We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #127 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Funky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is really a fun place - cool, young hotel.
Close to Times Sq - some 4 blocks away. The walk crosses a pretty good neighborhood, lots of people, not dangerous.
Rooms are fun although I don't particularly enjoyed the bathroom door (glass door and did not go all the way up to the ceiling ) well you could talk to your room mate while sitting in the toilet. But this seems to be a feature of trendy hotels, I've seen it in a 5 star too.
On each floor there's a room where you can use a fridge, get free cool water and free coffee, and there's a vending machine.
The bar downstairs is a lot of fun and they offer great snacks at a reasonable price. The place gets bustling at night but we had no noise issue whatsoever.
They also have free muffins and coffee in the morning, really good.
Check in and out, fully automated, was really easy.
All personnel is extremely nice too.

Room Tip: The hotel offers larger rooms, and corner rooms for 4 have 2 bunk beds, a really good space for fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMcGonagall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello MrsMcGonagall!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We are so pleased to hear that you
enjoyed interacting with our crew members and enjoyed the cocktails/food at the hotel bar as well.
We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,372
    3,624
    772
    275
    221
See reviews for
1,494
4,961
676
1,089
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,772)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Nice, clean, friendly, minimalistic hotel. Location all right as base for exploring Manhattan. Had a premium view cabin with queen bed. Small but well laid out room, though the bathroom offered little privacy. Firm bed which we liked. Would recommend this place for friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Lars G!

Thank you for taking the time to share your recommendation with us! Great to hear you noticed our super clean cabins as well as the great customer service our crew members are eager to provide every day.
We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated in a great area with proximity to times square. The atmosphere in the hotel is very good and even though the terraced area is open for bar use there is no noise in bedrooms. The folding bed is amazing and gives a lot of space in the room. The galley on each floor was very useful for much needed water and ice during the hot summer. There was a good range of muffins and coffee free each morning and even gluten free muffins on some mornings. Staff were always helpful. The rooms were fairly clean but could have been cleaner. There was a lot of dust around the tv area, white plastic surfaces were stained and shower base was stained. I enjoyed my stay here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank oinseach-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello oinseach-123!

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are experiencing satisfaction at our hotel as intended by management and staff. We sincerely value your time with us and are looking to welcome you again at our hotel.
See you soon!

Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, absolutely no complaints.

Hotel is clean, stylish, feels very welcoming. The staff were very kind and friendly. The room was a little small, but nothing to ruin the experience.

Excellent location, to boot, really close to Times Square, 42nd and subway. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Malcolm S!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great location, just 5 minutes from Times Square. And like everyone else, yes the bed is very hard but the rooms are quirky but functional for a couple
If you want privacy from your partner in the bathroom, you're out of luck!!!!!!!!!!

Staff were extremely helpful and polite

The bars and the food were very good too

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a better room and you'll be rewarded
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Kevin W!

Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are happy to hear the service provided by our crew members were on point. We are getting closer to deploy alternative beds, stay tune!

Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This was my second time staying at this hotel and it was better than the first! Friendly staff, clean rooms, great location and most important affordable! The hotel is within walking distance to Times Square. Staff were always greeting us as we entered the hotel and were willing to answer any questions we had.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejpjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello Ejpjap!

Thank you so much for your positive review! We consistently strive to achieve this satisfaction for all of our hotel guests and always welcome and appreciate your feedback and suggestions. On behalf of the NYC Yotel crew, we look forward to your next stay with us and hope that it is just as agreeable as your last.

Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at Yotel. This time, it was for three nights, beginning on a Saturday night. Yotel is a great place to stay if you are seeing shows on Broadway; its in a great neighborhood that is a 5-10 walking from Times Square. There are many good restaurants in the surrounding neighborhood as well. The room are bit small, but very modern with numerous features that make great use of the space. I personally love that they have adjustable reading lights at the bedsides. We were staying in a deluxe room with overhead bunk. The bunk was solidly constructed (our teenage son sleep there) and the lower queen bed adjusted to become a sort of sofa/daybed when not in use for sleeping, creating a bit more space in the room when retracted. We frequently visited the galley on our floor for ice, as well as tea and coffee; it was always well stocked. The free in-room Wi-Fi was greatly appreciated (so many other hotels charge or only provide it in common areas). Our room, at the far southern end of the building on the 20th floor, had a magnificent view of the New York Times building, The Empire State Building, and the red neon sign of the "New Yorker" Hotel.
We did have some minor trouble with the air-conditioning unit in our room. When we called for assistance, a maintenance person arrived within minutes and corrected the problem. Luckily, I was paying attention to what he did, as the problem recurred the following evening. I was able to correct the issue myself the second time (the unit had to be turned off and the thermostat reset).
All the staff we worked with were very pleasant and helpful. Upon check-out we used the Yobot to check our luggage. We did not return until late at night (following a play); it was an extremely convenient way to extend our stay in NYC without adding another night of hotel charges.
When we stay in Manhattan in the future, I have no doubt that Yotel will be our choice for our hotel. Midtown/Times Square hotels can be VERY expensive, but Yotel gives great value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hirunningman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hello hirunningman!

Thank you so much for sharing such a great review with us! We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a great time on your recent visit. You really touched based on many of the big ticket items such as cleanliness and great customer service, it is extremely rewarding for us to know that our crew members consistently deliver high quality in both areas.
We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,491 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,846 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,789 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing