We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, Clever, Not Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Ranked #127 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool, Clever, Not Perfect.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

On first impressions this place looks like it's from Sci-Fi movie. Neon lights against white stone and blue glass. It's pretty cool. The entrance foyer is a small area with elevators at the back, easy to use touch screen check in to the left and the robotic baggage concierge to the right. The guys here are friendly and will help you check in if your having problems. My problem here is that I didn't get the chance to find out if i'd have a problem. As soon as we stepped out of the Taxi and spoke we were clocked as being from the U.K. One concierge gave the nod to another who, although friendly and informative (I won't name him for this reason), ruined everything I enjoy about entering a Hotel for the first time. You don't get to take in the atmosphere or decor. Just a quick commentary on your way to your room,which meant we didn't get to use the Robotic concierge either. Entering the room and explaining it's features to us was a step too far, just leave the bags and go. Maybe you'll get a tip. There's nothing to explain aside from a button that converts the bed from upright to flat. And a T.V with a jack to connect your phone or MP3. For this reason, he didn't get a tip. The rooms were neat and compact. Funky lighting and well laid out. Suitcase compartments under the bed, plenty of shelving. Some hanging space, great shower and decent sized T.V. The bed was a nice feature but because it had to be flexible to convert meant it wasn't a very thick mattress. Thicker than a sofa bed, not as thick as a regular bed. We had a quite a good view too, for NYC. No coffee facilities as these are in the galley. A small room situated on each floor with free coffee, tea and water or ice. Soft drinks $2 each. The bars and restaraunts are on the 4th floor. An unavoidable floor as the lifts go from the Lobby to 4. Then another lift takes you further up to the rooms. Same thing on the way down which although only a minor inconvenience can get a bit annoyoing if you just want to get out. Waiting on lift is a pet hate of mine, waiting on two to get out of or into the same building during a busy time got to me a bit. The 4th floor was O.K. 2 wine bars, priced normally for NY. On 2 occasions we couldn't use the bars though. Friday night they had private party and the 2nd bar was the only one open to residents and public, not a problem. Sunday afternoon the Yotel hosts a Sunday brunch with a D.J and the place is rocking. A bit much for A Sunday but it would suit some. This party, although open to all, has a 100% Gay attendance. And during this time the 2nd bar wasn't open either. Not sure what they expected their guests to do during this time but it wasn't to come downstairs and relax. The breakfast coffee and muffins were O.K. Seems NY hotels don't include breakfast in their pricing so to have this free was another nice touch. You could have ordered a full breakfast too but we didn't eat at the hotel at all so I can't comment on this. The front desk (Mission Control) staff were friendly and helpful enough and the hotel concierge desk can get you a ticket and advise on times too almost anything for a small booking fee. The location itself is walking distance to Times Square. Approx 10-15 mins will get you there with lots of shops and Restaraunts on the way up 42nd St. The Port Authority bus station is there too with Penn stsation only a few blocks way and the 42nd ST Subway station meaning it's incredibly easy to get around. We flew into Newark and paid $90 in a Taxi to the Hotel. Returning to the Airport we used the Car Service at the hotel which cost $100 and was a lot better. Although my wife and I won't be returning to Yotel I will be recommending it to a friend of mine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,370
    3,624
    772
    273
    221
See reviews for
1,494
4,960
676
1,087
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,771)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited NYC for the recent long weekend to see some friends and were pleasantly surprised with our Yotel experience. From the street, it is very unassuming and frankly most passing by probably have no idea that it's a hotel. It has an ideal location just blocks from the port authority, subway, and times square. The hotel is very modern and manages to squeeze in many over looked amenities into small spaces. While the cabins are small, Yotel still manages to make you feel very comfortable in them. The galleys on each floor have 24/7 access to complimentary tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. In the morning they also offer free muffins and coffee for breakfast on the fourth floor. Check in and out is very easy with their touch screens and if you have any trouble there is plenty of staff to answer questions. We will definitely stay again on a future trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I just returned from NYC to have alone mom time!!! It was my first time staying at the Yotel. I agree with the other reviewers that the rooms are small. But, they are great for 2 people. More than two people in a Queen room can forget it! I spent a small amount of time speaking with the staff, since I was too busy enjoying NYC and shopping at Woodbury Common Outlets-Thank You Tory Burch Outlet-I can now afford you!!!! But, everyone seemed nice, polite. Unfortunately, the day I wanted to try the hot chocolate the galley on the 19th floor ran out of water, so I wasn't able to enjoy the hot chocolate. However, the location is Very close to Times Square, theatres, Regal, and AMC movies, CVS on the corner.

I was informed that visiting the Statue of Liberty can be done by taking the Staten Island Ferry which is FREE to EVERYONE, whether your a resident or not. They don't ask questions. Take the Ferry to get pictures. You can only go by and take pictures, the Statue is still closed to visitors, though. Save your money, the cruises charge.
My room was cleaned well every day. Check In using the kiosk and check out was very easy, staff available to help you at the Kiosk. I will return again.

Room Tip: No vents were found in the bathroom. Bring air freshner for bathroom. :) Rooms are quiet, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicia6532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Full disclosure: $99/night weekend rate for this place. Normally in NYC you would expect cockroaches or other goblins joining you in the room and/or filth neighborhood. Yotel was neither. It was pretty fantastic overall.

This is not the Ritz. But it doesn't try to be. It is a fantastic 4 star gem in a great neighborhood. The basic room is perfect for a single or duo traveler. They offer smart small rooms. Smart? Yes, they make good use of space in ways more traditional hotels don't or never tried. For example, the large bed folds into a sofa at the touch of a button. The shower, you might expect as tiny in an otherwise small room, was quite spacious. The organic body products and rainhead shower made for a great start to each day.

The galley area offers free filtered water and espresso drinks 24/7. The complimentary morning muffins and espresso drinks was a nice, thoughtful experience. These seem to be homemade muffins, not from Costco ( no offense Costco).

One problem? The doors to the rooms do slam shut. This, combined with a 20s-30s aged typical guest, combined with bars that close at 2 and 4am, means a few sudden interruptions during your sleepy time. Overall though, it didn't impact the overall stay too much. If staying longer than a weekend, potentially an issue.

Room Tip: Consider upgraded rooms / discounted options may be available at time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The design of this place is undeniably spectacular!!
Excellent experience! Definitely would stay here again and thoroughly recommend!
Checking in was/is easy as 1-2-3! Both kiosk AND human check-in available, and PLENTY of them! The Yobot is off the hook! It stores your luggage.
Clean, modern, clean, quiet, clean, beautiful, clean, convenient, and did I mention clean?
No matter what your status is, they make you feel like a VIP.
Now you might say I am a VIP, but I booked many of their smaller cabins for friends and they all said they felt like "superstars". All staff went above and beyond what any of them expected.
Modern hotel next to Times Square, but far from noise, with a cool atmosphere.
Their restaurants, lounges, and bars are unbelievable as well. And hello, it's in Times Square, there's anything you want in walking distance...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you are over 25, STAY AWAY. While staff was very nice, I might as well have camped in a tent. No room service, no snack bar, no mattress (some lumpy comforter type thing for a mattress). No snacks to be had anywhere. Horrible strong perfume piped into the hotel. Hell for someone with allergies or a breathing disorder. A glorified hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Terryfabfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I wish I could live at the Yotel. I loved the "cabin" (room) with its bed/sofa. And I loved going to the galley in the evening for free hot chocolate. Each of the employees I encountered was super nice and helpful. The hotel gym is small, but I didn't encounter a wait to use any equipment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,479 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,842 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,787 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York at Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York at Times Square West

Property: YOTEL New York at Times Square West
Address: 570 Tenth Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#85 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York at Times Square West 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your YOTEL New York at Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing