We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me”
Review of YOTEL New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
YOTEL New York
Ranked #131 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

I know all the rooms in NYC are small, but this bed has to turn into a futon for you to walk in the room. Therefore the bed isn't comfortable at all, which to me is the most important thing.

Also, the music is extremely loud on the fourth floor. You couldn't even talk to the person next to you.

For what it is, it's pretty good. However, this hotel is super nichey. I don't fall in their target market so I was left wanting. If you want an ultra trendy nightclub hotel, it will be your go to. If you want a good nights sleep and to relax after a hard day, try elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,425 - 6,431 of 11,184 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

So glad to finally find somewhere in NYC that is affordable without being grotty.

The rooms are small, but efficient. They have everything you need to be comfortable without wasted space.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This was a great, fun hotel!

Yes the rooms are small, but all hotel rooms in Manhattan are small, so that is just something you have to deal with when travelling to NYC! However, the rooms were very functional and I found that they actually worked quite well for the small space. It's a very "funky" hotel, with friendly and helpful staff in all departments.

We did find that the beds were hard after the first night, so the next morning we went and asked for a mattress topper, and the maid added a duvet underneath the sheets as well, which made it much more comfortable for the rest of the trip. The staff was very accomodating with this request.

It's in a great location, being only 2 blocks away from 9th Avenue and its abundance of great restaurants! (The famous Amy's Bread is also on this street - a definite stop!!). The hotel is also only about a 10 minute walk up 42nd street, which will take you right into the heart of Times Square craziness!

There's also a CVS right across the street, which is convenient for purcashing any snacks or toiletry items.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mallory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

After taking the redeye from Los Angeles to JFK overnight, I was a bit drowsy. As the cabbie drove up to YOTEL, for a second I thought I was back on my Virgin America flight. The crisp, white interior with purple lighting immediately set it apart from other hotels I've stayed at. I then saw the Yobot's mechanical arm storing and retrieving peoples' baggage and knew this was no ordinary hotel. Although I checked in extremely early, the friendly desk staff said that a room was available. I was extremely grateful as it allowed me to grab a few extra hours of shuteye before the convention at the nearby Javits Center.

The cabins are small, but clean, with windows that can be open at the bottom to allow you to breathe in the fresh(?) NYC air. This is welcome when your cabinmate is using the small bathroom which is only separated from the bed by a curtain. Ahem. It's a bit difficult to maneuver around if you have luggage as the only location for it is the foot of the bed and there isn't a lot of floorspace. The futon/bed can be raised up when not in use which gives a little more floorspace. The mattress was pretty thin and hard but I usually have no problems sleeping in hotels so it was not a big concern of mine.

There's a galley on each floor which has vending machines with sodas, a hot chocolate and coffee machine, and a fridge and microwave if you want to be frugal and eat leftovers during your stay. I was able to make myself a mocha, it wasn't bad, a nice amenity.

I would definitely recommend Yotel if you are looking for a room close to Javits Convention center. The low price coupled with great service and close proximity to Javits is a winning combination.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melonbar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

First, everyone is right: the beds are terrible. That being said, it's a fun place to stay and I would go back in a heartbeat.

Value: excellent.

It's the cheapest place I've ever stayed in NYC, besides a fleabag hotel in the 90's when I was broke. It's clean, relatively secure, and the hip factor is a 10. Love the Yobot, and love that the hotel doesn't have 20 people with their hand out for a tip. Free internet, too. What hotel in NYC has free internet? Those two things alone saved us probably $20/night.

The free breakfast is a joke, since it's a muffin. It's not even a very good muffin, and probably scares people off from eating in the restaurant later, which is too back, since I like the restaurant. The terrace area of the restaurant is wonderful.

On the flip side, every floor of the hotel has a galley with a Lavazza coffee machine which will make you a really tasty espresso drink. Much better than Starbucks, and free. I had at least two a day during my stay.

Rooms are cool, but small, but then most hotel rooms in NYC are small. You can see through the shower and bathroom, so only come with someone you want to see naked, and don't mind seeing on the toilet.

The bathroom sink is too small to stick your head into, just in case you like to wash your face in a basin at night like my wife. It is a good looking sink, however:)

The bed is a fun gimmick, as it rolls out from it's couch position to a bed position. What's not a fun gimmick is how poorly it sleeps. It really is like a futon bed. We were so tired from all the walking that we didn't care all that much, but just be aware. Pillows were nice, though.

For $200 Yotel is hard to beat, so we'll definitely be back on our next trip to the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Excellent price and service. Rooms are small but comfortable, staff is excellent and facility is excellent also. only gripe would be no room service but thats all!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed there with 4 others. Really liked the atmosphere. There was also a young and hip crowd at all times. Good food. Upgraded to the king bed and well worth it for the size of the room. Made our friends jealous. Beautiful view too. Bed's are a little firm, as agreed by everyone, but not uncomfortably so. Staff was excellent all the way around.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for the king bed if you want a lot of room to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peliROJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#280 of 469 in New York City
11,704 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,332 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 469 in New York City
4,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 469 in New York City
19,580 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#272 of 469 in New York City
4,868 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YOTEL New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YOTEL New York

Address: 570 10th Avenue, (West 42nd Street), New York City, NY 10036-3001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#92 Business Hotel in New York City
#105 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $143 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YOTEL New York 4*
Number of rooms: 713
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOTEL is a first class hotel experience at an affordable price. Check in is all about efficiency, with kiosks that are your digital receptionist where you confirm your booking and grab your room key. The Midtown NYC hotel's 713 cabins offer guests a beautifully designed, flexible smart space to suit individual needs to relax, refresh, connect, and sleep. On the hotel's main level, 'FOUR,' you will find Mission Control, a futuristic, fully-equipped concierge desk for one-stop service 24/7. Also on 'FOUR' is a restaurant, an outdoor terrace space, a deluxe lounge and bar with private meeting rooms, a gym and flexible Studio for a range of events, a unique lounge space for working or relaxing, and work stations to catch up on email or browse the web. Guests can also enjoy access to complimentary WiFi and domestic calls. Conveniently located near Times Square, this Midtown Manhattan hotel provides business and leisure travelers with easy access to New York City attractions, corporate offices, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YOTEL New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yotel New York At Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing