We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster for Brunch”
Review of The Lobster Place

The Lobster Place
Ranked #41 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lobster for Brunch”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We walked the Highline to Chelsea Market specifically to have brunch. It's a busy place and hard to find a seat once you have purchased too much to eat. The selection of fish is very vast, saw stuff I had no idea what it was until I read the label. We shared a delicious lobster, as well as soup. The turn-over is quick, so we didnt really wait long for a seat, although not together at first, but people are very accommodating and moved so we could sit together, a very minor thing. The food was worth it, if you love fish this is the place to get your fill.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,009
    547
    90
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Guess what? I had lobster three nights in a row!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The title says it all. Start with sashimi at the sushi bar. Than have a 3 lbs lobster. Then a black bean shrimp chowder. All tasty.
The only negative aspect: Very few seating places. Be prepared to eat standing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Istanbulapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good food”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Visited NYC in May, and had to try this out. Went it and ate the Sushi/sashimi first. It was really good, then tried the soup. The finale was the 1.5lbs Lobster, and really loving it. Will definitely be back again if I visits NYC again one day !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you are looking for a fun and very unpretentious seafood restaurant--this is the place.
Located in Chelsea Market, this restaurant offers everything you want except abundant seating.
Lobster dinners are inexpensive and if you don't want a lobster, they have almost any other seafood you can imagine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank asteinharter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved the food here”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

My sister took out food for us from this restaurant because we were having jetlagged. This became one of my most memorable meal at NYC.

Loved their lobster!! Their po boy sandwich is also very tasty!

Would come back here if I am in NYC.

Helpful?
Thank haydeego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Place also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Lobster Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing