We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #124 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I really wanted to love Yotel and there was plenty about it that I enjoyed, the location, the style. The free breakfast (you can get soya milk if you ask and there are gluten free muffins) is great before heading out for a day of sightseeing/shopping. Being only 10 minutes walk from Times Square, passing Port Authority station on the way makes the location ideal for exploring.
The free wifi is excellent, the galley was really handy and there are shops, bars and restaurants nearby. My cabin was well appointed, there were some signs of wear and tear but that's life. My main issue was that you book a hotel in NYC primarily so you can sleep, right? However, I could not due to the noise from the vent in the bathroom. I asked staff about this and was told that it is controlled centrally and switches off at random intervals but there is nothing they can do about it.
If I were to stay here again, I'd be sure to pack some ear plugs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,296
    3,562
    756
    271
    217
See reviews for
1,462
4,887
664
1,070
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,752)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

What a way to start our stay!!! 1st time in new york
I booked yotel months ago as a surprise for my wife on our special anniversary, (40 years). I was drawn to it on trip advisor but thought it may be a bit " young" for us:). Not a chance!!!!as soon as we walked in, we were met by emanuelle, he sorted our booking in, our cases, our overview of the hotel, and while we were on the 4th floor at "mission control", he introduced us to the staff.
Right away my wife picked up on the friendliness of them all, but was especially taken in that they were congratulating her on our special occasion, wondering how they even knew. ( a simple email to Jose)
In the next half hour, she was totally overwhelmed when, walking into our room, (executive view 24th floor). She was met with flowers, balloons, chocolates, a card, and whar a view!!!!!! Hudson river and times square!!!
To top it all off, Joanna, one of the staff, came to our door with bubbly in an ice bucket!!!! As I say, what a start, 1st impressions are always important, and ours are a 10/10 for yotel.
New York isn't bad either!!!!
Will be looking forward to the rest of our trip. Times square last night, 10 mins away.

Room Tip: Corner room, definite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacrabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Great experience. A good value hotel that was a little different from all the rest. Functional and innovative.
Unlimited muffins and coffee for breakfast. Drinks stations on every floor. Phone charging station. Robotic luggage storage. Good fast wifi. Everything a modern needs if not looking for luxury.
Would definitely stay at Yotel again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JG_BG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hello JG_BG2013!

Thank you for sharing your 5 star review with us! We are happy to hear we made a difference on your last stay and look forward to have you back in the near future.
Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Twice now I have stayed at Yotel while in town for a tradeshow at Javits. The staff is excellent and atmosphere of the hotel is fantastic. Having spent 20+ years traveling for business, Yotel offers a perfect blend of efficiency and cool NYC vibe. The rooms are well appointed and remind me of traveling in Japan or Europe. They recently (last night!) opened a great restaurant on floor 4 called East & West. It is phenomenal. Great food, wine and again excellent service. Great addition to the hotel. I've stayed in all of the big chains in NYC and Yotel by far is my favorite. I'd recommend it to anyone. Suzanne

Green Features: I really appreciate the amount of effort this hotel puts into maintaining environmentally friendly practices. Thank you!
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello suzanne d!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your 5 star review with us! We are so happy to hear we have consistently delivered excellent customer service on your last 2 stays. We are also so excited about East & West restaurant, great food, service and drinks!
We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.
Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hi. I have stayed in this hotel during summer time last year. Loved it so much, clean, tidy, friendly staff. Rooms a bit small but we didn't need anything else as design was great;) Free wifi, delicious breakfasts, fantastic views, terrace;) ahhhh wish to come back asap;)
p.s smell in d lobby, lifts, .....what is it? dream abt having this scent im my house:)

Marzena, London

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marzena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello Marzena Z!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We are honored to have your recommendation and approval :) The lobby scent is a custom fragrance made of white tea and fig.
We hope to see you soon! If there’s anything we can ever be of assistance with, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.
Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great place to stay in NYC , near a lot of attractions , people at hotel great , rooms fab , shower big enough for 3 ! ! , yotel is very near to Hells Kitchen area , so lots & lots of food & drink places close by .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faithless321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hi Faithless321!

We thank you for your kind words and support and are pleased that your stay with us met your
full satisfaction. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are enjoying all of the services and products our crew members work really hard for every day.
Hope to see you soon!

Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We were so happy when we came to Yotel, it looks amazing and the location IS amazing. But one night at two oclock the security staff knocked down our door, and said that all the neighbours complained about our room and that it smelled marihuana. Obviously it was not us, we where sleeping, and i am even four months pregnant! we let them in offcourse, and after telling us about "american drug-rules and hotelrules"(which we knew about offcourse!)- they concluded with that the smell must had come from the ventilation. And then they left. In the middlie of the night. Not an appology and not a question: "Maybe you want to change rooms?" this was a very unplesant experinece, and it ruined mt night at Yotel. but the hotel itself is nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose N, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Hello nina h!

Thank you for sharing your review with us! Glad to hear your overall stay was good, however, we are so sorry about the overnight inspection performed by our security staff. We have shared your experience with our team and re-trained on the delivery process.
We really hope to see you next time around so please feel free to reach out to us directly at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.

Jose - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#338 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,777 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,772 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,700 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#80 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#86 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing