We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Your Buck”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #136 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place did its job for the price. If it were any more expensive, it would get fewer stars... You are compromising on some things by staying here.

Yes, the rooms are small, but this is the concept and was expected, and they do a good job of getting everything into that space. The room had all amenities I would expect. It was clean except for unsightly mold stains in the sink.

It was in a decent location with a lot of good food and drink options within walking distance. It could be a tad closer to the subway though.

The staff were generally unprofessional in the way that they interacted - greeting (or lack there of) in the lobby, answering the phones and their general tone...

Requested a late check-out and the response was literally, "OK, that'll be 50 dollars." Needless to say, I declined.

Free Wi-Fi and free domestic calls is a plus. The 'galley' on the floor where coffee was available was convenient enough and the coffee was downright decent.

Bathrooms can be problematic when two people are sharing a room. Poops and the sounds and odors that accompany them are to be shared. The hand sink area is tight if two people are trying to get ready. And the shower has no door!! The whole floor gets soaked every time!

Beds suck! Like sleeping on the floor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EarthGopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,513 - 5,519 of 11,273 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

My stay in the hotel was execellent! Everything was really good... I can't say anything bad! The room was clean, the crew was really kind and the service was very good! Also the quality of the sleep was good... I suggest strongly this hotel also for the position, 5 minutes walk from Times Square!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and it's fair for the price and really took full use of the tight space, but the daily cleaning space was just ok, cuz they didn't change the toliet paper stuff or give you daily bottle of water and hope this can be improved one day.

Room Tip: Definitely need pay extra $17/per night to upgrade the room otherwise couldn't imagine how small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Small rooms and unhelpful staff, we had a last minute issue with luggage that was not well explained on web site or by staff beforehand. Also some issues with change of stay and related costs. A bit too much, and at times too loud, ambient music everywhere but in rooms. Rooms fine and public spaces nice also, but they need to clarify their policies and also offer some space for left luggage particularly for foreign guests.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank PaulWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great friendly staff, they were so sweetnthat I ended up having a conversation with at least three staff members at the yotel! The galley is undoubtedly the best feature, a sort of a kichenette, with free coffee machine that serves you coffee of all sorts - yes, for free! You can also grab a hot chocolate from the machine or make yourself a hot cup of tea.

The lounge and the studiYo club was great with a dark purple ambiance and lights. I found it funny how the housekeepers would refer to themselves as 'cabin crews' as the rooms are designed to give an aeroplane feel.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay. What i did not like about the hotel, umm, i think they need to work on their breakfast menu and diversify the choice of food. I was kinda stuck with cereals and muffins because I cannot eat pork cause of my religious preferences. However, i feel that's too small an issue to consider, as compared to the stay that was offered!

Plussss, how can I forget! Great great location! Just two blocks away from the main 8th av, 42nd street, Times Square! Lots of places to eat all around it, be it food stalls, restaurants, bars etc.

Hope u have as much fun as i did :).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnumAnwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had never stayed in a Yotel before and was looking forward to it after seeing pictures on their website.

The hotel was situated perfectly for our stay, only a short 5 min walk to Times Square. The taxi driver couldn't find our hotel to start off with (a lot of them wanting to know both the main and cross-streets) so it would have been helpful for the website to state 10th avenue and W42nd.
Upon arrival, the bell boy was friendly, polite and more then helpful, he helped us check in too (thouogh it wasn't hard).

The room was brilliantly laid out, the lighting and compact nature of the room made it appear very futuristic. I loved the electronic fold out bed/sofa seat and teh back lit bathroom mirror (which is only a knob on the front of the mirror - you wouldn't know it was a switch!)
My only critisism of the room was although we were expecting a compact cabin - there is literally nothing separating the bathroom from the bedroom apart from a curtain wall - and if one of you've been partaking in some of the NYC delicacies.......you catch my drift! >.<

Each floor has a galley where you can help yourself to drinks (water/tea and coffee are free) and there are muffins each morning on the 4th floor. There is also a bar and a gym, though we didn't use either of them).

Despite the hotel being more on the outskirts of Manhattan (not far from the motorway) our view was still impressive from the 15th floor and there wasn't any noise.

I would definitely stay in another Yotel, the staff were great and the overall feeling in the hotel is quite a chilled out and relaxed atmosphere. We paid a little extra for a car direct to the airport on the way back rather than hailing a cab - they looked after our cases when we checked out and the car was early and actually waiting for us when we left - at a pre-set price.

Ideal!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalianBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My first trip to NYC and Yotel was perfect!! Rooms are small but it was expected. We got a great deal. I loved the body wash for day & night!! The Yobot was so cute also! The service was amazing! We asked for a late check out. Check out is 11am and we were told we could stay until 1pm!!!!

Only downside. This hotel really isn't in Times Square but it's a close 10 min walk!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandasworld8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 470 in New York City
11,812 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,391 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#232 of 470 in New York City
5,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,876 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,916 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $150 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing