We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOTEL BETTER THAN A HOTEL!”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #137 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Yotel is situated in a great location near Javits Center and Time Square; It is contemporary in design and has a warm atmosphere. It is certainly a wow factor for the first time visitors as you walk into the front lobby and see the high-tech robotic bell captain and self check in stands(pretty hight tech); staff could be more knowledgable, we asked both the concierge and other staff to recommend a specific restaurant of choice and in both cases we were directed to walk to a certain area with lots of restaurants to choose from! Also, timeliness of delivering towels we called for with a follow up call was way too long... but overall a great hotel experience and would comeback for both business or personal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonsellz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,580 - 5,586 of 11,263 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Fantastic location for a short stay.We stayed 4 nights. All main attractions easily accessible on foot or by subway. Service and hospitality exemplary. Room and all facilities very clean. If you want really spacious rooms, this is not for you but if you want comfortable, clean, really cool and stylish space to sleep in after a day enjoying the sounds and sights of New york city, you will not be disappointed by Yotel.

Muffins and coffee freely available at breakfast time. Galley kitchen on each floor with microwave, fridge, free coffee/hot/choc/ tea and iced water available. This is a brilliant facility - if you don't fancy eating you can prepare your own snack. The Merci market grocery store just a few minutes walk up the street serves a hot and cold buffet to take away.

Room Tip: we tried to upgrade in advance but there was no availability. We were entirely satisfied with our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

No door to bathroom. Bed is worse than the futon you have in your first apartment. Thermostat doesn't work. Room is smaller than the cabins on cruises. Two people cannot comfortably share these stupid cabins. No amenities whatsoever. Modern is one thing. Futuristic is one thing. Utter discomfort is another... Concierge was not familiar with the area and appeared to be about 20 years old. No room service. No coffee in your room. No closet to hang clothes. No privacy. This is great for a young college crowd on a budget. Adults who wish to have comfort and amenities should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are stuck here, get a premium cabin for a little extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claudia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was extremely pleased with the hotel for the most part. Loved the modern and hip look it captivatedl and the location offered spectacular views. I also enjoyed the culture of the hotel, it was young, vibrant and sexy. It was indeed New York. Only complaints I have is the room size. I'm all for quality over quantity and yes Yotel is quality but as far as square feet I needed more, seriously. If the rooms were bigger & if they had a longer check out time(compared to other hotels where I've experienced a 1pm checkout) I would stay there every night.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MykeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is an incredibly clean and well maintained chic hotel right in the middle of everything. I never took a cab or bus or mass transit to get around to either the Javits Center, Times Square or anywhere I needed to go down Broadway and over to the Empire State Building. I'm a 40 something year old and this was very chic and cool with outstanding employees. The staff greets you in the lobby with a smile and a good morning or welcome back and you feel at home away from home. The room is small but the idea is you sleep and get ready for the day here and then spend your time in the very very spacious 4th floor. Tons of tables and chairs, a restaurant and bar as well as free computers are all on the 4th floor. I found that I would come back from my business day and hit the bar first for a beer or three and then drop off my stuff in my room to prepare for the night. Great concept and I will most definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed 6 nights at the Yotel recently. It's unlike any hotel you have stayed at before. Think cruise ship. In fact, the rooms are called cabins. First of all, let me say if you like spacious rooms, it's not for you. It would also be tight for 2 people. However, the room in efficiently payed out and the young staff is eager to please. There is no room service, but the restaurant is very reasonable, unlike most hotels. Complimentary coffee and muffins are offered. I stayed there because our company was looking to save money. It is reasonably priced and you can walk to the Javits ConventionCenter. They are tied in With Stash Rewards, so you hotel points collectors will be disappointed, as I was. However, the facility is clean and the staff friendly. It's in an out of the way location, but the subway and Port Authority bus terminal is less than a 10 minute walk.
I recommend the Yotel. They could teach the traditional chains some things when it comes to value and design.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbfunk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked this hotel through hotwire because we needed a hotel in New York at a reasonable cost for an event at Madison Square Garden that i was attending with my teenage daughter. The hotel is intriguing in design but far better in concept than reality. Although designed very well to get the maxiumum use from the minimum space, the rooms are teeny tiny evn by New York standards. The shower is accessed through the room with the toilet and the shower only has a half door so it is chilly when you step out. The room is probably better for a single than a duo if you are at all modest about the bathroom as all the bathroom sounds can be heard in the bedroom. The bed is more of a futon and does not have a box spring. On the plus side, the rooms were clean and the wi-fi was free and fast. In addition, the galley on each floor has a refrigerator and make your own hot beverages. The hotel is at the fringe end of Times Square near the bus entrance from New Jersey to Manhattan and a 1/3 mile walk to the nearest subway. Madison Square Garden is one stop from the Port Authority and a 20 - 25 minute walk. The hotel works best for a young techie solo traveler, defintely not a romantic weekend hotel, and surpsingly my teenage daugher did not much enjoy the hotel despite its futuristic design.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrKaplanPsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 470 in New York City
11,806 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 470 in New York City
7,390 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 470 in New York City
5,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 470 in New York City
19,849 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#271 of 470 in New York City
4,911 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $147 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing