We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, could be better”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #135 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Cool design, great location and price given said location!

The crowd is a little so-so and we had to go thru the 4th floor lounge to get to our rooms after changing elevators...weird.

Bed was a little thin but the space-efficient design worked very well. A small roll-on luggage bag was enough for us to bring a change of clothes and other things and we never felt cramped in the room. The rooms are not def'y not sound proofed either! We could everything that took place in the halls.

We would conisder staying here again given that its a $10 cab / 5 block walk to everything and the hotel itself felt safe

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank sasquatch989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,285 - 5,291 of 11,350 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you love modern, trendy, contemporary hotels that are lively, friendly and fun, this is the place to stay. Having stayed at The Westin last year, we were crying out for something different. Having arrived on a Saturday evening to a thriving party atmosphere - it came as no surprise that we loved every minute of our stay. The space was perfect, the bed incredibly comfortable and the staff were excellent.

The galley on each floor is a really good idea (a good selection of complementary hot drinks, chilled water and ice came in very handy and we liked the fact that it was so convenient), breakfast muffins are a helpful bonus (much better than paying the crazy breakfast supplements so often seen in NY - get there early if you like chocolate!) The covered outside space is a comfortable environment to eat breakfast and to chill out during the evening (if you aren't out and about exploring the best of what New York has to offer!)

The room rates were excellent value, the location is brilliant if you want to catch the Newark Express (just a short walk from Port Authority Bus Terminal) and the Yobot (luggage storage) is something to behold!

Looking forward to our next visit to Yotel!

Room Tip: Premium view rooms offer a lovely view of the Hudson River for a small extra cost - well worth payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juan_Matador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Funky hotel, funky guests, funky staff, funky rooms. Buzzing day and night. Super cool.
The location is excellent. Food vendor right outside and good restaurants nearby.
Storing and retrieving your luggage is a cool novelty.

Room Tip: If you have not been to New York before, a small room is fine as you will only sleep there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 812GOGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Yotel is a great concept, cool and funky in every way. Just leaving your luggage there is an experience in itself! Getting to our rooms was a little confusing, by having to use two lifts, But the rooms whilst on the small size, are comfortable, soundproof and have incredible views over Manhattan, right from the bathroom! The electric bed is also a lot of fun! There was free muffins and coffee, all served by really helpful and friendly staff... Really good location also, just minutes from Times Sq. would definitely stay again when in Manhattan...

Room Tip: The higher floors give incredible views over NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Director of Sales at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thanks for the fantastic review Manc72! You took the words I use to describe YOTEL to a newcomer right out of my mouth. We have the two lifts to enhance security to our guest cabin levels; hopefully you weren’t confused for too long! It sounds like you and YOBOT are best buds, thanks for feeding the robot with your luggage, after all YOBOT doesn’t get the free muffins! It sounds like you appreciate a great view. If the Executive View Cabin is available next time, treat yourself… the dual aspect views are top notch. Hopefully your next trip to Manhattan is sooner than later! Thank you again for taking the time to write a review Manc72!
-Cari, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Yotel NYC for 11 nights ... I'd definitely recommend Yotel to my friends and loved ones. Our premium cabin was clean, spacious and comfortable. We also ate at the restaurant (DohYo) on Level 4, we cannot fault the taste and presentation of the dishes we ordered. The hotel and restaurant staff are also very friendly and helpful. Most importantly, Yotel is centrally located in a safe area of NYC near Times Square. 2 blocks away is the closest subway (railway), across the road is a chemist / mini grocery store, cinemas, broadway and eateries are walking distance from Yotel so you don't need to worry about not having enough time to do things in NYC due to travel time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noemi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had to see it: A high tech venue with a minimum of staff. Got to say, those that were there (employees) were very helpful and friendly. Clean, well set, no major frills. Covers your needs completely. Very intelligently made.

But not my cup of tea. Give me people! Give me a smile! Yeah, maybe some screw-ups and a kind apology. Nothing wrong with this accomodation but I like to meet people, see people, marvel at the resourcefulness of the human species. Nothing against technology and even less against people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in Yotel in A King Cabin for 10 nights.There is nothing I can fault!It is a fantastic concept and brilliantly designed.There is a great bar on the patio that has great views of Manhattan.I will definately stay there next time I visit New York!

Room Tip: Ask for a King Cabin and we were on floor 26!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy-lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Front Office Manager at YOTEL New York, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hi Anders80, first off thank you for staying with us! A First Cabin with King-sized bed is a perfect choice for longer stays. We’re all thrilled to hear that you loved our concept and design. You came at a perfect time to really have the opportunity to enjoy the terrace with its views and funky music. We cannot wait to welcome you back to YOTEL! If there’s anything that we can ever do, please don’t hesitate to reach out directly to us at reservations@yotelnewyork.com.
-Elvis, Assistant Director of Mission/ Ground Control

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,927 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#234 of 471 in New York City
5,035 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#145 of 471 in New York City
7,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 471 in New York City
4,996 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 471 in New York City
20,211 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 471 in New York City
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $120 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing