We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, staff amazing!”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #140 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights in feb for his 30th birthday, wow wot an amazing place, room small but had eveythin u needed, staff great, food fab, did have a issue one of the nights with a guest smokin(weed) in their rooms, non smokin hotel??????staff nicely moved us and sorted the issue out straight away!! Will defo return next year... Overall 5* hotel with great n helpfull staff

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lea-lea234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,674 - 5,680 of 11,437 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

What a nice surprise. We did spring for the upgrade for the view and were happy that we did. The room was small, as expected , but was very efficiently planned, neat and clean. Note that if you are traveling with another and require privacy in the room this is not the place for you. We enjoyed it. (The shower was terrific!) It was different and met our needs well. It is a very short walk to Times Square and there is a CVS pharmacy conveniently located across the street and there is parking below the hotel!

Room Tip: Spring for the room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank w m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had 2 of the family cabins. Good simple rooms, the shared galley is a nice touch. Very good location with car parking underneath. Rooms are quiet, duvet on the double and sheet & blanket on the bunks. Duvet was warmer so a bit difficult to set a/c to a temp that suited everyone. A minor niggle though in an overall good stay. Very good staff and a free light breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Only complaint from our party was that there was no smoking area on any of the outside areas in hotel space And a member of our group had to go to front door that took a while from the room as 2 sets of lifts required

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainey1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very modern space. From the lobby up to Level 4 (Mission Control) to the rooms.
Bright purple light out the front making it easy to spot and only about 10-15 minutes walk to Times Square.
The room was a bit on the small side but still comfortable for a 7 night stay at the last leg of our USA trip. The guys on the ground floor was very friendly with one of them giving us tips with getting around as we told me him an incident we had with a local at the 42nd street station.

Free muffins and coffee every morning. If that isn't enough ordering off the menu is still a decent deal. There is also coffee and ice machines on every level which is free.

Only thing that bothered me about this place was the smell that was in the lobby. It was a sweet and nice scent when I first got there, but over the next few days it started to get sickening and I had to hold my breath going through the ground floor. You can't smell it in the rooms so its only a minor issue.

Definitely recommended for an affordable stay that is still close to everything.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Takoyaki_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I've been to NYC quite a few times, staying everywhere from boring Howard Johnson's, to one of the W Hotels, and now Yotel.

I've got to say, Yotel is the best experience I've ever had in a hotel. The value for money is incredible... Everything is clean and modern, the staff was professional and friendly, helpful above and beyond the call of duty and the next time I'm in town, I'm definitely retuning to Yotel.

Some of the things I loved:

The smell... When you come in off the street, there's a pleasant aroma... not the overpowering funk You get from walking past an Abercrombie & Fitch, just a pleasant, relaxing smell to greet you.

I loved watching the Yobot - a robotic arm that can tuck away excess luggage or shopping in secure, oversized strong-boxes... and I loved that I could check-in using a touch-screen kiosk if I wanted to without needing to speak to a human. Let's face it - Some days you'd prefer to not stand in line and just move yourself along... although if you prefer a human, one will be provided to you at no extra charge on the 4th floor : )

From the lobby, You take your first elevator to the 4th floor where "The Front Desk", aka "Mission Control" is. The staff were super friendly and efficient, and can help sort You out if You need anything at all. Also on that floor - A restaurant, a bar, and lots of modern spaces for meeting & greeting if You happen to be part of a group or in town on business.

I loved the Design & Decor throughout... I likened it to living on Jean Luc Picard's version of the starship Enterprise... lots of recessed lighting, and clean modernism that really do evoke memories of the TV show...

As for the room... They're small, but incredibly well designed. The bed is electric and starts off folded into a sort of chaise lounge. There's a headphone jack so you can listen to tunes from your phone or tablet through the HDTV... more interesting lighting, a fantastic glass shower, heated towel rack, and if you bumped up your reservation to one of the higher floors, a fantastic skyline view.

It's kind of funny - I had a 5 hour drive to get to NYC and I'd planned on just checking in, dropping off my bags and hitting the town as soon as possible, but I ended up staying in the room for over an hour checking out the view, and just enjoying the room.

I didn't have a single bad experience, either with the staff or the facilities.

I was traveling alone, but a couple would do fine in the room I had... Families would want something larger, but if you made the decision to have a family, then you sort of have to accept you're going to need more and pay more for everything for the next 18 - 36 years, including hotels.

You'll need your room key to operate the elevators past the 4th floor... So have it handy.

I checked out the restaurant and bar but didn't really get anything from either - This being NYC after all, with so many options waiting for you outside - Still, both facilities looked inviting and interesting.

I ended up booking for $131 a night, which ended up coming to $160 and change after taxes, which is an outstanding deal for a such a nice room... clean, modern, well equipped... I've already raved about it with friends, and I'll be book there the next time I go to NYC.

Room Tip: I booked directly on the yotel.com site which was cheaper than any of the travel sites. Getting a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel was fabulous! It is such a cool concept. In a way, I felt like I was in a European hotel. One reviewer said that if IKEA had a baby, this would be it. I couldn't agree more! It was bright and clean - neat as a pin. Each morning in the lounge, they serve muffins, tea and coffee with the sound of birds tweeting in the background - very relaxing. It is so close to the theatres and Times Square activities. The rooms which they call "cabins" are spotless. I had read some reviews that said the beds were futons and were uncomfortable. I found the opposite to be true. They were VERY comfortable and I woke up refreshed and not a twinge of back pain to be had. The bed had an automatic button that lowered it from a "sofa" configuration to a "bed" configuration. Additionally, they have a hot chocolate/expresso/latte machine on every floor in the "galley" and the hot chocolate was delicious. It tasted homemade. And, saving the best for last, they have a robot that stores your luggage for you! It is absolutely the coolest concept for a hotel I have ever seen. The staff both downstairs at the robot/luggage storage/automatic checkin stations, as well as on the main floor at "Mission Control" (aka-the front desk), were very kind, courteous, and helpful. Yotel will definitely be our hotel of choice when we travel to NYC in the future! Well done Yotel!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MMMSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 473 in New York City
12,060 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 473 in New York City
5,071 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#276 of 473 in New York City
5,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#73 of 473 in New York City
1,180 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 473 in New York City
20,494 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#419 of 473 in New York City
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#77 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#91 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $143 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing