We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in an area with not a lot of choices”
Review of Maharaja Palace - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maharaja Palace
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Description: Maharaja Palace offers the most exquisite Indian cuisine on the Upper East Side. Our specialty is authentic Northern Indian food served at its finest. From our tandoori dishes to our aromatic curry dishes, our food takes you on delicious trip to India.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
974 reviews
559 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
“Nice place in an area with not a lot of choices”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

There are not a lot of restaurants in this area, unless you like delis and coffee shops so I ended up eating here two nights in a row.
The food is excellent. The naan is exceptional. The lamb in spinach must cook all day as it is tender and tasty. Prices are on the high side.
The waiters are very nice, and the second night served me even though it was very late.
The downside is that it must be a very popular take out restaurant, because the phone for deliveries rang constantly each time i was there. Since its a small place and the ringer is loud, there is no escaping it. It is very hard to relax when you are listening to "Ring Ring, Call From..., Call From.....". then the scurry for packing up food and finding the delivery guy. In fact it mostly stressed me out. They need to move to email, or find a better way to handle those many orders. Lighting was very low, so not including my photos which do not make the food look appetizing. But it was!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Harlem location makes a great meal!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I have not been to the UES location, but I can attest to the quality of the Harlem spot. Dynamite! Just north of Central Park on Frederick Douglass Blvd around 114th st. The naan was light and fluffy. As an app, we had baghare jinga which was so flavorful and delicate, a substantial app for one, great for two people. Same goes for aloo gobi jeera, but it's a veggie main. Next was the murg madras, well spiced and the chicken was tender and moist - something to watch out for with cubed chicken dishes in general as they can get dry. The pudina chaap was extraordinarily spiced. The marinade will be the stuff of longing for my dinner date. Desert was a shared bowl (as we were stuffed at this point) of a North Indian specialty called rasmalai. Amazing flavor and texture. A great alternative to the popular and tasty kulfi or mango ice cream. The owner/manager was a very gracious host and the servers were so very pleasant. An excellent choice for Indian in Manhattan and a boon for Harlem. Total bill for two people who left full and satisfied (and with leftovers for a great Sunday lunch for two) was $70 including tax. A nice way to have good Indian food and not have to cram yourself into an impossible space like when dining downtown/LES.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EleveNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food. Underrated place!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our 2nd time there for dinner. Both times we really enjoyed it. The food has been terrific both times, and the staff was very friendly. It's more of a chill scene on the way upper east side, so don't expect a loud, energetic NYC experience. It's also not the spiciest Indian food around, but still very fresh and tasty. The menu is huge! Impossible to not find something for everyone. Best dishes: Aloo Tiki Chole. Palak Paneer. Tandoori Mixed Grill. I'd highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicknyc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Showed up late, for lunch, they stayed open extra (they close after lunch to get ready for dinner) and made me a great lunch at a greater price. This place rocks
Thanks

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidney20A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food for the Price”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went here last night on a Groupon. We had read the other reviews and were interested to see what happened. It is a small, clean, dimly lit restaurant (I think they do a good trade in deliveries). The Waiters were nice enough and gave good advice on the food and explained what was in and out of the Groupon (i.e. the higher priced special appetizers, main courses etc were out)
We had the Samosas & Baghare Jinga, Chicken Madras and the Lamb with a garlic nan. We really enjoyed it the food was very tasty.
My only negative was the sauces were a little dry, but my wife loved it that way, so she can give it 5 stars in her review :) For what this restaurant is and the quality of the food, I would come back and would recommend to others.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja Palace also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing