We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for bars and kitchens of Hells Kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #129 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great location for bars and kitchens of Hells Kitchen”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Yotel, having previously stayed just after the hotel opened in late 2011. With my partner working out of Long Island on business for 6 days we had two reservations - 6 days for business and a further day for personal. The additional Thursday night cost approx £200/night - a steal for a modern hotel just off Times Square. At the last moment we decided to extended the additional day to 3 days for a long weekend. Last minute availability of rooms was great and we netted an average room rate of £150/night via Expedia - thus saving us £50 on the initial room rate for the 1 night we had previously booked and now cancelled. Yotel staff were very helpful in allowing us to keep the same room, and even let us have a complimentary late checkout on the Sunday.

Location wise the hotel is well positioned for Hells Kitchen's colourful bars and hotels, and just a moment away from the subway to downtown Wall Street and the PATH train to New Jersey - where I would be working from during the week.

For a hotel that was only 2-3 years old the rooms had not weathered as well as I had hoped, and were showing signs of needing a paint job and patchwork here and there. Rooms are compact - but then so are all rooms at the £150-250 price point. Averaging £180/night over the 9 days duration is a steal for what we got. Note we stayed in the entry level queen room. If you plan to go as a couple and live out of suitcases then this is not the hotel for you, as suitcase space is scarce. That said, if you unpack then we lived comfortably. The beds were as comfy as I remember the first time round, and whilst the bathroom isn't the most private affair you'll ever have, it worked for us. If you plan to take your mother away and share a room then the shower curtain type bathroom divide means this probably isn't the hotel for you.

Free coffee and muffins in a morning were a welcome pitstop before heading downtown. We didn't sample the rest of the food menu as HK has so many bars to choose from. We also steered clear of the bar after two vodka cokes set us back $26+tip. For those that like a big gay brunch, Yotel certainly put on a show Sunday. This wasn't advertised heavily around the hotel (or on the internet), but was a tip given by a colleague to check it out.

One of the colleagues who stayed at the hotel with us was less enamoured by the hotel - feeling it was gimicky with small rooms. While not everyone's cup of tea due to its quirkyness, it certainly worked for us and location could not have been better.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel have amazing views over central Manhattan and of the Freedom To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,681
    3,800
    825
    295
    239
See reviews for
1,606
5,219
715
1,185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,841)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lots of white w/ purple accents, and plenty of free amenities -- free wifi, free muffins and coffee in the mornings, and free hot beverage machines on each floor (lattes, cappuccinos, tea and hot chocolate). Brought my girls here for their first trip to New York, and they absolutely loved it (especially the hot chocolate). We got the Queen w/ bunk over the queen, and it was very small, but very cute. Very well-designed use of space. I've seen some reviews complaining of the glass between the shower/toilet, but our room at least, now has a curtain you can draw for privacy. Convenient location, walking distance from Times square, Rockefeller Center, etc.

Had dinner there, and it was very good - a large variety of small plates. Were going to check out the night club, but there was no one there at 11 pm (there was a long line by midnight), so settled for a drink in the heated patio of the bar - very laid back. The next morning we went down for free muffins (they were surprisingly good) and coffee. Then stopped back at the "galley" on our floor for (another) hot chocolate. The girls were very excited to give our luggage to the "Yobot" to store for us, but unfortunately, when we were there, it was out of commission for a couple weeks. Great stay, though. Would totally recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SDTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... M, Front Office Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear SDTraveler01, Thank you so much for your feedback, I loved reading your review about YOTEL New York. It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed our complimentary muffins, Wi-Fi and the galleys. As you mentioned our cabins are small but efficient which is the concept of our hotel. The terrace is one of my favorite places here at YOTEL, luckily, due to the heaters we can enjoy it even in November. Thanks again for being our guest and we cannot wait to welcome you back! Joanna, MC/GC Senior Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great vibe, clean, cool and fun! Good location and quiet. Rooms at first seem small but when you get used to them, they are a great concept and VERY comfortable. Also bikes are available for rental for $3 per day, which we had hoped to have a chance to use but we did not.

Room Tip: Rooms are cool and efficient--just know the bathroom is not really private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed in an Executive View Cabin which was very spacious and had amazing views, the room did have some wear and tear but was very good overall. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to Time Square and the metro station too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello Cherrelle A, thank you for your review. Our Executive View Cabins are wonderful for the views of Manhattan and beyond! I am sorry to hear that your cabin had some wear and tear. We strive to ensure that all our cabins look immaculate! YOTEL certainly is a great hotel along with a great location just a short walk to Times Square! I am excited you enjoyed your stay with us and we certainly hope to see you again soon! Micheal Enokizono, Director of Cabin Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GER
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nothing to complain about. We had a room on 19 floor. Quiet, clean, small but absolutely adequate for a 3-day stay. Clean and comfortable bathroom with view from hudson-river. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_iel_U75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi, Dan_iel_U75. Thank you so much for your comments and the 5 Star Review. We’re glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back again soon! -Rebecca, Online Marketing & Social Media Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights because of the location, the room decors and reasonable price (for NY). The hotel is designed very funky and the majority of their guests seemed to be younger people who can be very loud. This was also our main problem; the noise: not from the traffic but from the people, the bar, the dj, ... When this is your first night staying in NY after a long flight, you cannot appreciate being woken up in the middle of the night by people partying. Because of this, we changed rooms in the middle of the night to a higher floor and had to decide if we wanted a refund for the room difference or a complimentary dinner. At 2am in the morning, we didn't want to make more fuss and chose the dinner. The day after, after having discovered all the restaurants in the Hells Kitchen area, we were actually doubting our choice about having dinner at the hotel's restaurant. When we tried to to talk to someone of the staff about changing it, they didn't seem very helpful... On average, also the staff seemed a bit young and somewhat unexperienced about dealing with 'unforeseen' situations. At the restaurant, we wanted to make a reservation (as it seemed always very crowdy), but they didn't know anything about our complimentary dinner. It gave us a very annoying feeling as they were looking at us and talking about us as if we were some freeloaders... Anyway, we ended up having dinner there and we must admit; the food was great. So aside from this experience, we still decided to give a 4star rating, because you if you keep in mind the target audience and you think you are a match, this hotel can be a good fit.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyah82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Customer Servic... M, Front Office Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Nyah82! I agree with you and glad that you found our hotel as a funky designed spot. We are a different type of hotel as you already know. I can see that you came in on a Saturday night while we were having our events. I am very sorry to hear that you were disturbed with noisy people, I can certainly understand and happy to know our overnight staff responded quickly to make you as comfortable as can be. There are many different and great restaurants to visit in our neighborhood including our very own Dojo. I am sorry we gave you the feeling that our staff is inexperienced. Communication is key and we fell short this time around. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall - I will be sharing your comments with our staff and I hope that you return to us in the future. Please feel free to email me directly to handle your future bookings at elvis@yotelnewyork.com. Until then, we shall await your return! Elvis - Assistant Director of Mission/Ground Control
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We picked this hotel because it looked nice and modern, we weren't keen on the old decor many NYC hotels had to offer. It's in a great location for Times Square and Hells Kitchen area were there are restaurants galore. The service here was also great, the hot tub in our room didnt work properly and we were refunded the difference between a king room and king with tub without any qualms. The rooms are starting to show signs of wear and tear, but are still clesn, fresh and comfortable. The only downside was the noise. On one occasion I was woken at 2am by guests in a nearby room who had evidently invited a lot of people to their room. They were shouting in the halls and playing music, it didnt seem like the hotel did much to discourage this. We also wanted to try the food in the hotels Dohyo! restaurant but went downstairs to the bar to find a DJ playing very loud music, we could barely hear each other talk. It was no atmosphere to dine in, so we left, as did a few other couples. We dined out that night and spent $300, as a business I would view that as an opportunity lost. The hotel bars are also open to the public, which I think made it more likely to be noisy. Aside from this, it's a great hotel, great location, ok price, fantastic service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Director of Sales at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Sarah C – so bummed to know that noise prevented us from receiving a 5 star review. I assure you this this is not a common occurrence at Yotel, nor will your comment fall by the wayside. We will continue to patrol guest floors more frequently for the inconsiderate activities of others. The wedding party on the evening of your stay had a blast of a time as did the DJ. Sorry again for the less than tranquil environment you expected. Hoping for a second chance to restore your confidence in our ability to ensure a great experience for all guests. Till then, Cheers and Thank You for your candor. David Chu, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,880 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,341 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#151 of 467 in New York City
7,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#76 of 467 in New York City
5,173 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,450 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 467 in New York City
9,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing