We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican food and great bar”

The Corner Cafe and Restaurant
Ranked #6,672 of 13,687 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mexican food and great bar”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Hidden restaurant and cool bar downstairs. Food is informal still nice and the environment is great. It is good to go with a group of friends.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MairaTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Brightly lit. Very brightly lit.”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Food here is decent, not terribly imaginative. Salads and omelets are good choices, and that says it all, right? Staff can be irritating sometimes - too much attitude, especially given where and what the place is - but generally they aren't insufferable. I do wish they'd dim the lights later in the day. The wattage is not welcoming.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elveese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not fancy but good food”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We were going to the 92nd Street Y and were looking for a place nearby (it's one block east). Chose the restaurant from the window menu and were not disappointed. We would call the food basic - which we like - and it was excellent. We had the kosher turkey dinner and the fish special - both were good sized portions - potato and vegatables were perfectly cooked. They have a bakery as part of the restaurant and the bread and deserts were also excellent. The wait staff was exceptional - nice, attentive and helpful. We would definetly return.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alne1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“excellent brunch, cookies are to die for”
Reviewed January 20, 2008

excellent brunch, cookies are to die for

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“upper east side gal”
Reviewed April 26, 2005

Yura and Co has good food, good baked goods especially muffins but the downside: OVERPRICED and POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. I mean when I say poor I mean poor. I order from them a lot and everytime I call to place an order, the order takers are unprofessional and always seem to rush.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Corner Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing