We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #128 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our stay at the Yotel hotel in New York was fantastic. Firstly the location, the Yotel Hotel is located approximately ten minutes form Times square, moreover 2 minutes from the hotel there are both a bank (The Chase bank) and a diverse supermarket (The Food emporium) where they had a great assortment of goods for a balanced yet decent meal. Also, the design of the hotel created both tranquillity and space!
We were received kindly and they even helped us checking in. Similarly they helped us by bringing in the suitcases to our room. Our room had enough space for two adults and two adolescents and had both a bunk bed and a king sized two person bed. The room gave us enough space to store our baggage (under both beds 2 suitcases respectively). The room also featured a spacy bathroom, toiletries, yet functionality had the priority so the bottles of shampoo and shower gel were in bottles attached to the wall (so no longer small bottle freebies to take along with you). Finally the room featured both an iron and an ironing board, superb.
The beds and towels were fine and were changed every day. Next to our room was a room called the Galley, it’s a room that features: a microwave; a refrigerator; a coffee machine that makes different kinds of coffees, hot chocolate and teas; a soda machine(must be paid for) and lastly a water dispenser with a variety of functions(such as ice water, cold water).
We had to share it with the other guests from the rooms next to us, but we didn’t mind at all. Transportation between stories of the building was made possible by six elevators therefore you don’t have to wait for a very long time until you can get on an elevator.
Our breakfast was simple yet nutritious, every day you could get your hands on free tea and free muffins, however an somewhat more elaborate breakfast was made possible for a price.
At the fourth floor was an superb terrace, with sofa’s and benches. But if preferred it’s of course possible to sit behind a table. If you have any questions then you’d better go to the information desk at the fourth floor. The staff there are willing to help and do so kindly. Before departure and checking out it’s possible to stow your baggage by the “yobot” and there’s an opportunity to change clothing and go to the toilet at the fourth floor.

Room Tip: 2038 is very quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L.D. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi L.D. W, thank you for such a great and detailed review of YOTEL New York! I’m sure all your fellow travelers will find your notes very useful. Tranquility is hard to find in Manhattan, so we’re thrilled to hear you found it here! Sounds like you stayed in our Premium Cabin with Double Bunks, which were designed with families in mind, just like yours. Our ‘Galleys’ are just one small part of our overall concept of luxury airline travel… and just like aircrafts, they are filled with all types of delicious beverages! If an effort to reduce our carbon footprint, we do use the larger pumps of our Get Up/ Get Down signature washes; however, for travel sizes, drop by Mission Control the next time you are in town! Thanks again L.D. W. I’ll be sure to relay your comments about our service to the entire team. We all love what we do here, and are so glad to hear it shows. Please contact us anytime at reservations@yotelnewyork.com. We hope to see you back soon!
-Anca, Cabin Crew Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,513
    3,713
    798
    281
    227
See reviews for
1,534
5,094
692
1,131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,804)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have just stayed it this property, overall very good value for money in NYC. Nice vibe all very clean etc. The restaurant on level "FOUR" has excellent food. My only complaint is that the free "Galley" would not open for the last 4 days of my trip so had to go down to the restaurant for my coffee :(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Director of Security at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi Barry L, thank you for your feedback! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our vibe, cleanliness, and great food at Dohyo. However, so sorry for the inconvenience associated with the ‘Galley’ door. It sounds as if something may have been amiss with your key, rather than the door. Apologies! Next time, feel free to touch base with Mission Control and they will be happy to make a new key for you right on the spot. Thanks again Barry L. We hope to see you again soon! Please feel free to reach out to us directly at reservations@yotelnewyork.com for future best deals.
-Tony, Director of Security
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Yotel of Time Square in August 2012, we chose the hotel based on location/reviews/price. We were very impressed with everything about the hotel, especially the free use of pc's including printing (within reason) free local phone calls and free coffee/tea/muffins for breakfast. the rooms were modern and well equipped although they are very compact (they are described as cabins) I would however suggest that you only share a room with someone you are very close to as the only thing separating the toilet/shower from the main bedroom area is a sheet of frosted glass and some very thin muslin curtains. We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarbabe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was attending a three day convention in the Javitis Center and elected to stay in town rather than comute from my home about an hour away.

There are some perks that included the price, and a functional sleek space. You know going in that there isn't a lot of room, so if you are looking for drawer space and room to spread out, this isn't it. On the other hand, it's perfect if you are looking for a clean bed at night and convenient food in the morning.

The plusses:

Bed was fine and comfortable. It's on the firm side, so if you want a soft mattress, this might not be the place for you. I also loved how it was adjustable.

Location is excellent. Walkable to the Javits and Theatre district.

Free breakfast includes coffee and really delicious muffins in a variety of flavors. You can upgrade to a fuller paid meal if desired.

Gorgeous restaurant and bar deck. Huge KUDOS to our bar tender ( I think his name was Adrian) who was knowledgeable about the drink menu and very up on the newly implemented bar menu. We took his recommendations and ordered the Eggplant fries and pastrami egg roll and loved them both. I will totally be using this location as a place to meet up for pre-theatre drinks and food in the future.

Staff in general are very pleasant and helpful. Only person with an attitude problem was one of the waitstaff who huffily told us that he served the section we were sitting in if we wanted more food/beverage (we had asked if we could move from the bar where we initially were and were told we could sit any where) . He then continued to glower at us. He was clearly the negative standout on the staff, everyone else was gracious. I'm sure his days will be numbered. He never checked in with us, and when we wanted more drinks we couldn't catch his eye. We did order more drink and at the bar so we wouldn't have to tip him. NEVER make your guests uncomfortable/guilty rule 1 of service! If it weren't for the fact we were then running to a meeting, I would have reported him to management, though I suspect management will do away with this turkey shortly as he seemed to be the negative standout on the staff.

Downside:

The garage is on 41st street which is in the middle of a Lincoln tunnel access pattern which makes getting in an out of it an issue during rush hour. Park in a different garage.

The check in could use a sign on the wall that says "after check in proceed to the 4th floor" I missed that part initially on my receipt.

The free coffee in the morning is in small cups without lids. Not convenient for those of us who want to grab a cup and go.

The shades in the room aren't dark enough. If you have to get up at 6:00am it's fine. If you don't, prepare for a blast of sunlight in the eye early.

Room Tip: Don't get eastern exposure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraBC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Director of Sales at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear LauraBC29, A bazillion thanks for your valued comments and praise on our restaurant/terrace décor, ambiance and bartender. Adrian is loved by many for the same reasons you’ve already encountered. So sorry for the less-than-pleasant experience from one of our servers; the incident has been raised with senior management to avoid any recurrence. Yotel is the translation of luxury airline travel and Japanese influences, hence we hired aircraft designer to inspire the experience. Our dimensions are deliberate and the concept is radical and new. “Shhh”…we truly believe it’s the future of luxury travel. Were you aware of the 2-layer window treatment in your cabin? Area traffic is beyond our control but I can at least ensure that your next visit will include an ample supply of coffee, more delicious muffins, a mattress topper for added comfort (if you’d like) and no live “Turkey” on the menu. Please return again! There is more to the YOTEL journey and experience than meets the eye. Thank you for giving us a try. Please visit again.
-David, Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Pricing policy does not make sense. Room efficient and annoying due to small thing not thought through. Cute term used for kids or very young adults. Should be able to see through window from bed. Bed would be better if it was also a couch and also a lounge! Galley a long way from room. Not sure i would rush back however great location, clean and quite new.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Guest Relations Manager at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi J39, thank you for your review. We opened our doors in June of 2011 and have worked hard to keep that “new hotel glow”; so happy to hear it shows! The idea of a bed being simultaneously a couch is a great idea, and in fact, in our Premium Cabins it is at the touch of a button! If you were staying in one of these cabins, I do hope you had the opportunity to read our ‘Get to Know Yotel in 5 minutes’ in-cabin piece, which mentions this, as well as some of our other features and amenities. So sorry to hear the walk to the ‘Galley’ was too far for you. Just say the word next time, and our Mission Control Crew would be happy to move your cabin! If you have the time, would love to follow up on your pricing policy question as well. Please email me at gina@yotelnewyork.com at your earliest convenience. Thanks again J39. I hope to hear from you soon.
-Gina, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at the Yotel in January and I enjoyed it so much I had to return. I've actually returned a couple more times to hang out at the bar and have brunch there, but for this visit, I actually checked in and stayed. Same wonderful news as always - it's convenient. It's close to everything, it's easy to check-in and out, it has everything that I need - simply put - I love it. I will note that I was there during 90+ temps and the A/C unit in our room was working properly. But one quick call and maintenance was up in our room fixing the problem in less than 10 minutes. This was also the first time I took advantage of the free muffins at breakfast - score!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Loved it. Yep, it's small, but exceedingly well laid out and designed, with cubbys and sliding panels to open up the small space and ensure uncluttered sight lines. Had a view of the Hudson from 17th floor. The Yobot that automatically stores your luggage in the lobby is a little unintuitive but bizarre and fascinating. Excellent value, terrific location if you're doing business at Javits Ctr, with great proximity to restaurants. Check-in via computer terminal is no more complicated than airport self-check. Very comfy bed. The only negative was unlimited alcohol at Saturday lunch in the 4th floor restaurant; some obviously regard this as an advantage, but if you're not drunk, two hours of karaoke (we were waiting for an appointment in the adjacent space) is unbearable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOTEL_New_York, Director of Sales at YOTEL New York at Times Square West, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Marcia N, thank you for your fantastic review of YOTEL New York! I just love that view of the Hudson. I have lived in New York for 13 years, and still get giddy when I walk into our cabins on the higher floors… I always start singing “New York, New York” by Frank Sinatra, ha! We have private event spaces at the hotel; our events team would be happy to assist with options for private space if you have client appointments and require a closed environment. Karaoke is not every Saturday, but I hear you, two hours can seem like a lifetime – especially if the singers don’t have the same voice as Sinatra! I am glad you were able to take advantage of our affordable rates and convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back Marcia N! Thank you again.
-Cari, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 468 in New York City
4,812 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
11,093 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#67 of 468 in New York City
5,025 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 468 in New York City
6,930 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
4,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing