hotel, perfect for us but I understand that this isn't everyone's thing.
I'd happily recommend staying here to anyone, see some parts of New York you may not get to normally.
Thanks Georgia

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    210
    37
    7
    11
See reviews for
79
295
81
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Mont Morris. Our room was perfect: beautifully decorated, clean and in a beautiful old building. Georgia was so friendly and went out of her way to make our stay special. The morning coffee was worth waking up for and the choices at breakfast were perfect. The location was great: out of the the business of downtown Manhattan, yet still close enough to get there in less than 20 min on the subway. If I go back to NYC I will definitely stay at Mont Morris again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed in this b&b, rooms are small but very clean. We had a shared bathroom... Again which was clean. The area was fine, we had been warned about Harlem but was nothing to be afraid of, people are friendly enough and we caught cabs in the evenings, around 17$ from midtown. Cabs didnt seem to know where it was until we mentioned marcus garvey park? and the tube is just around the corner too! Make sure you get the 2.
Georgia is very friendly (although we went out fir breakfasts),she replied to all our texts, called our taxi to the airport and left us some amazing cookies too. All in all, mont morris was great and sooooo cheap! We loved NYC, very sad to be home

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Steiermark, Austria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Don't think that there is any better place to stay for this money in NY. A very big room, a nice bathroom and very clean! The breakfast among the other guests was great and we got a lot of interest information of Georgia.

In comparison with South Manhatten, Harlem is absolutely relaxed! For sure we'll com back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this great Harlem B&B. We were really happy with the quality of the room, the fun location and the hospitality of our host, Georgia. She spent some time with us, giving us some tips on getting around and engaging in thoughtful conversation as well. We were able to get around the city easily on the subway. There is also a great restaurant down the street, several small stores and other conveniences. Our room on the 2nd floor was spacious, clean and comfy. Breakfast was excellent as well...nice pastries, yogurt cereal, etc. and interesting conversations with our fellow travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed at the Mont Morris B&B for a little over a week.
The B&B consists of several brownstones easily accessible off a main avenue subway station in Harlem, and a stones throw from a great sun trap park.
The rooms are clean and uniquely decorated, the breakfast is continental self service with a great selection of pastries, cereals, breads, tea/coffee and so on. The shower was en suite and worked really well with quality towels, the bed was very comfortable with a mattress nearly a foot thick. The room came with air con which was good as the July weather consistently hit the upper 90's all week!
The host was super personable, giving out local and city wide suggestions that the average tourist could spend half their trip hoping to find making the stay a big cut above any hotel help/info. This is the advantage of dealing with people who have lived in NYC for over 15 years of their life and are keen on being helpful with a personal touch.
To boot I had the offer to head out of town last minute for a couple of days and so asked to shift my last two days of booking back by 2 days and to my surprise they were able to accommodate this!
Not standard practice by any means and I think I got really lucky with a late cancellation allowing me to slot in like that. Never the less it's testament to the quality of individual care you can get if you book with someone like Mont Morris and not a large faceless chain.

Overall the stay really made my visit 100% better and I am staying here when I come back in April 2013. I can't recommend it enough for the price you pay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Looked at website didn't mention anything about not allowing kids let alone one child, should update their website if the owner doesn't allow children, kind of pisses me off,
6/8/12

Room Tip: call first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank tim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#4 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris

Property: Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Address: West 120th Street, between Lenox and Fifth Avenues, New York City, NY 10027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bed and breakfast in a 1890s "New York City" Victorian-era Townhouse. Comfortable, trés stylish rooms. Location: tree-lined street in a less congested area of Manhattan. An unexpected surprise. Ideology: Value, comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Mont Morris
Bed And Breakfast Mont Morris Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing