We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality, selection, and price”
Review of City Sandwich

City Sandwich
Ranked #1,314 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great quality, selection, and price”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The people at City Sandwich were very helpful and friendly. The only problem with the menu was that it was hard to decide withso many tempting choices. The sandwiches were delicious.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryandRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    23
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tasty sandwiches”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We visited City sandwich during our stay in New York and were impressed by the choice of sandwiches.

The sandwiches are a good size, and the ones we had tasted great. They are slightly expensive, but the ingredients all seemed to be good quality.

We'd like to return next time we're in NY.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Seren2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serendipity triumphs for hungry travelers.”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We were looking for something good to eat for an early lunch when we stumbled on City Sandwich on 9th avenue. Wow! Talk about the happy accident!! The family owned and operated, Portuguese inspired, long, narrow, colorful sandwich shop is a jewel. The engaging and informative staff are clearly proud of their offerings. The menu covers most bases including vegan and covers them with great creativity and panache. The bread, a 12" whole wheat baguette, is excellent. The elements filling the bread are superb and brilliantly combined (check citysandwichnyc.com). The soups were equally interesting, tasty and well prepared. The sandwiches hover around $9 but it is NYC and they are way worth it. Try the panacotta with port and strawberry sauce. It's only a few bites so it's the perfect apres treat for your palate.
We were fortunate enough to meet the charming Chef, New York born Michael Guerrieri, who is the guiding light for City Sandwich. He owns and operates two restaurants in Portugal and divides his time between there and NYC.
One note: they do not have toilet facilities and everything is served on/in/with disposable, mostly paper stuffs including unbleached paper serviettes. However, the restaurant is only a couple of blocks uptown from the Port Authority Bus Terminal where there are convenient restrooms.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kindall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Owner gave us recommendations & was very friendly/helpful. Sandwiches were tasty, however, for the price, I expected a bit more. Same for the soup. Would try again, however.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lmog47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good but lacking”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Can't really say what it was. I want to love this place. I want one in my neighborhood but in the end I was a tad disappointed. I will go back again when i am in the area. I wold recommend it to anyone looking for a European style sandwich in the west 40's. Very friendly staff who was more then pleased to explain the menu and options. A cup of the Cabbage and Carrot soup was enjoyable. I expected some much more from my sandwich. I was far from disappointed but I have had too many delicious sandwich's that i can't put this on the top 5 list. The space has seating for about 20 consisting of tables, high top and lounge seating. If your looking for an Italian-Portuguese style sandwich, this is the place to go.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmactravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Sandwich also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to City Sandwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing